We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 08:00 - 19:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Spinalonga (Kalydon)
from US$76.17
More Info
from US$86.80
More Info
from US$60.20
More Info
Reviews (8,369)
Filter reviews
4,668 results
Traveller rating
2,732
1,486
359
58
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,732
1,486
359
58
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leper colony boat trip victoria hislop interesting island guided tour small island venetian fortress worth a visit steeped in history organised trip fascinating place entrance fee lots of history sad history interesting visit information boards walk around
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 4,668 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Loved this island feelings of going back in time to when people lived here as soon as you step off the boat . We sailed from plaka to the island which was lovely as again this is one of the ways the people who had to live on the island came over .
A small cafe provides refreshments if you need anything which is good if you have small children with you or elderly people although you can bring your own .
The prices for the boat and entrance fees are very reasonable and go to the upkeep of the island .
Before visiting there are a few books I highly recommend reading it makes it more interesting the island by Victoria hislop and the eagle of spinalonga. A few more are also available now .
Everyone should visit this island if you get the chance x

Thank Tourist49902803397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago

I, like many, read The Island, before visiting. I felt I was walking in their footsteps and living their lives. A brilliant memorial to all those poor people diagnosed with leprosy and how they coped. My admiration for them goes deep.

Thank Tilly080845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Absolutely fantastic place to visit, we got a car and travelled from hersonissos to plaka and took the boat to spingalonga it worked out cheaper than a "trip" booked with excursion companies. We got to see some beautiful sites on the drive there too. Spingalonga has so much history and is a place to explore and take in all that happened there. Recommend reading "the island" as this gives more to the trip.

Thank jennyd658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Amazing day out.
Full of history and very educational for all ages.
Well worth the trip.
We hired a car and drove to Plaka to get the boat across, and then paid entry on island, which worked out cheaper than most organised trips, and also made it more enjoyable as we saw some amazing places on the journey,which we stopped at.
We would have missed out on this on a bus.
Definitely worth visiting.

Thank C2818NEaland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

The boat trip is cheap, there was no mention when we bought the boat ticket though that we would have to pay to look around the island. The whole trip cost just 20 Euro. Spectacular views all around.

Thank schlumpf75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An amazing and very humbling little island. Make sure you go on a guided tour because you learn all about it. At times I could have cried and then I couldn't help but feel pride at the courage of those poor people. Definitely a place to visit.

Thank Maureen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great visit, but once been there would not go again, not really suitable for the unsteady walker, a lot of walking and very unsteady footpaths, and very stony. You would be best too wear flat shoes

Thank frogeyes335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited spinnalonga as part of a tour. I wouldn’t recommend doing it as a tour as you really don’t get nearly enough time to explore the island. Our tour guide was fantastic very knowledgeable about the history of the island. She spoke for about 45 mins and then we had about 20 minutes to explore the island itself. This allowed us to walk around the island but no time to actually do any sort of exploring. So it was disappointing. When the boat stops on the way back for lunch it stops for about 2.5 hours. The sea is lovely but when we went it was quite choppy and lunch is served on a tray on your lap. Lunch was lovely but not ideal trying to hold the tray and cut your food. But this couldn’t be helped. Still a great trip if you don’t want to do too much exploring. It’s a long day but worth it to see the island and the beautiful little beaches.

Thank 908lynseym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fabulous well-organised trip via Jet2holidays to this historic island. Included a lovely boat trip with BBQ - perfect day out.

Thank Diane476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

All you need is a little imagination. Takes you way back into the past, even more so if you’ve read Victoria hislops book ‘The Island’. It is still there the feeling of how the leper’s lived and their everyday experiences. A well preserved place that has maintained its history. You are given headsets to commentate but it is also helpful if you have a guide so you can ask questions.

Thank Gloria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews