We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

Just returned from a brilliant holiday at Elounda Heights.

These are excellent apartments run by Ann & Vangelis. Some are small apartments (marketed by Manos) with modern fixtures and fittings, others are samller more traditional studios which can be booked direct with the owners. There is also one full size apartment with a fully fitted kitchen, huge shower room, large double bedroom, lounge and two balconies. This is the one we stayed in and it was fantastic.

The whole complex is set at the top of a hill above Elounda with magnificent views over the bay of Mirabello and, due to the hard work put in by Vangelis, is something of an oasis with masses of greenery of all types, a lot of which Vangelis uses to create some of his dishes.

There is a vibrant pool bar serving a large variety of drinks and snacks.

Some reports have mentioned that there is a dog sanctuary on site. THIS IS NOT TRUE. Ann is an active member of an animal rescue charity and has four small rescue dogs and one cat on site, but these are pets and they are the most inoffensive and loveable animals you could wish to meet (animal lover or not). They are no trouble whatsoever and you should not be put off visiting here because of them.

Elounda village is a great little harbour with many bars, tavernas, shops and restaurants which offer a wide range of goods and services to meet any needs. Boat trips are available to Spinalonga island and also to the surrounding areas, but nothing beats Vangelis' own Sunday boat trip which takes you around the bay for swimming, snorkelling and fishing with plenty of food and drink to keep you going. This is a full day out and terrific fun.

All in all, an excellent place to spend a holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metaxaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    42
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
60
300
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

Our 4th visit in as many years and we've already booked 2010. Ann & Vangelis are brilliant hosts, the views from Elounda Heights are breathtaking. Vangelis' food is superb with great variety and reasonable prices. Boat trips, BBQ and Meze nights are real highlights. Just a shame we can only visit 2 weeks of the year!! Simon&Jackie

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon_Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

We stayed here for 5 days in May 2009. We'd read the reviews and looked at the price and thought there must be something amiss. But it really is as good as the reviewers said and for the same reasons: good position, excellent facilities, excellent food and an astonishingly friendly atmosphere created by Ann and Vangelis. And very good value, too. This is a place people come back to time and time again - we met several of them on our stay.
It's well worth going on the Sunday boat outing with Vangelis. Nothing very special happens but there's plenty to eat and drink and it's just great fun. Again, it's down to Vangelius' personality. The man is a host of genius.
If we come back to this area, Elounda Heights is where we will stay. For sure.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickandRos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

We have just returned from a great holiday at Elounda Heights. We travelled with our four year old son who has had a fantastic time. He particularly enjoyed swimming in the lovely pool and also made friends with Vangelis and Ann's four dogs who are very friendly. As previously mentioned by others, Vangelis cooking is fabulous and he will accomodate any special requests. Nothing seems too much trouble! The accomodation was lovely and our apartment was very spacious and clean, as was the reception and bar area. The hill up to the apartments is steep but well worth the climb as the views are stunning. (Please don't let the hill put you off as even our son managed to climb it.) We would definitely visit Elounda Heights again and would recommend it highly!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

Absolutely fantastic place - small and very, very friendly! The owners, Ann and Vangellis could not be more helpful and Vangellis's cooking is to die for! The hill up to the apartments is very steep, but once you get used to it it's fine and it's sooo worth it for the views. We stayed in a traditional apartment, because we booked directly. It was basic, but well enough equiped to make basic snacks and salads etc. Note though that the beds are fixed, so you cannot move them together (like normal single beds)... made for a good nights sleep though!! :-)
THey have a computer there that you can use for free (in the lounge), along with a pool table and a TV and DVD player. The package tour apartments do have TVs in them also aparently (the traditional apartments are more basic I understand). Most of the Thomas Cook guests that were there when we were were very impressed with their accomodation.
Elounda itself was very expensive for food etc... Vangellis's prices were certainly no more expensive and I think cheaper in some cases... also he grows a lot of his own fruit and veg, so its lovely and fresh, and within limits he will prepare you whatever you want. The Raki is also free flowing and there are lots of 'freebies'... as I said before, an amazing level of service. Not only am I intending to go back, but I I would be happy to go back alons (so for any solo female travellers, this place would be ideal).
I would also suggest that you ask Ann to arrange you a taxi from the airport if you are travelling independantly.
All in all I would highly recommend this area and this accomodation to anyone traveling to Crete!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JellyCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

A beautiful location overlooking the sea and Spinalonga. The walk is not too bad up the hill although we had a car for one of the weeks! We were on holiday with friends and all our rooms were lovely. Suitable cooking facilities for light snacks.Food at Elounda Heights is exceptional and being vegetarians we were well looked after. There are plenty of tavernas to choose from in Elounda. Swimming pool very clean in attractive, peaceful garden with pleasant bar serving delicious snacks.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2008

I'd booked a holiday to Elounda Heights and was thoroughly looking forward to it as it looked so good on the website. Whoops! Bang goes Kosmar & XL a week before we were due to fly out! We managed to book another holiday in Hersonissos and whilst neither the area or accomodation were bad it wasn't what we'd been looking forward to.
After a couple of days we rented a car and drove to Elounda Heights to see what we had missed and, once we'd found the right hill(!), we were totally captivated.

Ann & Vangelis were very welcoming and Elounda Heights is a place of tranquility & beauty so we immediately wanted to stay there. Because they had also been let down by the collapse of XL they had several empty apartments and offered us a very sensible rate to stay with them. It added another extra cost to our holiday but it was probably the best money we've ever spent.

The apartment was spotless, the pool, bar & gardens equally so and the food superb. Vangelis is very lovable but has a dodgy sense of humour and will play endless tricks on his guests. Personally I've got to go back to get my revenge on him which I shall use as the best excuse I have to return to this glorious place.

An earlier comment mentioned that it was 50% more to eat and drink at Elounda Heights than elsewhere. That was not my experience. We tried a lot of other restaurants (which were all serving much the same choice of food as each other) and the bill was pretty much exactly the same as Vangelis's prices, with this exception. Vangelis will serve traditional Cretan specials as well as a normal a la carte menu and these have got to be tasted to be believed. He is a fine chef and nothing in Elounda Village comes close. The nearest we got was the wonderful Haroupo Ergospasio Restaurant on the end of the waterfront which offered imaginative dishes at very normal prices with brilliant service as well - highly recommended!

Elounda itself is very pretty and is a great base for exploring Eastern Crete so really, do yourself a favour and go - you will probably never be as chilled out anywhere you may go.

Remember! Watch out for his tricks!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, spaciousness, attention to detail & views
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing to dislike
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank steve651114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.5 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
1.1 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#12 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#10 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.3 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios

Property: Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
Address: Emmanouil Pouli, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Elounda
#2 Best Value Hotel in Elounda
#3 Family Hotel in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Heights, owned by Vangelis and his English wife Ann, is a small boutique aparthotel with beautiful gardens complimented by Greek statues as this is the theme of the complex. All the apartments and studios are named after Greek gods and goddesses. It is truly an oasis and if you want to relax then this is the place for you. Great for honeymooners and couples just wanting a quiet restful holiday. Ideal for families wanting to unwind by the people while enjoying a fantastic view over the bay of Elounda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Heights Apartments And Studios Hotel Elounda
Elounda Heights Apartments And Studios Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing