We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Olive Grove Apartments
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Stayed for two blissful weeks in October 2013. The Olive Grove was a perfect place to relax and enjoy either lazing by the pool or having a wander around Elounda. The apartments were spotless and well looked after. The food was great, particularly on BBQ night, and Julia, Dimitris & family did all they could to make our holiday enjoyable, along with Chris who was always cheerful and kept our apartment spotless. Our apartment was down beside the kitchen and bar area and we felt was well situated - not far to wander for one of Manos' dakos or an alcoholic milkshake from Andreas (or a few card tricks from Andreas to baffle the teenagers!). The family's dogs, Mollie & Rocco, are great, well behaved and very entertaining - which is saying something coming from someone with a lifelong fear of dogs! The apartments are located very close to the town centre, with a variety good places to eat within easy walking distance. The only traffic noise we heard was from what can only be described as local roads in the town, certainly nothing that disrupted our holiday in any way - I can only assume that anyone who did think the Olive Grove was noisy should perhaps think of booking their next holiday somewhere out in the country with nothing around to try to eliminate 'town noise'.

Just to be clear - we did not know Julia or any of her family before travelling to The Olive Grove. Would I now be happy to be known as 'friendly with the owners'? Most definitely! A friendlier and more genuine family would be hard to find and I wouldnt hesitate in recommending the Olive Grove to others and would definitely love to return there myself sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ishbilanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Had a lovely week in late October ... Olive grove was great.. Rooms lovely ... Spacious ... And had everything you needed.. Julia and family very friendly .. Looking forward to next June ... Taking our family with us to sample the apartments...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

when booking with thompson we asked for a quiet room and upstairs when we arrived we were
given room 10 beware which is only feet from a side road and yes a side road but with bikes
w wehizzing up and down a lot not quiet. when we complained that i booked an upstairs room
the young man the son didnt seem to care, but eventually when his mother come over (this same
woman people say is so nice) and was rather abrupt we were offered an upstairs room 3 days
later when available. when we did move did i mention near the bar we had enough especially when
we found hairs under the sheets on the mattress. i think these people who write these reviews
are friendly with these owners need i say more.
im sure they will reply and deny this but when trolling through someone else complained about the noise in room 10. now yes this isnt an expensive place but having stayed in lesbos for
the same price which was wonderful im not fussy. in the end we left too like previous reviews.
so to you all if you want a relaxing place beware, yes the pool is clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hilary303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManosOG, Owner at Olive Grove Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Glad it's been brought to attention that when booking with Thomson you can REQUEST a particular apartment - there are no guarentees and this is not a booking. These 2 sisters insisted they had BOOKED an upstairs apartment.
The only way to book a particular apt is to book directly through The Olive Grove by emailing us at olive.grove2006@gmail.com . On the day these ladies arrived we didn't have any departures from an upstairs apt. Short of throwing someone out of an apt there was nothing we could do - they didn't seem to understand this and got very upset initially. We spoke to these ladies daily so did the Thomson Holiday Advisor.The day they left they said they had found a room with a sea view.
It's very disappointing when we get a negative review but we had over 700 guests last summer and 2 negative reviews. A classic case of you can't please all the people all of the time. We are just glad we please most of the people most of the time.
We would like to thank all the guests who stayed with us in 2013 and made our job so enjoyable - we hope you will visit us again 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at the Olive grove in September. I only have pro's for the apartments & fascilities. Very near the centre of Elounda. The apartment spotless. Family run business, Dimitri,Julia,Manos,Andreas & Chris, all lovely people, made our stay special. Do an excellent quiz night & bbq, well worth the price. not far to walk to the main fascilities, vertually around the corner. Great restaurants & bars in Elounda - Beautiful Elounda -. Visit The hope & watch the world go by, overlooking The Harbour & Elounda, not far up a small hill. Spinalonga about 15 mins by boat from the harbour. We've stayed in many different places in Elounda, and would not hesitate to return to the Olive Grove, Thanks for a wonderful holiday, Julia, Dimitri, Manos, Andreas & Chris,with all our love, Sally, Kelvin, & Aaron.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KelvinBowen31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Oh what a fine place to be! We spent a lovely restful week at The Olive Grove where the people were relaxed and friendly, the apartments, pool and surroundings clean and Elounda itself, quietly busy. Elounda is a great place- full of small-scale colour and character and The Olive Grove Apartments are the perfect place to stay to sample all that is on offer. The owners are a lovely family group who, along with Chris, take an obvious pride in keeping the place spic and span and in making everybody feel welcome. Thanks to Julia, Dimitris and co. - looking forward to a future holiday with you........enjoy your out of season, well-deserved rest. x

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Oh my goodness..what more can I add to the previous post...We have just returned on Thursday after a week at the Olive Grove Apartments...We normally look to stay in a hotel in a resort but could only find hotel resort complexes quite a distance outside Elounda [ not our cup of tea at all] . We read a number of reviews and loved the location of the Olive Grove....are we glad we chose this location. The apartments are family run by Julia,Dimitris their boys and Chris.... the apartments are immaculately fresh and clean we could not have been better treated or catered for than in a 5* hotel.. Home cooked Meze free gratis each evening with our drink before heading out to one of the many wonderful restaurants within walking distance....I loved Julia's fava did not taste better any where else. The pool seemed to be Dimitris's pride and joy he was cleaning it on our arrival and saw him on other numerous occasions with his net scooping out leaves which had blown in......there were lots of sun beds to use either around the pool or in the garden although we spent a lot of time exploring Elounda and the surrounding areas. Similarly my husband is not a particularly doggy person but found himself chatting to the 2 dogs each day who after greeting you they went on their way and where no bother at all. We normally would not return to the same place twice as our philosophy is that there are too many places in the world to discover but we have both said that if we where returning to a place we had previously been and amongst those have been a few 5 * hotels we would most definitely return to the Olive Grove...Would strongly recommend this to people who are heading this way next season

Room Tip: Apartment 24 was on the second floor and was beautifully located for morning sun this was just above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiverpoolTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We arrived home two days ago, after a fantastic two weeks :) We'd been looking forward to this holiday for a lonnnng time and were not disappointed. The apartments are spotless; the pool the cleanest I have ever seen and the whole family (and Chris) are a credit to the place ... friendly with a sense of humour ... and genuine!! For those concerned about dogs, we really are not "dog people" but even we liked them and found ourselves talking to them!! :D :D Absolutely not a problem. We were really quite lazy and only went as far as Agios Nikolaos, Plaka, Spinalonga and Kritsa but were happy to chill out at the pool or go for a wander. Julia's fava, courgette cakes, fava & gigantes at the bar ... along with a Mythos or two (?!) in a frosty glass ... perfect!! These apartments are in "real" Elounda, owned by a local family, alongside local businesses ... butcher, baker, tavernas, little supermarkets, gift shops. Of course there will be some "noise" but I loved being a "local" for a fortnight!! My idea of hell would be one of the all-inclusive resorts on the outskirts ... sanitised Crete ... and I certainly hope the small businesses in the town don't suffer because of those places. Go Greek ... go to the Olive Grove!! Wishing Julia, Dimitris & family all the best for the future and hope we see you again one day in the not-too-distant x

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alberta51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
449 reviews
0.8 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
265 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
1.2 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
0.5 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#13 of 35 in Elounda
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Grove Apartments

Address: Mirabello Bay | Naksou 2, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Elounda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#10 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £47 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Grove Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olive Grove Apartments is a new complex of 14 apartments situated in the center of Elounda well known for its friendly atmosphere and service. There is a large pool and children's pool, also a bar serving snacks and drinks from early morning to late evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Olive Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Grove Apartments Elounda, Crete
Olive Grove Apartments Hotel Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing