We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalypso Hotel Elounda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kalypso Hotel Elounda
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Rude staff!!! I've never encountered such a negative attitude towards customers... We stayed there for 2 days and there was never anyone at reception! You had to go to the restaurant to find someone to help i.e. checking in.
In all fairness the man who welcomed us when we checked in was really nice and helpful, but we had to deal with an incredibly rude woman when we checked out. They had my ID card and I obviously needed it to check out and fly back...We asked the day before if someone will be there early in the morning as we had to leave around 8am and they said fine. No one was in reception (as usual...) and the only person around was a cleaner in the restaurant.
I eventually managed to obtain someone's mobile number and a woman answered and told me off, saying she said she'd be there at 8.30am and hung up on me! She then turned up at 8.35am looking angry and had another go at me.
We tried to explain we were in a rush because we had a flight to catch but she didn't apologise once and even had the audacity of accusing us of having smashed the restaurant door?!? She also shouted at a friend of ours (who was driving us back to the airport and was waiting for us) and carried on being rude. Unbelievable attitude! This is the first time I have ever left a bad review for a hotel but this was an absolute joke, how could you have an empty reception desk and then be upset about customers checking out early??

In comparison we stayed at Selena hotel the previous nights and it was fantastic, the staff was absolutely amazing. I would certainly not recommend Kalypso hotel to anyone...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank coffee0781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    14
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
39
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

Our experience of dining at this restaurant/ hotel was extremely disappointing. We waited over one hour and 15minutes to be served, even thought the restaurant only had about three other tables occupied. We did not have starters but asked for salads and grilled vegetables to be brought with the main course, but that arrived about 40 minutes before the main course. When the main course did arrive, the sea food pasta was terrible and two of out guest opted for the prawns at 15 euros each, but the waiter recommended they would be better to have the crayfish, but unfortunately this was rubbery and extremely expensive, three times the cost of the prawns which the waiter did not mention.
We did complain to the owners and we did agree a small discount, but the waiter was extremely rude

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol_thomas17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed here only for 3 days because we suddenly decided to extend our holidays and we could not stay any longer at the hotel we stayed the last week due to no availability. The hotel Calypso was a nice place , very friendly and helpful staff.

Definitely it was not better from the previous we stayed. We can say that we had no problems during our stay, the room was very nice and the view to the harbour was splendid !

Do not expect a royal suite with Leonardo Da Vinci's paintings hanging on golden walls. Rooms are very decent for decent expectations!

Room Tip: Rooms with view to the little harbor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

The atmoshere and the service was wonderfull....Plus the people there, we fill that we was at home like a big family ! We will never forget the delicius restaurant with all the fish and wine compinations !
We want to thanks everybody and we promise that we will back if we can every summer !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainisaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bishop auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2011

Lets start with the positives before I move on to the negatives. Yhe location is perfect right on the harbour front with fantasic views,Yep the food in the resraurant is good but very expensive.
Now the negatives.The shower was broke upon arrival and it took 3 days to get it fixed.the same amount of time it took to get the air conditioning switched on after paying 50 euros for it, which meant having to leave the patio doors open to get some air in, which then resulted in extreme moquito bites and a visit to the doctors.
The lift in the building is a accident waiting to happen,theres no guard between the lift and the wall a definate no no for children or the intoxicated.
These apartments were advertised as self catering,yet there was no self catering faccilities,not even a kettle,which meant having to go down to the restaurant in the lift of death and paying a fortune for a cup of cooffee every morning.Admittedly this didn't spoil my holiday cos it was the wife who suffered the mosquito bites,Although didn't dare visit the old leper colony of Spinalonga in case they kept her on the island.
ok back to the start Elounda beauitiful Kalypso should be advertised as room only with no swimming pool.ps room never saw a cleaner in the week we were there.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deanBishopAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

Me and my boyfriend stayed there for about 4 days, and we were surprised by the willingness of the staff to help us in our every desicion of our stay, just to let us have a great experience of the amazing place we visited. As we were told, the rooms were renovated recently and everything was very clean and fresh. Don't expect anything similar to the fancy and glamourous hotels of elounda of course, but in the end, what travellers need is a nice and clean place to sleep with nice food and nice people who really see them more as human beings than as ''money carriers''. What is really remarkable to mention is the fine Kalypso restaurant just beyond the hotel, with amazing food, great service and a huge selection of wines. Comparing to the price we paid for our dinner(about 40 euros with wine), it was much much more worth it.There was also another restaurant next to the hotel owned by them which was more like taverna style, worth visiting also. The only thing that almost ruined our holiday was the weather as it was rainy and cloudy most of the days we stayed and didn't let us enjoy the beach as we wanted to. So, check the weather before you go!! And of course, don't miss Spinalonga island, a very interesting and touching place.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vdiellza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ELOUNDA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

I havn' t read the reviews before I stayed in Calypso hotel but I surprised because the truth was total different , the was in the centre of port nice view and renew, the stuff very friendly and the restaurant place amazing with delicious food and a lot of wines (about 350),our breakfast was like other hotel with perfect decoration.
We stay for a week and for the good price that we payed the quality was more than exellent

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NIKITOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Elounda hotels
0.5 mi away
Elounda Sunrise Apartments
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aristea
Hotel Aristea
#28 of 36 in Elounda
3.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.5 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#11 of 36 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#2 of 36 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elounda Heights Apartments and Studios
0.1 mi away
Palemilos Apartments
Palemilos Apartments
#9 of 38 in Elounda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalypso Hotel Elounda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalypso Hotel Elounda

Property: Kalypso Hotel Elounda
Address: Elounda, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Elounda
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Elounda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kalypso Hotel Elounda 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Kalypso Hotel Elounda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalypso Hotel Elounda Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing