We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the star under the stars!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thalori Traditional Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thalori Traditional Village
Certificate of Excellence
Heraklion, Greece
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“the star under the stars!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

the star under the stars!!!!!!!!! this the Thalori
We were looking for something different and this is on Crete's highest mountain... its almost at the top....and its an amazing and slightly challenging drive to get to it. The views are huge and stunning, The road to it is like something from a Bond movie... winding, climbing all the way, thru a little village... really a great experince getting there....The villas are all new and well appointed. The only sound you get are the mountain goats walking on the mountain.
The Marcos and Popi made us dinner and breakfast and served us like royalty in the dining room (which also has great views) The pool is beautiful, the grounds well maintained and rustic... a very charming place and a real secret... i would highly recommend this accomodation

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KONSTANTINOS_CRETE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    24
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
57
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

I have just returned from a 15 day stay here. I found the hospitality of everyone in the place to be exceptional. Perhaps if a previous reviewer had spent a little time to find out people's names and attempted a little Greek she would have had a different experience. The two waiters are called Yannis and Costas and often played numerous instruments along with the owner Markos.Both of these waiters were extremely good and kind with me and we had many laughs together. The father of Markos is named Michalis. The wife of Markos is named Poppi, and she spends the week days in Heraklion because her young children are at school there. She is a wonderful lady and speaks very good English. The place is in Crete so don't expect everyone to speak English or French. The properties are of a very high standard with enough equipment to make light meals, not fully self catering for major cooking. They have a very reasonable restaurant for this. The restaurant is also a gathering centre in the evening for all guests to chat and mix, if so inclined. Many nights (and days) the Mandolin can be heard as one or more of the staff play and sing. A true Cretan experience. The food there is all purchased locally, also the wine and Raki.
On one occasion the cook even went to her own garden to get me some fresh green beans.
The food is amazing, with the rack of lamb cooked at an open fire. The views down to the Libyan sea through the gorge are spectacular. I am in agreement with an earlier reviewer who didn't really want to review the place, but keep it secret. However I felt compelled to write something after the last review. There is no need to eat lamb every day, there is a large menu and many foods not on the menu. I was asked every day if there was anything I particularly wanted the following day, the chef always obliged. I am an experienced world traveller and this place is definately something different, just make an effort to join in and you will have an amazing time.
The peace and tranquillity during the day, the fun at night makes this a special place.
I will definately be back. Markos and Poppi, and all the staff, I can't thank you all enough for an amazing holiday, your kindness and generosity will never be forgotten. Next time can I have some early nights please.

Room Tip: All are good, only some have a better view than others, you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pethal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

We went to stay in September. The weather was great, not too hot. The wind blew strongly at times, keeping the temperature down. The new swimming pool added a beautiful touch. The water temperature was closer to 10° than to 20°. It seems a great spot to go walking from.
There are three people who speak English. An elderly gentleman who was welcoming. He is perhaps the father of the owner (whose name I know from reading Lorenzo's review) who was proud to show his estate, but not too interested in whether we were enjoying ourselves. There was TweedleDee and TweedleDun who showed us the list for breakfast or lunch or dinner and hardly smiled. One of them played the guitar wonderfully in the afternoon for himself. The person with the charm is the owner's wife, but unfortunately we didn't see enough of her and she doesn't seem to be able to teach the others how to smile or greet people. We had lamb four times in five days, and we left after five days for warmer hospitality and better food elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace away from the wind. It really blows hard sometimes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rethymnon, Greece
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Excellent location with unique view to Kofinas mountain.. the sacred mount top.. well organised excursions by the hotel to various points of interest either on foot or by jeep. Good and healthy food consisting of local products, warm and hospitable service.

Room Tip: Accommodation in restored stone houses, all nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cernusco sul Naviglio, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

During my recent visit to Crete and staying at Residence Mourtzanakis, one evening a friend of my host Makos Skordalakis dropped by for dinner. A charming individual in his mid thirties and a real Cretan, could have been a character from one of stories of the famous Cretan writer Kazanzakis. Markos tall with long flowing black hair and a matching well trimmed beard is a true idealist and his penetrating dark brown eyes sizes you up as he speaks enthusiastically about his island and the touristic complex he owns in the south of the island. It did not take me long to accept his kind invitation and to get to know the different and truly unspoiled Crete.
The next afternoon Markos came to pick me up and in his 4x4 jeep and we departed for Kapetaniana some 65 kilometers south of the island. The drive was extremely varied and after leaving the urban area of Heraklion we were soon passing through the green and fertile plains of Mesara. It was now late afternoon and the twisty windy road began to climb, in fact we were going to pass the mountains of Kofina 900 metres. Markos suggested that we stopped for a glass of raki at the village of Paranifi (Brides’maid). Here he was known to the whole community and we sat down in a very typical small Cretan café unchanged in over 60 years. Here there were about 8/10 old men average age over 75 with impressive grey moustaches dressed in traditional Cretan dress complete with boots and carved walking sticks, a scene truly belonging to the early twentieth century. After a few rakis (local distilled ouzo) we were on our way to our destination Thalori in Kapitaniana.
Markos’s complex consists of a collection of approximately 30 beautiful stone built houses within a natural wall built into the rock. Each guest house has on the ground floor a spacious sitting room and bathroom all simply but very artistically decorated, reminding one somewhat of a chalet in the Swiss alps, and above in the loft is the bedroom charming old metal beds with very comfortable mattresses, the bed counterpanes are hand- made, with traditional old Cretan designs and wonderful soft but bright colors. From your guest house for both dinner and breakfast you proceed to the main restaurant, which below has a large terrace with
tables overlooking the cliffs below leading down to the sea by narrow pathways. Ideal for trekkers as it is about a 7 kilometer walk down to Aghios Ioannis, a small monastery (uninhabited) carved into the rocks overhanging the sea. In this location there are two restaurants suitable for light lunches, since dinner at Thalori is an important event, consisting of many appetizers fresh vegetables and salads all homegrown, most of the main dishes are meat orientated and not to be missed is the most exquisite baby lamb cooked on the log fire with plenty of local wine or Raki to accompany your meal. There are also fish dishes freshly delivered by the local fishermen. Guests enjoy a truly royal breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice from the garden trees bread just out of the oven from the bakery, home- made butter, jams, and honey and a great selection of blended herbal mountain teas. Indeed in Thalori you live outside reality and be sure that it takes a little time to get re accustomed to the hustle and bustle of Heraklion in preparation for your return journey home. A truly unique experience NOT to be missed. Certainly Thalori could be considered as one of the 50 places in the world to visit during ones’ life.
Lorenzo Argenti Guest at Thalori June 2012.
Former journalist and owner of Villa Argentikon Chios.
One of the hundred best accommodations in the world selected by Harpers & Queen , London 1992

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lorenzo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Visiting Crete we decided to see beautiful place Thalori in Kapetaniana. Time did not allow us to make a trip, it was raining but the atmosphere was excellent. If you want to stop the breath out of sight, if you want homemade Cretan cuisine then this is the right place for you. Do not expect high quality service and expert knowledge of English but be sure you'll enjoy the atmosphere and the view with very good food. We will come back :)

Room Tip: Not beside a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7elpida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

We spent four nights with my family in a place that I never thought that existed. Newly renovated old stone houses in the small village of Kapetaniana at South Iraklio Crete, surrounded by the untouched Asterousia mountains. The food was probably the best Cretan cuisine that you can have. Salt from the rocks of the seaside, milk, cheese and meat from the nearby goat farms,local specialties like pies and deserts, everything prepared just for you. The owners Markos and his wife Popi became for us, with in four days, more friends than hosts. If you have an offroad vehicle you can explore the extensive network of mountain roads in a virgin, bare and holly Kofinas mountain. If you visit this place during summer you can explore the clean secret small beaches of the area, away from the mass tourism big Hotels of the North Crete. Markos is organizing offroad excursions in the nearby area that you can have also mountain bike, canyoning, climbing, wild life observation etc.
You will not find bars, casinos and nightclubs in the area, instead, live music nights by Markos and his friends paying the Cretan mandolin and lyra for fun. After several Cretan raki (local spirit) glasses , in your way to your house you will amazed by the clear view of the bright stars in the night sky.
I was in a boult to reveal or not this hidden diamond but i could not resist.....

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Giliad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
26.8 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
26.8 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
35.4 mi away
Kapsaliana Village Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.1 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#2 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
26.7 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
42.8 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 167 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thalori Traditional Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thalori Traditional Village

Property: Thalori Traditional Village
Address: | Kapetaniana, Kofinas, Heraklion, Crete 70016, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thalori Traditional Village 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Thalori Traditional Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thalori Traditional Village Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing