We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lena Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elounda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lena Apartments
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

Just returned from a week at the Lena Apartments which we thoroughly enjoyed. The Family are lovely people and take very good care of you. We had a studio apartment which was a good size and had everything that we needed. Greek apartments are basic as a rule, but that is part of the culture, we had no complaints. Thank you John, Maria and Family for making our holiday such a success, we will definately be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Una67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    22
    17
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
36
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2010

Read several reviews of these apts AFTER I had booked - and was apprehensive as to what I would find - however my overall impression was good (it is very overpriced by the travel company who advertised these apartments though). Some reviews suggest infrequent and inadequate cleaning - but this was not my experience, the apt was very clean, and had been relatively recently rennovated I would say, bedding (white, crisp, clean) and towel (white and fluffy, and changed mid-week) were well laundered (note: towel not towels - previous reviews say they only give you one per person which is true, I took extra with me). The family are friendly, helpful and welcoming, and work hard to keep the apartments, bar, and pool area looking great. Other reviewers comment on feeling pressured to drink at the pool bar, or risk being ostracised (prob not spelt that right!)...I certainly did not feel that (drinking on my own would look a bit tragic!), but enjoyed George's freshly made iced coffee's and iced tea. The atmosphere is good - locals and regulars (some families have been here 2/3 times before) mixing together. As I was leaving a family was arriving - greeted with hugs and kisses, and exclamations over how the children had grown. That is what this place is about - perhaps some other reviewers should have booked into the 'boutique-style' 'spa' resorts/hotels, with their manicured lawns and electric gates, which seem to surround elounda?

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happywife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

My family and I (travelling with children aged 4 and 5) have just returned from a week in Elounda staying at the Lena Apartments. Rather than feeling rested as one should after a weeks holiday in the Greek sunshine we are all absolutely exhausted! The two bedroom ‘family apartment’ (room 2) we were allocated was just metres away from the pool and bar area and we were bombarded with continuous noise all day every day. Each night we were disturbed well into the early hours by the sound of music, voices, people stomping about then followed by the clinking of glasses and bottles as the owner cleared away. The grandma (who I can only assume was quite deaf) would switch the TV on at full volume each night at 11:30pm, presumably to watch the Greek equivalent of Coronation Street. The TV was positioned inches from the bedroom window where our boys were trying to sleep, it was absolutely ridiculous! She would then go off to bed leaving it on. Even during the brief time between 3:00am and 7:30am when it was relatively quiet the flimsy glazing and wooden shutters did nothing to keep out the noise of the pool as it gurgled away. It sounded like there was a babbling brook at the end of our beds and this was in no way relaxing. As soon as it started getting light the sunshine streamed in through the windows as there was only a tatty piece of net masquerading as a curtain to keep it out. Call me cynical but I suspect this was a clever ruse by the proprietor to get everyone out of bed early and spending at the bar. In short, if we had pulled sun loungers onto the main strip in Malia we would have stood a better chance of getting a proper nights sleep.

I complained about the noise several times but they couldn’t care less. On the last night I was weeping with tears of frustration but was simply told by George (the son of the owner and barman) ‘ah well, you travel home tomorrow’.

On the Saturday night they held a BBQ and placed it inches from our terrace. It was so close that smoke was stinging our eyes and filling our rooms with cooking smells. I had no desire for my beach towels and swimwear that were hanging out to dry, to smell of barbequed fish, thank you very much. In a final insult George put the hot coals from the barbeque on the grate directly outside our door. We pointed out that this was extremely dangerous as our small children were playing close by and he agreed saying that we must watch them closely! The family showed a complete lack of regard and respect for our feelings. This place is not family friendly at all and unless you have lots of Euros to spend at the bar you are not met with a warm welcome. Avoid if you can!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TenaciousMrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norwich
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

We arrived at 5am no one available to check us in but rep found us our room. Appartments ideally located but very poor hygeine standards. Very basic equipment and furniture. The tiles in the kitchen area and also bathroom were cracked and covered in black mould. We asked for hand towel for bathroom but was told only one bath towel allocated per person. Makes you weary about staff hygeine!. The crunch came when we asked for a roll of toilet paper and were told that once the only toilet roll was finished we were expected to buy our own-even though ours was not full when we arrived!!!!!!
we would not eat in bar area but had superior food in the Anemomylos Taverna 100 yards away. We loved Elounda but would never stay in the Lena again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2010

We arrived at midnight in the week, and we were greeted by the apartmeny staff and they were all very friendly, so we decided to get a drink and some food as we had not eaten all night...The food...Was TERRIBLE. My girlfriend had a plain cheese pizza and I had the 'special' for 2 euros extra. Nothing special about it I tell thee. It was just one green pepper and 2 slices of ham on it. Oh and the pizzas were completely burned on one side.
NEXT. It was 42 degrees. We clearly needed air conditioning. BUT OH WAIT. You have to pay 7 euros a night, which does add up..You would think its inclusive wouldn't you?
The air conditioning didn't work either...Oh great.
Oh yeah! One night, the guy asked if we wanted a barbecue for dinner. Me and my ignorance presumed this was a good will gesture and it was a complimentary dinner for staying for a week, however, it was 13 euros for some questionable meat from an animal or sorts.
The cleaner was banging on our door non stop one morning, wanting to empty the bin where we had to put our soiled toilet paper in, as the country's drainage system is not as advanced as ours...But in the 7 days of staying there, our sheets were not changed and only one change of towels. Not cool.
Apart from that, its a fine little place to stay if you are a couple who just want to chill out and be in the sunshine without the annoyance of some chavs ruining the holiday with their alcoholic abuse and rude tongue.
A questionably pleasant time had by all.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thepant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

Just returned from a two week holiday with family and two young children under 5. The Lena was fabulous, idylic location with beach literally accross the road. Good size swimming pool and small childrens pool. We stayed in the two bedroom studio's which were spacious and had everything we required with 2 small children (even had a bath!!!!). Clean rooms, linen and towels changed regularly. The noise from the pool bar never disturbed our children, but then nor would a nuclear bomb!!! The whole family running the hotel were lovely, and adored the children. Great food, great prices and local bars and taverna's a 5 minuite stroll away. We were so impressed we have re-booked for next year the day we returned. Great great place, can't praise it more.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melhol78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2010

We have been to Elounda several times, and usually stay at apartments on the hill, but with a young child we thouht we would try somewhere in town.
The Lena apartments have a brilliant location, only 2 mins into the main square for all the shops, restaurants, bars and park. It has a pool (and child pool) and bar - with freshly made food, delicious!
Across the road is the beach and sea, so perfect for families as you can nip back when you need the loo!
The room we had (room 12) was at the back of the complex so we have a view of the mountains and acres of olive trees. Two balconys so we had the sun on one in the morning and then on the back til 6pm when the sun went over the mountains.
The room was basic (it is Greece!!) but was clean and furnished and was regularly serviced. We dont use the room much so cooking facilities dont bother us, but they are limited. Only one large towel is provided, so bring a spare!
I would not hesitate to go back, for us and our 2 year old it was perfect and i wish i was still there!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.7 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
0.2 mi away
Kalypso Hotel Elounda
Kalypso Hotel Elounda
#23 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.2 mi away
Olive Grove Apartments
Olive Grove Apartments
#13 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#11 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palemilos Apartments
Palemilos Apartments
#8 of 38 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tasmania Village
Tasmania Village
#5 of 38 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lena Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lena Apartments

Property: Lena Apartments
Address: Elounda, Crete 72053, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Elounda
Number of rooms: 277
Also Known As:
Lena Apartments Elounda, Crete
Lena Apartments Hotel Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing