We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go on your own and from Plaka”

Boat Day Trips Spinalonga
Book In Advance
More Info
US$71.62*
and up
Full Day Tour to Spinalonga Island with BBQ Lunch
Ranked #1 of 11 Tours in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Go on your own and from Plaka”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We had a hire car and drove to Plaka to visit Spinalonga. Plenty of free car parking, a small village and only one ferry boat so easy to find the boat! It goes about every half hour (ish). Costs 8 euros as it is nearer to the island than the other resorts like Elounda and Agios Nikolaos, which charge more as the boat trip is longer. Island fee is about 2 euros I think. We didn't want to do an organised tour and doing it ourselves meant we had as long as we wanted on the island (all morning). It seemed that many of the day trip boats that called in only gave their passengers about 45 minutes to look round so if you do book one of these tours then make sure you ask how long you have there if this is your main reason for booking the tour. There is a fair amount of history apart from the best known part about the leper colony. Plaka has a good range of restauarants and we had a nice late lunch there once we got back from the island. Reading Victoria Hislop's excellent book The Island makes it come alive

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank JaneMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    96
    34
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Interesting island. Fascinating history. Coach trip on the way was interesting with history of crete and useful information

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank wheeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Wish we had made our own way”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We booked this tour through an agent in Gouves. We got picked up by coach at 8.45 in the morning which took us to Agios Nikolaos, which is a lovely town, but you are herded through a very busy and hot town. There wasn't really enough time to do anything. Then back on the coach for about half an hour to Elounda.

Get on the boat to go to spinalonga that was a half hour trip by boat where we spent just over an hour seeing the old leaper colony. Spinalonga is interesting and glad we saw it. The guides were very informative.
Then back on the boat to a so called beautiful and secluded beach also half an hour away.
This beach was truly awful a very small unsafe rocky path lead to a thin small patch of sand with a couple of wooden tables littered with rubbish absolutely dreadful. Hardly any shade and the sea was packed. Back to the boat for the BBQ which was pretty average. Although we were told there would be fish, we had tinned stuffed vine leaves (we don't eat meat) with salad and feta an orange and either a small cup of juice or wine. Eating food on your laps with people walking past all the time was not exactly relaxing. The boat was far too crowded.
Then back to the coach, driving back through Agios Nikolaos, then onto the hotel drop offs. We got back wishing we had done the trip on our own instead of part of a tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelsbyCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sad memento of the history”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

we had a boat trip from Agios Nikolaos and halfway the boat stopped in a small and delightful bay to swim and after this we got to Spinalonga. Little bit weird feeling to wander among the buildings and riuns of lepers and think about how they lived here. If you are able to climb to the top of the island a beautiful panorama unfold

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lukacsandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Boat trip to Spinalonga Island”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The trip was with Tour Club on a trip by coach from Stalis. The pick up point was from the Akti Hotel with an english speaking guide. The coach takes you to goes the port of Aghios Nikolas to meet the boat and this goes onto a a small beach where a barbaque is prepared by the crew while you explore and have time to swim, After your meal the boat then takes you onto spinalonga island. The tour guide explains the history of the island when it was a leper colony. After this you are taken back to the port with an hour to explore Ag Nic before the coach takes you back to resort

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boat Day Trips Spinalonga also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Boat Day Trips Spinalonga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing