We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice taverna, rather expensive though” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Despina Taverna

Despina Taverna
Ranked #7 of 115 Restaurants in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: On road to plaka, 100metres from main beach
athens
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very nice taverna, rather expensive though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The food is well cooked and prepared (I recomend gavros marinated). The view is perfect and the staff very friendly . I think it's a bit expensive considering we ordered only meze and not fish. I would go again, especially in full moon!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank frapedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    345
    124
    18
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“This place has style”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We live Despina as you can eat traditional Greek food accompanied by a really great bottle of wine with views over the bay that make you feel as if you are in a 5 star hotel.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Smithys__11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A very good meal and a view to top it off”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We called in Saturday night on the off chance there may be a table available but to our surprise the restaurant area was fully booked ... so plan B reserve Sunday evening "no need to leave our name i will remember you" reply from the charming head waiter.
.
So prompt arrival Sunday table for two 20:30 and a amazing 2.30 minutes later we left.

Starter we had tomato and cucumber salad (thinking it would be a small plated portion .... wrong it was near a meal in its self !!.

I took a local Greek dish the wife had a fish dish both very nice,

Local wine and the home made lemonade was the option

Staff very friendly did not rush us, the customers dining around the time we was seemed to be enjoying the experience also

Bill around 40 euros very good value

Oh and that view ................. fantastic to sit eat and admire on a barmy Crete evening

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank castle1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We weeed staying domeny distance from Despina and went on a recommendation.

The food was food and the Staff really friendly. It for really budy ad about 21.00 but the Staff Friedrich to accommodate everyone.

It may be worth booking if you are considering Young latem on.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic view of Elounda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We went to Despina on the first night of our holiday after being recommended by my parents. It was a great experience and the standard for other restaurants was set high. The service was a little slow but the views are stunning which distracted from the wait. The food was well worth waiting for and the staff were lovely. The meal was very reasonable. Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Despina Taverna also viewed

Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Despina Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing