We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bookshop”
Review of Eklektos Bookshop

Eklektos Bookshop
Ranked #1 of 4 Shopping in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Book Exchange - new and used books, locally handmade jewelry,gifts and cards. Offering many languages including English, French German, Dutch, Russian fiction and non- fiction.A small independent trader, just off the main square, with access from the seaside or the road.Tour Guides, maps and information available.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
88 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great bookshop”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

A great book shop whose owners are a fountain of knowledge about all things local. They have new and second hand books on a wide range of subjects. I bought my copy of Yannis there, a real page turner for anyone interested in life on Spinalonga island. The owners are friendly and welcoming and go out of their way to help you source what you are looking for.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Estes08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynneth59, wife of owner at Eklektos Bookshop, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Hello from Crete! thank you for taking the time to write a review of our shop.
We are glad that you found our shop and information useful and that Yannis hit the right note for you - we feel that Beryl's books are the best!

We will be making a few changes to the shop over the winter and hope to carry a wider range of books fact and fiction that relate specifically to this area or Crete in general, plus more locally made unique small gifts. When you come back, we are sure you will like what we have in mind!
Once again, thanks for taking the time to give us such a lovely review.
Eklektos
P.S. Joyeaux Noel :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    22
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Askam in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A gem of a shop with amazingly friendly and knowledgable owners”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Visited Elounda in October, this shop is amazing whatever it is you want to read they will either have it or try and get it for you before your holiday ends. There are books for all ages and in many different languages. John and Lynne the owners are a fabulous couple with amazing local knowledge and can advise you on almost any aspect of the area. The friendliness and hospitality of this couple is what makes this place so very special, the kettle is almost always on and the tourist information they can give invaluable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JLGHns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynneth59, wife of owner at Eklektos Bookshop, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Hello from Elounda Janet - thanks for the wonderful compliments! We're glad you liked our shop and that the information was useful to you, and we hope when you come back to beautiful Elounda, we'll be here to supply more information and a good cuppa :)

We are hoping to have a wider range of handmade gifts in our shop next year, with many locally produced goods that are good value and unique - check out our facebook page for updates over the winter! We also have plans to carry more fiction based here in Elounda and the area, and some new guides to Crete which should appeal to all travellers to our island whether they are old or new.

Once again, thanks for the review, and I hope Askham hasn't dropped into the sea yet!!! Best Wishes, and Merry Christmas from Elounda!
Eklektos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great for local guide books & a range of novels”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Friendly owners who have time to chat. Great resource for holiday reading and also for guide books about the region- especially about Spinalonga, the much-visited island, on which Victoria Hislop's book 'The Island' is based. Better still- buy the book and read it while you're there.......

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank flutefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynneth59, wife of owner at Eklektos Bookshop, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Salutations from Crete! Thanks for the great comments about our shop - we are pleased to have been of help! I agree with you about reading the island while here - it helps to place the book when you can actually walk on it!

We also recommend some other books about the island - one being the fantastic Yannis by Beryl Darby...one of our best sellers and probably one of the best books I've read (but I'm a bit biased I suppose!)

We have plans to carry more Elounda based fiction next year, and some more interesting guides to the island of Crete which we hope will appeal, so you'll have to come and see what we have done.
Once again, thanks for taking the time to give us a review - we really appreciate the feedback and comments from our visitors! Have a wonderful winter - Merry Christmas!
Eklektos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ISLAND
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BOOKS”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

The best place if you love the books. I stayed inside the shop one hour you can find every kind of books you want.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JOHN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynneth59, wife of owner at Eklektos Bookshop, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Greetings! Thanks for the review, and we are pleased you like our shop!

We feel it is important for visitors to have a place they can browse at their leisure with no pressure or fuss, and that's what we try to achieve. For us, you cannot hurry a good book, so why try?? there's always space in or outside the shop, and a cuppa while you peruse a few pages before makin ga purchase.

It's good to know that this works and that people understand how we work.
Thanks for taking the time to write the review, and we look forward to seeing you again in Eklektos next Summer, or anytime :)
Best Wishes,
Eklektos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“lovely little place”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We just went in for a wander around on our final day and were greated by one of the owners who was a really friendly lady and full of chat about Elounda and the surrounding area. I wish them much success in the future... As my husband said..in this current age of Kindles nice to have somewhere that still caters for those with love of proper old fashioned books

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynneth59, wife of owner at Eklektos Bookshop, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hello from Crete!
Thanks for the kind words in your review - we appreciate our visitors taking the time to write something for other travellers and giving us feedback.

We are hoping to have some more walks available next season, and plan to get out and about to set a few in place ourselves, so when you come back, we'll have something new and different for you to try!
Glad you liked the walk you did and found the watering hole - we feel every walk should have one - and the views are pretty amazing.
Once again, thanks for the review and we look forward to seeing you again here on the island...Merry Christmas!
Eklektos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eklektos Bookshop also viewed

 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Psichro, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Eklektos Bookshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing