We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place to spend the week” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olive Grove Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Olive Grove Apartments
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to spend the week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

Good apartments in a residential area off the main square. 2-3 minutes walk from the beach, shops and restaurants. Lovely welcome from Julia who makes it her mission to know everybody's names the day after arrival. Away from the main road, so no loud road noises, but in centre of the village so sounds of normal village life around and about (I was a bit worried about this after reading some of the other reviews - and being a bit obsessive about traffic noise - but this was actually very relaxing and unobtrusive). The pool area is nice and the garden is a lovely spot to sit in the late afternoon sun. We had a ground floor room at the back (not overlooking the pool area) and I would go for this again if possible - it's a bit more private and quieter. I would maybe ask for a first floor room next time - they seem to have an extra balcony, and in mid-saeason you might want to leave your patio windows open at night.
At 40 euros/night/room this was a great place to stay - we would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank skippy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    30
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
126
137
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spaniard in UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

Perfect! Great central location, contrary to another review we didn't find it too loud. But you have to expect a certain amount of background noise - hence the CENTRAL LOCATION! Its a village, not a city so its hardly intrusive. I certainly didn't have trouble sleeping, super comfy beds, great bar. Very friendly people and Molly is great - she should be on the payroll!

Julia and the boys try very hard to make sure everyone is very happy at all times, I never had a cause to complain but feel sure that any problems would have been rectified straight away.

The village has some great restaurants and the bars are good. Its not too packed and everyone is very friendly in the village. The apartments are very secure, clean, modern, spacious and well equipped. Steve the cleaner is a good guy and actually takes pride in his work. The pool is the prefect temperature and the baby pool is like a bath!

We had a great time and will definitely be back - I was amazed at the amount of repeat visitors they have, everyone is on first name terms, even the guests know each other from previous years!

p.s You must try the BBQ on Wednesday nights (I think Wednesday anyway) Julia's rice thing is great. The quiz questions are a bit of fun and its a relaxing night in.

A big thank you to everyone at Olive Grove and will see you all again next year!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

We had the best of holidays this year based at the OGA in Elounda. The apartments are spotless. Don't know what the guy from St Petersburg was talking about. Our bedding was changed at least once in the 7 days we were there. We were also kept stocked up with loo paper too so no problems there. The Oikonomakis family are the business!! Dimitris, Julia and the 3 lads helped to make an unforgettable experience for us. Unfortunately due to redundancy we had to cut our trip from 2 weeks down to one at the last minute. Julia was very accommodating considering she had just lost a weeks income!! The only downside is that the pool bar is so good you don't want to go anywhere else!! :-) Roll on next year - and definitely for 2 weeks this time - would only ever stay at the OGA now.

Ann and Mark (room 23)

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2009

I stayed at the Olive Groves studios for a week between end of August and early September and although the place is nice I am surprised that, at the time of writing this, the place ranks as the first on the Tripadvisor list for Elounda.

Let me start by saying that my low opinion about the Olive Grove apartments is very personal. The studios are nicely done, nicely decorated, centrally located and the owners are very friendly and helpful. What stops me from giving a better rate to this place is the actual location (being central also means you get considerable street noise at night) and the clientele, which is mainly British and the kind who stay by the pool day and night being drunk and loud.

We tried to sleep without air-conditioning the first night and with the windows open but the noise from the customers in the pool bar and the music was such that we had to close all windows and shutters. The following day we had to ‘hire’ air conditioning for the rest of the week (you have to pay 60 euros for a week of air-conditioning which should come included). Also, on the first morning we were woken up at 6 am with vibration on the windows and lots of noise from a truck cistern dealing with sewage blockage on the street outside the studios.

The studios are nice if you want to stay in town but mind the noise from the street and fellow tourists. Elounda is a lovely village with some really nice hotels and a nice harbour and beaches. If you stay there, pay a visit to the local church in the main square in the harbour: a nice suprise! I would recommend this part of Crete but would think twice about going back to the Olive Grove and would not recommend it if you want a relaxing holiday.

We hired a car which was worth it as there are lovely beaches and places to explore in Crete, like Vulismo beach nearby or Vai (a two-hour drive but a spectacular beach), as well as the ruins of the Palace of Knossos (an hour’s drive but be patient with crowds, even very early in the day). But the bus network is also good and the buses are brand new and comfortable.

Restaurants in Elounda are very good and we recommend Paradisiakos and Marilena, where the meze are great. As the resort is mainly for British tourists, beware of the traps offering chips with everything and all sorts of awful British food. When in Greece, try the great food there: meze, grilled fish and octopus, fresh vegetables, etc.

I travelled with my same-sex partner and we didn’t encounter any problems in Crete and from the Greeks. The only odd looks we got were actually from the Brits.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st.petersburg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2009

All good words about this place are allready said. The perfect location, friendly owners, nice dog Molly, clean and cosy room, good pool etc.
There was a one thing, which one was dissapointing. When you live here, you dont have any information in your room about the rools of your stay. I mean you dont know have they a room servise, and if yes, what it means? For example, on the second day of your stay you start to think about what you should do with your garbage. When we asked Julia about this, she sail that thay have a room service but not every day. O`key. On the next day was this room servise, but it was only taking out a garbage. So we didn`t have even a toilet paper, what is really bad if you find out this fact when you are in the toilet allready:)))))) If it is a self-catering, guests should know about this, before they catched in a stupid situation like this:)) Towels and bedclothes were changed only once in more than a week, and the last 3 days before check-out garbage wasnt take out.
But the place is really good, all stuff was friendly, including service-man.
Just wanted to have more information about cathering.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaleisya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

We were at Olive Grove in July and as usual had a terrific time. The family as attentive as usual-nothing is too much trouble for them. Molly the dog is as cute as ever. Compared to some apartments we have been to in Crete these are excellent value for money. The apartments spacious and very clean. The location is great, close to shopping area and pubs, yet very tranquil plenty room to sunbathe, sunbeds always available.Unfortunately we had to leave early because of a family illness. Julia and family were very sympathetic and their concern was much appreciated. Like to thank the Post Office insurance co for their assistance. They arranged a flight back to Manchester then a taxi to Newcastle. We even recieved a refund for the four days we had lost. First Choice Holidays were also excellent keeping in touch with us to make sure were able to return to the U.K. We will be back next year can`t wait. Pat Cat and John Newcastle.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

Quick one here as all been said before. Often by me.

We were back in Jul / Aug this year and it is STILL a great place to holiday. Lovely people who are the perfect hosts. All I want to say is that it was as good as ever this year and that once again we have re-booked for the following year. See you in early Aug 2010 if you are there.

DA

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#10 of 36 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
0.8 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#11 of 36 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Grove Apartments

Property: Olive Grove Apartments
Address: Mirabello Bay | Naksou 2, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Elounda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#9 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Grove Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olive Grove Apartments is a new complex of 14 apartments situated in the center of Elounda well known for its friendly atmosphere and service. There is a large pool and children's pool, also a bar serving snacks and drinks from early morning to late evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays and Hotels.com so you can book your Olive Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Grove Apartments Elounda, Crete
Olive Grove Apartments Hotel Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing