We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go to this hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elounda Ilion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Go to this hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We just got back from a week here in the last week of August. Read the other reviews as they rang true.

You will need a car to explore the area. We arranged this with ease from the hotel with no problems. Definitely worth getting out and exploring. It's on a hill which is hard work but worth it.

Basically its amazing value and the views were breathtaking. I think this hotel has the best location out of all the elounda hotels as you're right at the top of the bay. The swimming pool is beautiful and the food at the bar was great for lunch.

Staff were friendly and lovely. Food included was fine there was always something nice to choose.

All in all great holiday. We were a couple in room 36.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    193
    78
    27
    9
See reviews for
110
315
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Nice hotel with very friendly and helpful staff, room views fab. We had 3 rooms and the a/c in 2 of them didn't work very well (didn't cool the room enough for my daughters!). Food was good but limited variation for breakfast and dinner. Don't forget to take your own towels otherwise you need to rent them from the hotel. Wifi is not included and costs extra.
The swimming pool is beautifully clean with spectacular views. My only complaint about the hotel is the temperature of the swimming pool - We all want to cool down but this took it to the extreme - Quite a shock when you jump in rather than a gentle cooling!
It was so cold that my family became increasingly reluctant to swim as the week went on. I've been to a few places where they chill the water (Middle East and India) and it felt like that. I mentioned it to the manager and hopefully they can sort it.
As previously mentioned it's a bit out of town but the bus works really well (every 30 mins to Elounda)

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank douglas Elliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This is the loveliest hotel ever. The staff are amazing, nothing is too much for them. The rooms are spacious and the food is great. We stayed for a week and we loved it. The view from our bungalow was breathtaking. The only down side was that the hotel is 2km from Elounda town. Not a huge problem but just so you know, and it is on a very steep hill. This was not a problem to any of our party but I wouldn't recommend it for older people. Albert is a superstar, he pops up everywhere and is always there to help. The kids loved him and so did we. Oh and the pool area is just like the brochure, very nice indeed and you can get a sunbed any time of the day.
They had a greek dancing night, It was entertainment at its best. We had a hoot!

Room Tip: Our room was 26 and our friends were in 27. Both fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thekerbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed at the Ilion on a half board basis for 2 weeks in August as a family of 4 with 2 kids aged 12 & 7. The hotel is situated on the hillside and quite away from Elounda itself. You can take a taxi in to the town at a cost of 7 euros or walk which will take about 30 mins. The hotel is advertised as a 4 star which in my opinion it is not ( 3 star ). The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is fine but you do not have a great selection, desert for example would be a choice of 2 gateux's and a local dish. Towards the end of our stay they had started to run out of some dishes. The hotel doesn't offer much in the way of evening entertainment. Whilst we were there they provided entertainment on the Wednesday and Saturday only.

Access to the sea was down an alley between a hotel and private residence to an area with some parasols and sun beds and steps into the sea. As previously mentioned in other posts some of the rooms have been updated whilst others have not. We stayed in room 84 which is part of the hotel that has not been updated. The rooms however are clean and functional. All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Ilion. I would recommend getting a car so that you can view more of the island. We were looking for a relaxing time to recharge the batteries which this hotel more than provides. Our children were more than happy to play by the pool area which does have spectacular views over the bay and on the second week we got a car to travel around the island.

Room Tip: Pay for your food and drinks by cash and not signing for them that way you'll avoid the the loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

If you cannot manage a steep hill this is not the place for you. The hotel is on a hillside.
We stayed here at the end of June on B&B. There was plenty of options for breakfast. We had a modern bungalow apartment which was up some stairs, so I don't know why they call it a bungalow!! It was a lovely clean, spacious apartment with a balcony and a sea view. The reception is to the top of the complex and if you go further up the hill past this there is a car park, if you continue walking you come to the main road where you can catch a bus to Agios Nikolaos or Elounda which are a similar distance.
The hotel has a nice pool area and being on top of a hill you get a great view. There are no kettle facilities in your room.
If you go to the bottom of the hill and turn left a short way along there is a small shop where we bought water, snacks and fresh fruit. On one occasion in need of something basic to eat we made tomato rolls!!
We decided to use the public transport it was OK. They have air conditioned coaches, a few times the buses didn't turn up or were early or late. If you are hiring a car I would suggest a smaller size given the small roads.
The hotel doesn't have a beach, and we didn't manage to find one locally to walk to in a short time in the very hot sunshine. It was easier to take our beach bag and hire a lounger and parasol on the beach in Elounda or if you walked from Elounda following the coast (as you look toward the sea turn right) and go past the restaurants to the Causeway where it was even quieter.

.

Room Tip: a sea view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClairefromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hotel Illion is a lovely hotel with the most amazing views ever especially at night when Elounda is lit up. We came as a large extended party and we all had a pleasurable time.
However it is extremely hilly (hence the fabulous views) and suited more for the more ambulant and energetic person when negotiating Elounda village. The cost of a taxi is 14 euros return and if you want to go out and about car hire is essential as it is a long climb to the main road for a bus.
We all look for different things in a holiday and if you want peace and tranquility this hotel is a must. The staff are delightful and the cleanliness is good. A more varied menu at the poolside bar would be good!

Room Tip: If you find that you struggle with steps you need to make sure you are dont stay in a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loopyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
158 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Stopped here for a few nights as a couple whilst touring the island. Not the easiest hotel to find; there are so many crammed on to this hillside. You can see why, because the views are outstanding. It's on a steep hill so we were glad we came by car and parked near reception. Friendly reception and staff were always quiet and polite and helpful and the hotel seemed very clean from what we saw. We were told we'd been upgraded, but the room was exactly what we thought we'd booked- high up with a sea view. It was a reasonable size with a bed, sofa and desk. Fridge was small, as was the balcony. Decent bathroom, but with a weird louvred window from the bedroom. The aircon was feeble and didn't cool the room. The pool area was excellent - it's a decent sized pool with a large sunbathing area, so somewhere to suit everyone. It even has a padded seat that various guests were using for a posing photo shoot. A smaller pool area presumably for children that no-one used. Beer came in frozen glasses - excellent. Food looked very nice. We tried walking around, but gave in disappointed. Ok, it's steep and a long long way from Elounda, but we tried the other way and ended up not being able to walk along the coast, but meeting a security guard at yet another gated hotel. We also tried the 'beach?' - a long downhill walk to a small shady lump of concrete you could swim from. We went in to Elounda for food, by car. Nice gardens around the place and a polite notice not to pick the pomegranates. Tennis court and kids play area never seemed used. Breakfast was nice. Tinned and fresh fruit and typical breakfast fare. Good variety of food and some nice cakes. We enjoyed our stay here as a chill out by the pool mostly, but wouldn't rush back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank johnboySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elounda
1.5 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.1 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#11 of 36 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
4.4 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Palm Hotel
Elounda Palm Hotel
#16 of 36 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#13 of 36 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Ilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Ilion Hotel

Property: Elounda Ilion Hotel
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#7 Family Hotel in Elounda
#16 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Ilion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elounda Ilion Hotel in Crete was built in 1990 and since then has undergone many renovations and extensions with the final being in 2015. The hotel is built on a hill side offering a panoramic view to the bay of Elounda and the island of Spinaloga with its medieval castle. It is situated 10 kilometres from the city of Agios Nikolaos and 2 kilometres from the village of Elounda. The facilities of the hotel include a main restaurant, a snack bar, a central bar, satellite television room, billiard, children's playground, tennis court, mini golf and ping - pong. Also you can enjoy the hotel's swimming pool and your children the separate children's swimming pool. The hotel offers its own parking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and LoveHolidays so you can book your Elounda Ilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Ilion Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing