We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Elounda!”
Review of Lena Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elounda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lena Apartments
Burnley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I love Elounda!”
Reviewed 23 May 2010

We have been to Elounda several times, and usually stay at apartments on the hill, but with a young child we thouht we would try somewhere in town.
The Lena apartments have a brilliant location, only 2 mins into the main square for all the shops, restaurants, bars and park. It has a pool (and child pool) and bar - with freshly made food, delicious!
Across the road is the beach and sea, so perfect for families as you can nip back when you need the loo!
The room we had (room 12) was at the back of the complex so we have a view of the mountains and acres of olive trees. Two balconys so we had the sun on one in the morning and then on the back til 6pm when the sun went over the mountains.
The room was basic (it is Greece!!) but was clean and furnished and was regularly serviced. We dont use the room much so cooking facilities dont bother us, but they are limited. Only one large towel is provided, so bring a spare!
I would not hesitate to go back, for us and our 2 year old it was perfect and i wish i was still there!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    22
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
28
38
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

This complex needs to be bought up to date and have money spent on it. Its a shame as they could be sitting on a gold mine. We had a girly holiday last year and stayed in a 2 bedroomed apartment on the ground floor. The rooms were very basic. One wardrobe had draws with no handles and only 3 bulbs working in the apartment. We stayed a week and our 1 towel was changed once. With long hair this proved to be awkward. Like other people we only had one toilet roll to last us the week. We also handed back the safe deposit box key on the first day and when at the end of the week the father asked us if we used the safe so we reminded him we had handed back the key and his reply was to 'are you sure' and 'what did we use instead?' This of course was non of his business. Because we only bought one drink at the bar during the week we felt we were ostracised. Beware of hidden costs as they try to make money wherever they can. As we were the last people to leave for the season they still prepared to charge us 30 euros to keep the room until our pick up. Next door at MANOS apartments however could not be more happy to supply us a room free of charge with as many towels as we needed to freshen up before our flight. The MANOS rooms are lovely, clean and very modern. Therefore we have booked our next girly holiday at MANOS in May 2010 for the same price as Lena for a better, more comfortable stay also knowing we have more than one towel!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BONESDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

al.though the lena is a bit basic it was clean and friendly. My friend and i stayed 2weeks and we were lucky to have one of the larger aptmts over looking pool and beach.our sheets and towels were changed at least twice weekly .the kitchen was fairly well equiped -could have done with a toaster,we made the most of the local produce-good cheap wines ,honey, fresh bread ,yogurt and fruit and veg can be bought in the market.the food and service in the lena was very good and fairly priced and the local tavernas are all very good-even the eat for 2 menus were very good.the locals are very friendly and we felt we always got good value for money.bus services are excellant and air conditioned bus's take you all over the island at reasonable tarrif.we met some really nice people at the lena and that includes the family who run it. elounda is lovely and i would recommend the lena and elounda for a good holiday on crete.Kath and bev from somerset

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathandbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Arrived at lena after a 15 hour delay (thats another story!) Very small room. overlooking a building site, luckly no one working! Bed sheets never changed once. Towels only changed once(strange off coloured white shade!) Trying to have a shower was not funny, had to do it one handed and floor soaking wet! Even told to buy our own toilet roll!! We were being picked up at 2.30am for journey home, the staff went at midnight left us on our own and even locked the toilet, had to go for wee behind a bush over the road!! Could'nt wait to leave. On a good note elounda is a nice place. Great resturants, recommend The ferryman, and nearby resturants all good. Must go to Babel bar does the best greek salad! Recomend a visit to Spinalonga, just 10 euros, spend an hour there thats all you need. Although Elounda is a nice place, won't go again.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackcat91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

its lovely clean as its own pool bar, the family make you feel so welcome, the beach and restaurants are all round the lena so you don't have to walk far, the town is a 5minute walk, the food in the lena is very good and available all day. it can be a relaxing hoilday if thats what your looking for, or go into town its a bit more lively. us lot that go are all different ages from newborn to 83 years.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lil9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

elounda was fabulous,everything,bars,shops beach all within walking distance. bit dissapointed in the lena apts ,bed sheets were not changed at all the whole week we were there,only allocated one towel,which was changed midweek,but apart from that we had a wonderful holiday,and hope to return next year. george kept everything going and was great fun.

  • Liked — location to beach shops and tavernas
  • Disliked — room service left a lot to be desired
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Midgescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

Elounda is a great location. Very family friendly with safe bathing.
All the restaurants that we used were good but eating out every night is expensive in this Greek resort.

The Lena apartments are clean and tidy, if a little basic.
The pool area is clean and well maintained.
The beach is across the road from the apartments.

The two bedroom apartment that we used is on the ground floor overlooking the pool and bar area.
BE WARNED, it is noisy with friends of the owners and early morning flight departutres drinking until around 1am most nights.
The local chemist does have a good range of ear plugs!

The Air Con and safe deposit charge are slightly above average.
We paid 40 Euros for one unit for the week.

If you use the apartments knowing that it can be noisy and aware of the costs you should have a good holiday at these apartments.

  • Liked — View fromt the room
  • Disliked — small kitchen
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NFJ999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.2 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
364 reviews
0.7 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
0.6 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#11 of 35 in Elounda
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kalypso Hotel Elounda
Kalypso Hotel Elounda
#23 of 35 in Elounda
64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olive Grove Apartments
Olive Grove Apartments
#14 of 35 in Elounda
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lena Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lena Apartments

Property: Lena Apartments
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Elounda
Number of rooms: 277
Also Known As:
Lena Apartments Elounda, Crete
Lena Apartments Hotel Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing