We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Hotel positioned up a very steep hill out of the village of Elounda but that gives it incredible views over the bay. Room adequate but bathroom a little tired. Great breakfast, helpful and friendly staff, beautiful area to explore but car needed.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 624 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Having read some of the previous reviews about this hotel we were unsure of what to expect, but we need not have worried. Our arrival was a late night/ early morning one but the member of staff on duty could not have been more helpful even informing us that they had saved us a cold plate of food if we would like it. We were showed to our rooms, sea view as requested, clean well maintained with all you could need. The rest of the staff were all helpful and friendly.The food whilst adequate could have benefited from being a little more Greek, with a little more choice, and my only small disappointment was that the beds were a little hard. And the pool was refreshing in the heat of the day.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have just returned from a two week holiday at the Elounda Ilion Hotel. the views are breathtaking The staff are excellent and could not be more helpful. Our room was number 13 near the pool with a large balcony and lovely views.The food was average. We eat out a couple of times and there are lots of reasonably priced tavernas nearby.
The hotel is situated on the hillside and is not suitable for people with walking disabilities as it is very steep with lots of steps. It is not suitable for young children as there will not be enough to keep them entertained. However if you want a very relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings we cannot recommend it highly enough
We will be back it was a truly lovely holiday in one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to.
John and Angela
Harrogate Yorkshire.

Room Tip: Superior bungalows with balcony and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank angela t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This hotel is a must if you're looking for a peaceful, relaxing break!
The views from the pool and terrace are utterly incredible and stunning! The beauty of the place took my breath away!
The terrace is a lovely place to sit out at night, very romantic and private
The weather was gorgeous and the pool was refreshingly cold

We stayed half board and found the food to be lovely, just enough variety and we always left the restaurant feeling stuffed! There is a salad bar, bread bar and hot food stand with around 6/7 options including various meat/potatoes/fish/pasta.. All done greek style so you get a flavour for local food! The desserts were always different each night with a choice of 3 or 4
The staff are all very attentive and very helpful!

We had a terrace rather than sea view which was very pretty. As the hotel is on a hill we had a lot of steps to climb to get to the pool area and restaurant, this didn't bother us - just made us work up an appetite :)
There's not a lot of entertainment at this hotel but is perfect for people just wanting a quiet break!

We would recommend a trip into agios nikalaos for some shopping and its beaches! It's 13euros each way but has more of a busy atmosphere than elounder square

Only slight down side was the transfer from the airport taking between 2 and 3 hours! So be prepared! This gave us a good view of the island though

We returned home yesterday and are already planning our trip back next year! Would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hannah28x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We have just arrived home from a week at Ilion, we had an amazing time and could not fault the hotel at all, Great Views over the bay,swimming pool was perfect, plenty of sun loungers,quiet and peaceful.
We had Bungalow 57 which was ldeal for us, always kept clean, comfy bed nice to have a bath as well.
We Stayed for B&B which was fine with us as we like to go to the local tavern and sample the local food,others had Half board and said the choice was limited .

The walk into Elounda was a good 20 minutes on some unlit streets but worth the walk besides a taxi only costs you 7 Euros, and if you eat at Thea he will arrange a taxi for you free of charge. we would stay here again and would certainly recommend it to our friends A trip over to Spinalonga is a must but don't do this with Olympic at a cost of 38 euros(This includes a beach BBQ) not worth it as you can get a boat over for just 10 Euros and stay for as long as you like as the boats come and go every 15 minutes. In fact the only gripe we had was with Olympic who were near useless for us, no rep no welcome meeting only a welcome pack on the coach waiting for you at the airport. Their trips were far to expensive .. as I have mention earlier regarding Sinalonga ...we also got a trip to Knossos from a tour shop in Elounda (next to the post office) saving us 45.euros. for a very good meal we Recommend KATAFYGIO overlooking the waters, Nikos and his staff are so welcoming and the food is great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DebbieH537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Myself and my husband stayed at the Elounda llion hotel the last week of August/first week of september.
We upgraded our room to a superior sea view bungalow suite. it was well worth the extra cost.
I have no complaints about our room. it was very comforable and was cleaned everyday. The bathroom was very clean and modern.

we stayed as bed and breakfast. the breakfast was ok, would have been alot better if there was fresh fruit instead of tinned fruit. There was also the option of hot food, which was nice enough.

The pool area and views are amazing. its so easy to sit and gaze at the view all day.
The pool bar was quite reasonable, it was 2 euros for a soft drink.
You can also get food at the pool bar, which was really nice, although the food does seem to attrack massive wasps, which is abit off putting, but I understand theres probably not much the hotel can do about that.
I would defo hire a car during your stay. We booked our hire car online before we arrived which we picked iup from the airport. it worked out a lot cheaper and it also means you can opt out of the transfer fees and the 2 hour coach transfer (it took us 1 hr 20 mins in the car)
It was an amazing holiday, and the views are just amazing!!!!!

Room Tip: spend the extra and upgrade to the superior sea view bungalow suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jebby2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in the centre of Elounda previously we were a bit concerned that the Illion would be too far out of town but we did not need to worry ! . This hotel sits with the more exclusive hotels just outside the town , but in our opinion the Illion has by far the best position and views in Elounda . The hotel is very well run and clean and the pool area and views are beautiful. The staff are helpful and plentiful also . We stayed in a superior sea view bungalow that was just down from the reception area so not too much effort to get to the restaurant/ bar area . It is a walk into Elounda but a pleasant walk along a straight road so not too much effort . The first 5 minutes is unlit on the road but once you get past this it is lit up all the way into town . We walked in but got a taxi back for 7 euros . This price is fixed and taxi drivers are very good . We compared this hotel to the hotel that we stayed last time in Elounda and found the Ellion to be of a better quality not only for service but for food quality and choice . We will be returning !

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kirky65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
1.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#12 of 35 in Elounda
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.7 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
725 reviews
1.2 mi away
Elounda Heights
Elounda Heights
#2 of 35 in Elounda
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Ilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Ilion Hotel

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Elounda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#16 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £35 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Ilion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elounda Ilion Hotel in Crete was built in 1990 and since then has undergone many renovations and extensions with the final being in 2015. The hotel is built on a hill side offering a panoramic view to the bay of Elounda and the island of Spinaloga with its medieval castle. It is situated 10 kilometres from the city of Agios Nikolaos and 2 kilometres from the village of Elounda. The facilities of the hotel include a main restaurant, a snack bar, a central bar, satellite television room, billiard, children's playground, tennis court, mini golf and ping - pong. Also you can enjoy the hotel's swimming pool and your children the separate children's swimming pool. The hotel offers its own parking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elounda Ilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Ilion Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing