We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Olive Grove Apartments
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2010

This was our second trip to these wonderful family run appartments. What a wonderful welcome we received ! The apartments as ever were spotless - again thanks to Steve who keeps everything gleaming ! The new kitchen and the great menu was really welcome - the breakfasts looked fab and certainly the meals that we had were great and excellent value for money.
Sadly my husband had to endure 4 days in hospital resulting in us having to return to the UK early. I cannot thank Julia, Demitri, Manos, Andreas and Mickey enough for their kindness and support. They helped me every day and visited my husband in hospital - where else would you find such consideration and support !
I would also like to recommend First Choice and especially Rob our rep who helped throughout and got us home early - nothing was too much trouble and the daily hospital visits were so apprecated.
These appartments, the family who run them and First Choice are simply the best - health permitting we will be back next year without a doubt. If you are visiting Elounda I cant believe anyone would consider staying anywhere else !

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hants_holiday_makers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

Julia and family lovely, pool spotless, pool bar and food great, all her apartments clean and inviting. Our 2 bed apartment No.1, simply disgusting,mattresses stained, bedding very old and faded, bathroom and toilet smelly and dirty kitchen smelly. Could not eat in there. Had showers in pool shower in garden and went to pool toilets to wash which were immaculate. Wanted to go home after first day, but Julia and family were so nice and there was a great crowd so decided to put up with it. Flat 1 apparently is owned by brother of family who does not keep it to the standard of Julias apartments, who were cleaned brilliantly by steve. We had our 6 month grandaughter with us and were worried about the hygiene etc., etc. Would definitely recommend to friends but only if they booked Julias apartments and not the brothers, unless it had a total refurb. Wanted to go on trips but had to spend all our money on eating out, so didnt see anything of Crete such a pity.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

My Husband and I have just returned from our third visit to The Olive Grove Apartments, and they just get Better!! Julia, Dimitri, Manos, Andreas and Mickey do everything they can to make your stay enjoyable, the new kitchen for daytime meals is a great addition, while the bar in the evenings run by Manos is Great. The apartments are in a perfect location, a couple of minutes walk and your by the Lovely Harbour, with so many Restaurants and bars to choose from,Our favourite Bar being Babels, enjoying a cold drink, and people watching! Favourite Restaurants being The Lotus Eaters and Makris.
The apartments are spacious, spotlessly clean ( thanks Steve, who is very funny) with everything that you could need, plus two balconys!!. We spent a few days around the lovely pool, and were not bothered by any noise, the BBQ is a really good evening,all the family work so hard to make it so enjoyable. The beach, although not sandy is lovely, with so much going on, watching the boats go off in the mornings on trips to Spinalonga, and fishing trips, and with the cost of Loungers and Umbrellas being only 2 euros each for the day, its great value. We are already planning our next visit to The Olive Grove next year, It cant come soon enough!!!.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pilgrimfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2010

My husband and I have just returned from these wonderful apartments and I can honestly say they are faultless. Rooms are clean ( thanks Steve) and contain kettles, toasters and even irons.

These apartments are in a perfect location in the centre of Elounda ideal for visiting its many restaurants.

Julia and her husband Dimitri are the perfect hosts and along with their lovely sons Manos, Andreas and Mikey and not forgetting Molly the dog make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble.

I recommend these apartments to anyone visiting Elounda and hopefully we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dozm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

We have just got home from our first visit to Crete, and the Olive Grove. We had a fantastic time. It isn't just the beautiful village of Elounda, great restaraunts, good beaches, that make a stay here a great holiday. It is the Cretan people and in particular Dimitris and Julia Oikonomakis, who own the appartments, and their sons Manos, Andreas, and Mickey, who help to run them.Also Molly the dog who is a real sweetie. You are made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive and go home feeling like part of a big family, as most of the customers are repeat customers who have been here several times before.
The appartments are clean and spacious, bed changed and clean towels on a regular basis(thanks Steve!!). The food served in the new eating area is excellent. The bar is a fun way to end off an evening. Reading all the other reviews I think the main gripe is that the road outside can be noisy, and it can. BUT you are in the centre of the village, with all you need on the doorstep and for someone like myself with walking difficulties it is perfect. We were honestly never kept awake by any noise.
We got back yesterday and booked up to go back next year today. I have also never felt compelled to write a review before but felt I needed to do it this time. So see you all next year. Milo and Sally.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cornishsallyandmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2010

3- 17 June 2010. Just returned from 2 weeks at Olive Grove our first visit and I'm sure we will return. We stayed in the upstairs 2 bed apt. booked with First Choice. 1 double 1 twin, full kitchen with full oven and 4 rings, large fridge decent small freezer two shelves. Balcony extended round the whole way round with one area with a table to seat 4. Clothes airer with pegs was useful and the plentiful wardrobes had a good supply of coat hangers. There was a small dining table in the kitchen and a larger one in the lounge dining room where there were two comfy bed settees. The air con was in both bedrooms and cost 60 euros per week and was well worth it.
The pool was wonderful and quite often it was just me and my daughter in for a peaceful swim.
Julia, Dimitri and their sons are all friendly and very helpful, they truly make you feel welcome. We went to the BBQ quiz nights on both Fridays we were there the food was fresh, tasty and good value.The second week we teamed up with a couple of Scottish women and we won, Whoooo. Win or loose it was a good fun night.
Special mention for Molly the dog, our daughter will miss Molly and has taken the toy dog to bed tonight, that has been cuddled non stop all the journey home.
We had Julia's English breakfasts a couple of times that were very good, club sandwiches, banana splits, strawberries and ice cream both delicious. All reasonably priced and freshly prepared.
Two minutes walk to the harbour and shops, restaurants etc. The butchers next door sold Englush bacon and sausages, then it's the bakers - delicious fresh bread, croissants, and cakes plus 6 bottles of water for 2.5 euros was unexpected find. Our daughter was given a free cake or cone on every visit after our second purchase there.
I cannot fault anything about these friendly brilliant located apartments we had the holiday we wanted. Many thanks to Julia, Dimitri, Andreas, and Manos. Excuse my spellings of names.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ICUDHOL4EVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2010

traveled to the OGA this year based purely on the reviews here, the majority of which praise it very highly.....after what seemed an age traveling we arrived & was instantly met by staff & shown to our apartment.
the apartment was larger than i'd expected & spotlessly clean which was not so surprising having read so many positive reviews..........a great start.

despite a long day & being knackered we were woken at 2am due to noise from the poolside bar & again at 5.30/6am onwards thanks to a mixture of mopeds & trucks back & forth. the following night was much the same followed by the early morning call from mopeds etc & this time yapping dogs on a balcony opposite & a builder wielding a petrol cutter (all this through closed windows)..... so, the apartments are spotless, the staff are great & the location is central & close to all you could need but, with this comes a little more than the usual 'day to day' noise....some previous reviews had mentioned noise etc & had been shot down by fellow reviews. the OGA seems to attract a very loyal crowd who return year after year & if your after a holiday whereby everything is right on your doorstep i doubt you'll find anywhere as clean or at such a great price but, be aware THERE IS excessive street noise & unless you're able to sink enough alcohol to pass out or are deaf it could be a problem. worth also mentioning that First Choice / Thompson advertise the OGA as having air con INCLUDED, this is incorrect...air con is available at an additional €60 a week & only free if booking direct.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChadShellac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
466 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#16 of 35 in Elounda
626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#13 of 35 in Elounda
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 35 in Elounda
271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Heights
Elounda Heights
#3 of 35 in Elounda
519 reviews
1 mi away
Elounda Palm Hotel
Elounda Palm Hotel
#14 of 35 in Elounda
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Grove Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Grove Apartments

Address: Mirabello Bay | Naksou 2, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Elounda
#3 Best Value Hotel in Elounda
#5 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#10 Luxury Hotel in Elounda
Price Range: £43 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Grove Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olive Grove Apartments is a new complex of 14 apartments situated in the center of Elounda well known for its friendly atmosphere and service. There is a large pool and children's pool, also a bar serving snacks and drinks from early morning to late evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Olive Grove Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olive Grove Apartments Elounda, Crete
Olive Grove Apartments Hotel Elounda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing