We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb holiday”
Review of Imperial Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Heraklion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Imperial Studios
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
wirral england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“superb holiday”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have just come back from here and can not fault it, the brothers George and Zac go over board to help and make your saty a happy one, they are so easy going and helpful, the rooms are cleaned daily and the pool area is just bliss!
the apartments are simple but all you need, 5 minute walk from the beach and its a beautiful beach, The imperial is not expensive at all great value and atmosphere here, my daughter and I loved it and will be going back. Kerry and Maisie (Wirral)

Room Tip: if three or more the top floor apartment would be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kt04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    2
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Dont be fooled by all the great reviews of the Imperial Studios . They couldn't be further from the truth. The main problem we found was that nearly everythin we asked for was greeted with a no especially from Zac one of the two brothers that own the complex ! We asked for a meal at 7.30 one eve an we were told that we had 2 let them know a day in advance if we wanted to eat , so we then requested a meal a few days later a day in advance only to be told we needed to find another four people to eat ! The beer is extortionate over £4 a pint ! The rooms are basic but adequate the only problem is you only get hot water for an hour or so in the eve if ur lucky we had none at all in the second week ! Ammoudara is ok very expensive compared with other parts of Crere if you like cretan restaurants an nothin else your ok no entertainment at all on the whole a very disappointing experience all round !

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank burnett61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I stayed at the Imperial Studios for 1-8 August 2012 with my best friend. We arrived at midday and were the first drop from the airport (literally 20minute drive if that!). Upon arrival we were greeted by Zac who took us straight to the bar for a much needed beer! The owners are lovely and really looked after us all week! They were friendly, helpful, and treated us like family throughout our stay. The room was basic, 2 single beds, sink, hob, small balcony and bathroom. It was kept very clean, every day apart from Sunday. There is a nearby stirp with restaurants, bars and clubs, and the beautiful beach is literally a 5 minute walk. I cant fault the holiday at all, the location was perfect and the owners were amazing. I would definitly stay here again, great value for money, and we were really well looked after :)

Hope this helps!

:)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SammyInTheAttic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Words can hardly describe how wonderful Crete is in early Summer. I had been meaning to visit for years and somehow it went off my radar. But I'm very glad that I remembered about it. I researched thoroughly on Trip Advisor before making my choice of where to stay. It gave me the confidence when the airline initially lost our luggage, to persevere to my destination. And, true to form, the hotel owner George was waiting for me and my partner Andy, even though it was after 10.30pm when we arrived. George helped us to phone the airport the next day and our 'lost' luggage arrived in a taxi around lunchtime.
Meanwhile, the other hotel guests were particularly helpful. Carol gave me her sunscreen until mine arrived and some much needed tea bags, while her husband Mal gave us bus tickets into Iraklion. Lovely people!
I was slightly taken aback by the room initially. The beds are quite low in Crete and the ceilings are high, giving a somewhat funny impression, and the fridge was quite noisy. Given that we had no luggage and we were hungry, I felt quite upset and didn't sleep well. However, the next morning, everything felt just fine and I knew we were going to enjoy our stay. The room itself was very functional, white and sparsely decorated. The telly is a portable on the wall and the catering facilities are minimal, but enough to get something going. The shower pretty much has hot water on demand as the Cretans install water heaters on their roofs and the weather is generally beautiful. The balcony is pleasant with stunning views of the surrounding hills and sunsets.
The garden in the hotel is a real showstopper! Palm trees, olive trees, passion flowers and geraniums to name a few all leading to a really good size swimming pool. It's a real family affair with mother Maria and brother Zac raising chickens and growing veggies. There was a batch of fluffy chicks on the go while we were there.
The most important thing about the Imperial is that it feels very safe. The boys are always on hand for advice and a chat and meals if desired. Maria cleans the rooms every day, apart from Sunday, and does it with great care. No-one is allowed to just wander into the hotel building itself and occassionaly friends of the family pop in, which adds to the atmosphere.
Because the stairwell and passages are made of marble people going in and out of their rooms can sound quite noisy. But if there is too much noise at night time from the other guests, George makes sure it doesn't happen again by having a quiet word with them.
The nearest town Gazi is an absolute delight. It's a bit of a walk, but worth it. There's a good supermarket there, as well as local butchers and fishmongers, and best of all, two enticing cake shops. The Cretans are excellent bakers - who knew?!
Iraklion itself is a very vibrant city with a pleasant atmosphere. It's easy to get to from the hotel, and it's worth doing several trips there to fully sample what it has to offer.
I shall definately be going back to Crete and the Imperial at some point. Wild horses wouldn't keep me away.

Room Tip: The best room is 1 bedroom self contained apt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SammieBees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

A wonderful place, the owners georgio and zac are great hosts, the food which is fresh from either their farm or the garden is the best you will taste. The studios are beautifully simple, clean and comfortable. Walking distance to amoudara and some nice tavernas.The pool area is fringed with palms and is for residents only, as their are only 12 rooms it is never too busy. Book in advance as in hish season they get a lot of repeat business. Our first visit but not our last and we don't usually repeat anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lindamcScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

This place really grew on me. We had taken a value holiday so we weren't expecting 5 star. The brothers greeted us with a beer and a handshake, and were thouroughly charming and generous throughout the week. The place was clean and well run. The rooms were small and basic, but comfortable enough. Couple of beds, a sink, fridge, kettle and hotplate, small balcony and a bathroom with a shower that you needed to hold yourself. Plenty of hot water. We got used to it, and it was cleaned every day except the weekend. Air con worked fine once it got going - 6 euros per day.

The resort however was disappointing. Nothing pretty about it at all. Every restaurant had the same menu of grilled meat or fish, pasta, pizza, salads blah blah, none of them all that good. Even the photographs of the food were the same in each menu. We found one place called Creta House (Zorba's) quite a walk through the resort towards the bigger hotels that actually had a decent menu and a lovely private feel to it. Don't be fooled by the very busy restaurant with the windmill outside - it wasn't very good despite seeming very popular with the locals. Zac at the hotel made us 'magic' chicken and chips which was nicer than any of the stuff we ate in the resaurants. Unfortunately we were pretty much the only guests there so we didn't get to sample the wood oven lamb or chicken and roast potatoes that is much talked about. I imagine it was very good indeed.

The beach was ok - if you buy drinks at some of the smaller bars beyond the lido place you can use the beds for free. Competing pounding music from the bars was irritating, much nicer by the pool at the hotel. It was very windy while we were there and the sea was too rough for me to get in, but the breeze kept me cool.

Weather was glorious - ave 30 degrees every day.

We hired a car and had a couple of days out to Ag Nik, Elounda and Bali. Bali was very pretty, and I wished the Imperial Studios had been there instead! Ag Nik was lovely but expensive (10 euro for 2 milkshakes).

So generally, good basic hotel, made better by the hosts. Wouldn't recommend the resort.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank member0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

The Hotel Imperial or Imperial Studios in Amoudara, Crete is run by 2 brothers, Zac & Georgio. Zac & Georgio are amazing! They make a point of greeting everyone by name and come across as genuinely caring about their guests. The emphasis is relax and enjoy. This is an ideal place for couples and families but not suitable for youngsters wanting a clubbing and pulling holiday!
Situated on the road between Amoudara and Gazi away from the main Amoudara strip the hotel offers self catering accommodation with pretty gardens to the rear, swimming pool with attached kiddies pool and a pool side bar offering snacks and light meals. There is also a pool table.
The accommodation is basic but clean and comfortable. There are ten studio apartments sleeping 2-3 people. Each apartment has ensuite shower facilities; a small kitchenette; double or twin beds (double plus single for 3 occupancy), dressing table, triple wardrobe with built in drawers , TV and small balcony with washing line table and chairs.
The kitchenette is little more than a sink plus small work surface supporting a kettle and single hot plate; a refrigerator with ice box and three cupboards equipped with saucepan , frying pan, cutlery and dining ware but we found this more than adequate for breakfast and preparing light lunches. We chose to eat out in the evenings but could have managed to eat in had we chosen to.
The shower in the ensuite is the sort where you stand in the tray and rinse yourself with the shower head lifting it from a telephone style cradle but this was large enough to move about comfortably and there was always hot water and good water pressure.
From our room it was possible to watch the sun go down behind the mountains and look out over the farmlands.
The rooms are cleaned on a daily basis by Maria, Zac & Georgio’s Mum, a 75 year old marvel!!!
The hotel also has a one bed roomed apartment which sleeps up to 6 people and has a larger kitchen and bathroom.
The hotel has two bars one in the front which is only used in the cooler weather and another by the pool. From 9am in the morning you will always find either Zac or Georgio behind the bar. Zac used to work as a chef in a 5 star hotel and Georgio ran the bar so both know their stuff. As well as traditional Greek favourites the menu also offers kids favourites like chicken nuggets and chips, pizza, omelette and various English breakfast options. Zac will also occasionally cook for guests in the clay oven situated to the right hand side of the garden. The meals we had there were the best I’ve ever tasted and by far superior to any we had in the restaurants along the main Amoudara strip.
The swimming pool is of a decent size with a smaller circular kiddies pool to one side of it. It is supplied with plenty of inflatable to allow for hours of fun and games ( we had our own lilo Olympics). It is surrounded by sun loungers and parasols set amongst lovely gardens featuring palm trees and lots of flowers. Unusually for Greece the swimming pool is for residents use only and the hotel has security cameras fitted to stop unwanted intruders.
From the hotel it is an easy 10 minute walk to the beach, which is the longest beach on Crete and therefore never seems crowed. There is a lido right beside the beach which is free to use if you have paid for loungers on the beach (5 euros a day) and they will also provide you with free bottled water. The sea is fairly shallow and safe to bathe and it is supervised at regular intervals by very vigilant lifeguards. The main strip is a 5 minute walk and offers a good choice of restaurants, bars, car hire places and the usual gift shops. There is also a cinema and 3 cash machines.
This hotel is a truly lovely place to stay and many people return year after year. We have a policy of never going to the same place twice but we will be going back.

  • Liked — Gardens and pool
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
7.6 mi away
Prince Of Lillies
Prince Of Lillies
#30 of 58 in Heraklion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
2.8 mi away
Golden Bay Hotel
Golden Bay Hotel
#24 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Akti Corali
Hotel Akti Corali
#5 of 32 in Amoudara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Agapi Beach Hotel
Agapi Beach Hotel
#6 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
18.1 mi away
Minas Apartments
Minas Apartments
#52 of 171 in Hersonissos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Imperial Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Studios

Property: Imperial Studios
Address: | Amoudara-Gazi, Heraklion, Crete, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Number of rooms: 113
Also Known As:
Imperial Studios Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing