We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elounda Island Villas
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Special Place”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is a really special place. Not just because of its wonderful location but because of the welcome held for anyone lucky enough to find themselves staying here. The only accomodation on this island, tethered to the mainland by a narrow bridge linked to a causeway, these beautiful, simple villas are the perfect place to relax right beside this sheltered bay within walking distance of Elounda, with its high quality restaurants and bars. I have been travelling around the Greek islands for more than 30 years and earn some of my living writing books about this magical country, and can honestly say that Elounda Island Villas have to be at the top of my list of places to stay, not only on Crete but on the Greek islands.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rjclarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    24
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
44
83
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

What a fantastic find! Totally unspoiled area just across the bay from Elounda itself, which has the right amount of holiday-feel for me. Clean and simple accommodation that suited us perfectly. Fantastic welcome and hosting throughout our stay by Lida, family and staff. Of course beautifully located close to small and idyllic beaches within walking distance. Great snorkelling for the novice and beyond.
We plan to be back next year!

Room Tip: Book early and enjoy a great quiet location. As always, the earlier you book the better your view, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benstreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duisburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We loved to stay in this wonderful location at Elounda. Leda is a very charming Hotel manager and we enjoyed every morning sitting with this wonderful view on the terrace. The location is beautiful, very quiet, the best in this area. The small houses are made in the typical Cretan style. From your terrace you can see the Elounda bay. My husband a I had a perfect holiday in the Elounda Island Villas for 5 days. Ledas recommendations for beaches, restaurants and other activities are very useful. You feel that this location has a special spirit, a peaceful moment in your life. We would recommend it again for all our friends. The view to the bay is a little bit magic.
Stephanie and Hans

Room Tip: We loved to stay in the big house, normally for four people. Wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie_Hans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Very beautiful location, far from the confusion of the village and close to Koloktyha beach, the best in the area. The rooms are large, based on three floors, in the typical Cretan style. They're very comfortable and clean. There's a big terrace on the top floor from where you can have beautiful views on the Elounda bay. The only note is the bathroom that is a little old.
There's a beautiful garden and a nice patio where you can relax and have breakfast. The quality of the breakfast is excellent, fresh ingredients and home made food. We just stayed for two days, but it's a really genuine and wonderful retreat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alessandra952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I travelled with my husband and two teenage daughters to Crete and we stayed in Elounda Island Villas for 10 days. We had the perfect holiday; Lida and her parents have created a fabulous retreat. There are nine villas built in the traditional Cretan way with white walls and a simple, square design. Ours had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen and living area - all very spacious and clean. The views over the bay towards Elounda are glorious and we spent evenings on our balcony watching shooting stars. There is a little beach right by the hotel and other beaches a short walk away. Snorkelling around the sunken city of Olous was magical. Even though the villas were fully booked throughout our stay we felt quite secluded. The breakfasts were superb and the food we ate for lunch in the cafe was the best of our holiday. We didn't hire a car and used local taxis - or our own feet - to travel around. Lida arranged for us to be picked up at the airport and dropped back there again at the end of our stay. I can recommend this place for families, groups of friends, couples and anyone travelling alone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

What a wonderful place - your own private island paradise. Lida is a wonderful host who makes it feel very quickly as if its your own residence. The nearby beaches at the back of the island are the best we experienced in the whole of Crete and probably Greece. The views across the bay at sunset are magical and the whole setting including the causeway and nearby 'Canale' restaurant made Elounda and Spinalonga the favourite part of our holiday. Thank you Lida!! xx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadMarchHare2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Rustic and authentic confortable Cretan houses on the very nice Kolokytha peninsula.
Lida is a very nice woman who welcome you very friendly and cook very well Cretan food at lunch
For the dinner she knows very good restaurants in the surrounding and give adresses
We spend 10 wonderful days and will come back as soon as possible

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
1.1 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
391 reviews
0.6 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elounda Beach Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.8 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
0.5 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elounda Island Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elounda Island Villas

Property: Elounda Island Villas
Address: Kolokytha Island, Elounda, Crete 720 53, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elounda Island Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elounda Island Villas is located only meters from the sea, in one of the most cosmopolitan places, the famous village of Elounda, situated on the Spinalonga Peninsula. Offering a beautiful view to the bay of Elounda, Elounda Island Villas is a cluster of 10 interconnected apartments with verandas with a direct view to the sea.All of the neatly furnished villas, with plain pine furniture and built-in beds, consist of a living room, a well equipped kitchen and one or two bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Elounda Island Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elounda Island Villas Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing