We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly Spoilt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband & I stayed at the Elounda Ilion in June & had the most wonderful holiday. Prior to our arrival Anna, the hotel manager, was so helpful, including giving us perfect directions to the hotel.
On arrival we were met by Albert at the entrance to the hotel grounds who efficiently & professionally helped us until we were settled in our room. Our room, number 33, was extremely comfortable with the most spectacular view. It had its own large patio balcony with sun loungers, table & chairs. Even from the bath we were spoilt with the amazing view.
All the hotel's staff were friendly & approachable. To name a few - Costos, in reception, was always helpful; Nikos, in the pool bar, couldn't do enough for us & we had most of our lunches by the poolside; our maid was also lovely & kept our room spotless.
We were looking for a relaxing week in Crete but the Elounda Ilion gave us so much more. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroleeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 626 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here for 11 nights, hotel clean and staff very helpful. Requested sea view which we had, perfect picture every morning, looking out across the sea. Hotel is on hill, would not advise for people with walking difficulties as also quite a few steps, not suitable for pushchairs either. Booked breakfast and evening meal, breakfast was ok but after going first night for evening meal we were not very impressed, the food looked plain and very bland, the next couple of nights we walked to Elounda to eat in restaurants which were very good. We did go again to try the evening meal but were still unimpressed, we continued to eat out for the rest of our holiday. The staff were aware that we had not been eating in the restaurant and did ask if I could make any suggestions on how the food could be improved, l did a list and gave it to the manager, he was most grateful, the food wasn't to our taste but at least they are trying to improve the situation. I would still go to this hotel again as the actually holiday was one of the most relaxing l've had but would only do bed and breakfast next time.

Room Tip: Request sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank andy_asda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 weeks at the beginning of July 2014.
The hotel is up a very steep hill but as a result has the most fantastic views of Elounda & the bay.
You would never tire of looking out at this. Everything about the hotel was lovely, the staff, the rooms, pool area, pool bar, staff are very helpful if you need any advice on the local area or organising anything. Nikos the pool barman was lovely and looked after us well. The portions of the poolside 'snacks' are HUGE!!! We ended up ordering one between 2 in the end!!
We stayed B & B and the breakfast choices, although varied, we found a little bland & tasteless but there was plenty to offer including hot options, fruit, bread, jams, salads, juices, teas & coffees. We managed ok with it but it could have been better. Having said that the poolside snacks were delicious....no complaints there!
One thing to point out is the location of the hotel is around a 30 minute walk to the main square of Elounda which can be a killer in the heat!! The walk back was pretty scary on unlit roads we felt quite vulnerable to the traffic driving through. We decided to hire a motorbike which made things much easier. I would definitely recommend that transport is required for this hotel.
Having the bike meant we had the chance to get around and the neighbouring town of Agios Nikolaos is well worth a visit. A very 'happening' place with loads of bars/cafe/restaurants around the main bridge area. A great atmosphere here.
Some places worth a visit in Elounda were Babels & Friends bar, both down by the harbour/square, and we also visited 2 very traditional family run Greek tavernas, both to be found behind the main resort area in Pano Elounda......The Hope Taverna & Karambakios. They are both a little off the beaten track but a taxi would take you or a local could possibly direct you. Well worth the visit though as both serve fabulous meze at a fraction of the cost at the more generic places down in the main square.
Overall a fantastic holiday & we will definitely return.
Transport is a must though!!!
Helen & Tim

Room Tip: Try & request a sea view room. It's simply stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h3l3n66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We liked everything about this hotel! The staff was very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere of this hotel was extremely beautiful. It had an amazing view over the sea and mountains of Elounda. Overall, we enjoyed our stay there very much. In my opinion, it's an amazing place where you can just relax and forget about your duties. We stayed there for a week and if I ever come back to Elounda, I want to stay in this hotel again!

Room Tip: Choose standard room with sea view or bungalow with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karolin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

i love my trip to the Ilion it was wonderful to stay by the pool looking over a typical Greek scenery. the bartender Nikos was very friendly and helpful giving good advice about the area. as the only young man in the group Nikos and i enjoyed good laughs and an exchange in t-shirt as i gave him my white shirt with purple palm trees on in my opinion the staff should all wear one. i would definitely recommend the hotel for its accessibility to the town (20 min walk) as it has a very relaxed and friendly feel. Thank you to all the staff especially Nikos at the bar and Sophia and Nikos from the restaurant hopefully be coming back soon, Jacob

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks- end of June beginning of July. It was great, we're already planning to go back next year! We had RM 73 with a sea view- a must if you're visiting Elounda. The food was lovely- loads to choose from. Breakfast- a huge choice from continental or cooked breakfast. Lunch- we ate at the snack bar by the pool which was great- huge plates or bowls of food and friendly welcome. Dinner was served from around 6- 9.30pm every evening with lots of varieties of food for all tastes we never went hungry and loved the desserts too. We had a warn welcome from the staff each day and they couldn't do enough for us.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are a must to enjoy the view of the surrounding area and the sunrise and sunse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Great value for money, friendly staff, nice pool, great views, very clean.
Only small negatives - was at the top of a hill and quite a walk to the main town but that did not matter.
This was a great find and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisEteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
1.6 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
466 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 35 in Elounda
271 reviews
1.1 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#13 of 35 in Elounda
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
1.2 mi away
Elounda Heights
Elounda Heights
#3 of 35 in Elounda
519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Palm Hotel
Elounda Palm Hotel
#14 of 35 in Elounda
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Ilion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Ilion Hotel

Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Elounda
#11 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
#16 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £39 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elounda Ilion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elounda Ilion Hotel in Crete was built in 1990 and since then has undergone many renovations and extensions with the final being in 2015. The hotel is built on a hill side offering a panoramic view to the bay of Elounda and the island of Spinaloga with its medieval castle. It is situated 10 kilometres from the city of Agios Nikolaos and 2 kilometres from the village of Elounda. The facilities of the hotel include a main restaurant, a snack bar, a central bar, satellite television room, billiard, children's playground, tennis court, mini golf and ping - pong. Also you can enjoy the hotel's swimming pool and your children the separate children's swimming pool. The hotel offers its own parking area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elounda Ilion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Ilion Hotel Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing