We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elounda Island Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“A place to relax”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

The location is beautiful.
The accommodation is simple and rustic but perfectly adequate. For persons with reduced mobility the stairs may cause problems; ask for a bungalow-style villa.
breakfast ad lunch (simple but tasty) available. for dinner: plenty of restaurants in the village.(about 3/4 mile away (you will need a car).
Lida is exceptionally kind and helpful.
The general atmosphere is one of total relaxation.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The accommodation is rustic but perfectly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmichael9601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    24
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
79
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Everything was excellent, the location is fantastic, the food sublime. But there is something more to this place, much more. The hospitality, the kindness, the spirit, the aesthetics... This is really something that gets you back in time, years and years ago when vacations on seaside meant a lot more than a simple turistic satisfaction.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

I can't improve greatly upon the wonderful things others have already said. My wife and I just spent one of our best vacations ever in Elounda, and the fact that we were guests of Lida Alexopoulos and her family at Elounda Island Villas on the Spinalonga/Kolokytha Peninsula had much to do with the quality of our all-too-short stay in paradise.

If I had to sum it up in three words, I suppose the classic "location, location, location" refrain would do. With wonderful swimming at your doorstop, fantastic snorkeling around the corner, great hiking just over the hill, and an excellent taverna (Kanali) right down the road, you never have to leave the peninsula to enjoy what feels like your personal paradise, unless you need to pick up a few groceries in town (a pleasant and scenic 15-minute walk) for your next picnic by the sea.

Actually, three better words I might offer instead are "space, solitude, and serenity." Our villa was not a five-star accommodation, but it gave us all the space that people who are shelling out five to ten times the price out there across the water on the mainland wish they were enjoying. We had plenty of room to spread out and really "live" in our own home away from home, not having to confront flippers, snorkels and swimsuits while we lounged on our balcony. When you're in Elounda at night and look across the way at the peninsula, the only lights you see shining are the ones lighting the pathway that leads to your villa -- you aren't sharing your world with hordes of "holiday making" disco denizens and bar-hopping boozers. That, of course, is the main reason for the relative quiet and peacefulness.

Oh, one more important word to describe the joy of staying at Elounda Island Villas: Lida. Whether it was getting us whisked away from the airport on arrival in the midst of a taxi strike, helping arrange a romantic anniversary dinner in a village taverna up in the hills, giving us hiking directions, or simply making us feel welcome and cared for at every turn, she did it. And always with a smile.

We just left, and already we can't wait to get back -- to the peninsula, to our villa, to Lida's smile, to paradise...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bezdomovci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

This has been my second time in Elounda island villas (first one was in summer 2006) and I could only regret for not spending my previous four summer holidays there. This boutique hotel on the peninsula off Elounda is the ideal place to escape a busy life in the city and feel renewed and as close to nature as possible. These villas are ideally designed to feel like home while away from home. I've travelled in Crete both times solo but the Alexopoulos family couldn't help me more feeling cozy in their friendliness and warm hospitality. Lida, the youngest member in the family, is a highly skilled artist with a unique sense of humor. I was surprised she still remebered me and on my first day I felt like meeting an old friend again. Off sourse I couldn't help buying a piece of work which hang on the villa I stayed so I keep a sense of my holiday in my tiny flat in Athens :-)
Their home food is great and they had interesting recommendations for nearby walks and trips around the place. Don't miss snorkeling in the lagoon on your doorstep and the nearby sunken city of Olous. Ideal place for photography freaks too. I was amazed by the windmills and the canaal view.
All you need is a big hat, a strong pair of sandals, your sunscreen and off course a large bottle of cool water. The Alexopoulos family will provide you with all usefull information about the rest. Hiring a car could offer better access to Plaka, Aghios Nikolaos and the stunning beach of Kolokytha although I prefered to walk to Elounda city where there's good transport connection to the nearby places.
Last but not least, Elounda town offers good night life and dinning options. Ask Lida for the right places to go! I'll definately go back next summer!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

Brilliant- have just returned.
This is such a special place that I have been going to Elounda Island Villas for 20 years. What makes it so special? The wonderful family who care and make you feel at home immediately and who speak English as well as other languages; the position- the only property on the Island offering tremendous views of sunrises, sunsets over Mount Oxa and the Bay with its resplendent blues. In the Villa, the sound of the gentle lapping sound of the sea, lulls you into a deep sleep with the opportunity to take an effortless early morning swim - leaving your Villa and within 2 minutes being in the water.
It is a privilege to stay in the Villas and as you look across the bay- you feel special.
The only downnside is having to leave!

Room Tip: Only 10 Villas and each one is different - views from all are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUE291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

We stayed in Elounda island villas in august 2011 for fourth time. We love to return here because this place is extraordinary. I would recommend this place for people who like to take a rest from busy lives of our civilization. This accommodation is the only accommodation localized on Spinalonga peninsula which makes this place really silent. There are no bars, no restaurants, nothing noisy around. In spite of that the Elounda village is only several minutes far away. There is a small beach in front of the accommodation but the real beauty is on the other side of peninsula- sandy Kolokytha beach and also other smaller rocky beaches. The appartments are built in original Cretan style, no concrete monotonicity. The service is extremely friendly and will help you solve any problem you encounter. Our only problem was the cleanliness. The appartments are being cleaned every day but not sufficiently. We love to stay in these appartments and we will return again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferney Voltaire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

Leda Alexopoulou and her family run a lovely small complex of confortable villas on the side of Spinalonga on the marvellous Mirabello Bay in Crete. They are close to Elounda, yet far enough from any bustle and hustle, it is just the perfect getaway for a leisurely vacation and yet it allows you to visit easily all the many attractions of Central and Eastern Crete. The Alexoupoulous are very helful, courteous, great cooks, have entertaining conversation and Leda has outstanding artistic talent. We could not have chosen a better place. Thank you for your warm welcome!
Caution; if you are part of the trendy set, looking for excitement, this is not your place, everybody else should fell at home there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaneSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
1.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 37 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.6 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#11 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
1.3 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#10 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
1.8 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Island Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Island Villas

Property: Elounda Island Villas
Address: Kolokytha Island, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elounda Island Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Island Villas is located only meters from the sea, in one of the most cosmopolitan places, the famous village of Elounda, situated on the Spinalonga Peninsula. Offering a beautiful view to the bay of Elounda, Elounda Island Villas is a cluster of 10 interconnected apartments with verandas with a direct view to the sea.All of the neatly furnished villas, with plain pine furniture and built-in beds, consist of a living room, a well equipped kitchen and one or two bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Elounda Island Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Island Villas Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing