We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic!”
Review of Lena Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elounda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lena Apartments
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“fantastic!”
Reviewed 6 July 2011

elounda absolute gorgeous! lena apartments sit right across from the beach , easy access. rooms basic but very nice , clean and bright. food good and pool very nice, you can see that they have taken the time to make it s beautiful and enjoyable place for you to stay would return back, the family who runs the hotel very friendly and welcoming. The lena is just along the road from where everything is and is accessible and near everything. my two children of 14 and 16 went , there isnt asmuch for them to do but there are bars and cafes with pool tables etc and they went off on their own wondering off on walks and exploring elounda as its such a safe environment and very friendly , i would recommend the lena and would be the place a hope to return to when i return,

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank shannonreid95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    22
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
30
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
rochdale
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2010

Elounda is still beautiful and would definately return but NOT to the Lena!! Although we had a lovely view from our balcony over looking the bay - the cleanliness left much to be desired!! The pool was a disgrace - we only saw it cleaned once and by the end of our 2 weeks was full of all sorts.

Appartments are basic which we expected having travelled to Crete for many years, however, we were lucky with the room we were allocated, some are awful. In desperate need of refurbishment!!

We were given a half hearted greeting on our arrival and it soon became abuntantley clear that unless we were prepared to spend all our money in their bar then they didn't want to know us!! The only time we were spoken to in the 2 weeks we were there was to ask us to go to their bbq!!

The location of the appartments are ideal as are situated just across from the beach. There are some very nice restaurants nearby - especially the Cypriana!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzyd1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Fantastic location, apartments basic but clean. Can be a little noisy for young children at night if you are right next to the bar/pool area. The beach is perfect for young children. The family were really friendly but, as some other posters have said, extra charges were sprung upon us as we were leaving. We refused to pay the charge for the safe as it had not been explained to us as we checked in and we had not used the safe. Everyone else in our party also refused to pay. We felt a little cheated by the owners attitude over these hidden charges and would make me think twice about going back to Lena, which is shame because we had a great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollyalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Just returned from a week at the Lena Apartments which we thoroughly enjoyed. The Family are lovely people and take very good care of you. We had a studio apartment which was a good size and had everything that we needed. Greek apartments are basic as a rule, but that is part of the culture, we had no complaints. Thank you John, Maria and Family for making our holiday such a success, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Una67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Read several reviews of these apts AFTER I had booked - and was apprehensive as to what I would find - however my overall impression was good (it is very overpriced by the travel company who advertised these apartments though). Some reviews suggest infrequent and inadequate cleaning - but this was not my experience, the apt was very clean, and had been relatively recently rennovated I would say, bedding (white, crisp, clean) and towel (white and fluffy, and changed mid-week) were well laundered (note: towel not towels - previous reviews say they only give you one per person which is true, I took extra with me). The family are friendly, helpful and welcoming, and work hard to keep the apartments, bar, and pool area looking great. Other reviewers comment on feeling pressured to drink at the pool bar, or risk being ostracised (prob not spelt that right!)...I certainly did not feel that (drinking on my own would look a bit tragic!), but enjoyed George's freshly made iced coffee's and iced tea. The atmosphere is good - locals and regulars (some families have been here 2/3 times before) mixing together. As I was leaving a family was arriving - greeted with hugs and kisses, and exclamations over how the children had grown. That is what this place is about - perhaps some other reviewers should have booked into the 'boutique-style' 'spa' resorts/hotels, with their manicured lawns and electric gates, which seem to surround elounda?

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happywife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

My family and I (travelling with children aged 4 and 5) have just returned from a week in Elounda staying at the Lena Apartments. Rather than feeling rested as one should after a weeks holiday in the Greek sunshine we are all absolutely exhausted! The two bedroom ‘family apartment’ (room 2) we were allocated was just metres away from the pool and bar area and we were bombarded with continuous noise all day every day. Each night we were disturbed well into the early hours by the sound of music, voices, people stomping about then followed by the clinking of glasses and bottles as the owner cleared away. The grandma (who I can only assume was quite deaf) would switch the TV on at full volume each night at 11:30pm, presumably to watch the Greek equivalent of Coronation Street. The TV was positioned inches from the bedroom window where our boys were trying to sleep, it was absolutely ridiculous! She would then go off to bed leaving it on. Even during the brief time between 3:00am and 7:30am when it was relatively quiet the flimsy glazing and wooden shutters did nothing to keep out the noise of the pool as it gurgled away. It sounded like there was a babbling brook at the end of our beds and this was in no way relaxing. As soon as it started getting light the sunshine streamed in through the windows as there was only a tatty piece of net masquerading as a curtain to keep it out. Call me cynical but I suspect this was a clever ruse by the proprietor to get everyone out of bed early and spending at the bar. In short, if we had pulled sun loungers onto the main strip in Malia we would have stood a better chance of getting a proper nights sleep.

I complained about the noise several times but they couldn’t care less. On the last night I was weeping with tears of frustration but was simply told by George (the son of the owner and barman) ‘ah well, you travel home tomorrow’.

On the Saturday night they held a BBQ and placed it inches from our terrace. It was so close that smoke was stinging our eyes and filling our rooms with cooking smells. I had no desire for my beach towels and swimwear that were hanging out to dry, to smell of barbequed fish, thank you very much. In a final insult George put the hot coals from the barbeque on the grate directly outside our door. We pointed out that this was extremely dangerous as our small children were playing close by and he agreed saying that we must watch them closely! The family showed a complete lack of regard and respect for our feelings. This place is not family friendly at all and unless you have lots of Euros to spend at the bar you are not met with a warm welcome. Avoid if you can!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TenaciousMrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2010

We arrived at 5am no one available to check us in but rep found us our room. Appartments ideally located but very poor hygeine standards. Very basic equipment and furniture. The tiles in the kitchen area and also bathroom were cracked and covered in black mould. We asked for hand towel for bathroom but was told only one bath towel allocated per person. Makes you weary about staff hygeine!. The crunch came when we asked for a roll of toilet paper and were told that once the only toilet roll was finished we were expected to buy our own-even though ours was not full when we arrived!!!!!!
we would not eat in bar area but had superior food in the Anemomylos Taverna 100 yards away. We loved Elounda but would never stay in the Lena again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.7 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
0.2 mi away
Olive Grove Apartments
Olive Grove Apartments
#14 of 35 in Elounda
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kalypso Hotel Elounda
Kalypso Hotel Elounda
#23 of 35 in Elounda
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#12 of 35 in Elounda
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
0.3 mi away
Palemilos Apartments
Palemilos Apartments
#11 of 36 in Elounda
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lena Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lena Apartments

Property: Lena Apartments
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Elounda
Number of rooms: 277
Also Known As:
Lena Apartments Elounda, Crete
Lena Apartments Hotel Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing