We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, friendly apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olive Grove Apartments
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good, friendly apartments”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My family and I have just recently spent a week at OGA. It is a very friendly place, clean and comfortable. We found the apartments to be of a high standard with lots of little extras and attention to detail provided that are usually missing from a lot of Greek accommodation - hair dryers, washing up liquid, tea towels etc. The family that own the complex are lovely people and made you feel welcome at all times. We didn't use the pool as are very much 'beach people' and enjoy snorkelling and swimming in the sea etc and found Elounda a good base for doing this. The pool however looked good and is kept very clean and tidy. We had a ground floor apartment which looked straight onto the pool area and was nice and cool, which was actually a blessing during the heat of the day. The apartment was serviced regularly by the family and Chris. We used the pool bar a few times and found the prices to be very reasonable and measures generous!!!! We enjoyed the organised bbq and quiz night very much and recommend it to others. A special mention also goes to the owners 2 dogs Molly and Rocco!!!

OGA are a great base to explore Elounda with everything being on the doorstep - shops, nice bars and tavernas, beach very close to hand etc. We found the Cretan hospitality to be exceptional and thoroughly enjoyed every meal and drink we experienced. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jodarock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    34
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
132
144
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Once again we were not disappointed with the Olive Grove apartments. Julia, Dimitri, Mano, Mickey made our stay very special. The facilities are first class and the local shops and bars are a minutes walk away but the beach is a good 3mins away which is not bad. Chris the manager of the apartments domestic dept did a great job keeping the rooms clean and tidy. Nothing is 2 much trouble for anyone and they are always glad to help. We attended the Wednesday night BBQ which was very enjoyable but we failed to win the quiz yet again only coming 6th but next year we aim to come at least in the top 3. It was great to meet the latest member of the family (baby Dimitri) lets hope he follows in his granddads shoes. Thanks again to everyone for a great stay and see you all next August.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Allan19592013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham on Crouch, Essex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A great stay for 2 weeks at the Olive Grove. We could not have been made more welcome.
The family of Julia, Dimitri, Mano & Micki and assisted by Chris go out of their way to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. The apartments are well equipped with bedding and towels changed twice a week and the apartment cleaned 3 times a week. I loved coming back to the apartment to find my shoes all neatly lined up and everything in the right place. I think Chris who cleans the apartments is obsessive about detail which I loved. The location in Elounda is fantastic with everything just a few steps away from the front door. The choice of different restaurants and bars is exceptional with some great recommendations from Mickey. Even though we had been to Elounda before we still continue to discover restaurants for the first time as well as visit old favourites. We look forward to our next trip to the Olive Grove.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert-Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We have just returned from Olive Grove , stayed there for two weeks due to being invited to our friends daughters wedding. The apartments are family owned and run superbly well. The family can not do enought to help you enjoy your stay here . The apartments were perect for our needs , after requesting a ground floor apartment for our dissabled son , which led straight to the pool , they made us feel very welcome and this is the key to recomending the Olive Grove .Julia, Dimitri,Mano and Mickey, make your stay very special. and after speeking to other guests ( who come time and time again) this friendly atmosphere makes your holiday special.Situated minutes from all supermarkets, bars, resturants etc We returned on a Sunday , and by Monday we had booked to return next year can;t wait !

Room Tip: to book any room , all great you need to book early !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sfr_rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We returned from Crete yesterday and have had the best holiday. The apartments have all the facilities you need and the photo's do not do them justice. The whole complex is maintained to a high standard and nothing is too much trouble, all you have to do is ask. The fact that it is a smaller complex (14 apartments, I believe) means it maintains a personal feel often lost in bigger holiday accommodation. Everything you need is provided on site or on the door step; despite the towns closeness to the apartments it still manages to have an air of seclusion and holiday relaxation. The children were able to enjoy the pool and I personally appreciated the rules which help to maintain safety for all pool users. I would highly recommend this destination and specifically these apartments...we will be going back!

Room Tip: Air Conditioning essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Step4dwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth Devon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just over two weeks ago, my Husband and I returned from our sixth stay in six years at The Olivegrove Apts, we just love the place.Julia, Dimitri, Mano, and Mickey do all they can to make sure you enjoy your stay. The apartments are excellent, bright, clean and equiped with everything you need, fridge, kettle, toaster, even supplying washing up liquid, and t-towel!.
During our stay, we made full use of the pool area, which is lovely, the pool is always clean and inviting, not at all claustrophobic,as quoted by a previous reviewer, as this is a small self catering complex of 16 apartments, with a garden at the rear, for people who may want complete quiet, and the pool with loungers and umbrellas and the bar at the front, you are not going to have the same amount of space as a hotel.
Julia cooks food which is always fresh and delicious, with meals during the day, and each evening Free mezes, (which we love) with each drink that you buy. Manos idea of a boat trip for guests was very successful, with lunch and stopoffs for swimming, enjoyed by all. The BBQ and Quiz evening is always enjoyable, as all the family join in to make sure you have a good time, although my revision of all the names of Snow whites seven dwarfes, and all the names of One Direction was a waste of time!
Elounda is a lovely relaxing place to stay,Dont come looking for British Bars, or Roast Beef, but somewhere that has lots of wonderful restaurants, bars, (Babels being our favourite) and friendly locals. We have already booked for next year, so roll on 2014!

Room Tip: We book privately, so get the rooms around the back, with views of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pilgrimfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed at the Olive Grove end of May beginning of June. The Apartments are modern, well appointed, extremely clean and tidy and well looked after. The pool area feels claustrophobic because the pool bar and the apartments are crammed into a small area resulting in no cooling air flow and the property can become stifling hot and uncomfortable.

To reach the apartments you need to walk along the side of the pool. There are many sunbeds surrounding the pool and this severely restricts access. This could become dangerous when returning at night or if the tiles are wet. Some one could easily slip into the pool.

We found the complex to be noisy during the day because the majority of guests just sat around the pool, allowing kids to jump in and out of the pool and use inflatables. Guests who wished to relax or read a book on the balcony found this impossible because of the noise generated around the pool area.

There are notices displayed around the pool banning jumping into the pool as well as banning the use of inflatables in the pool. As usual guests ignored the rules and no one from management enforced the ban and no action was taken regarding this. So what is the point of having pool rules.

The quieter apartments were around the back of the property however we could not be moved to one of these because these were kept to rent out privately. We found the place to be very British, so you never get the feel of being in Greece. This could be because these apartments are Anglo/Greek owned and 10 out of the 14 apartments are rented out solely through TUI/Thomson, resulting in the majority of guests staying there being British.

Not our cup of tea and we will not be returning, however, if you like the apartments to be lively with a very British flavour then these are the ones for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank madaboutcrete_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
204 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#11 of 35 in Elounda
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
1.4 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Grove Apartments

Property: Olive Grove Apartments
Address: Mirabello Bay | Naksou 2, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Elounda
#3 Best Value Hotel in Elounda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#10 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Grove Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olive Grove Apartments is a new complex of 14 apartments situated in the center of Elounda well known for its friendly atmosphere and service. There is a large pool and children's pool, also a bar serving snacks and drinks from early morning to late evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Olive Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Grove Apartments Elounda, Crete
Olive Grove Apartments Hotel Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing