We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

The Palace of Knossos
Book In Advance
More Info
US$132.63*
and up
Private Tour to Knossos and Archaeological Museum or Shopping from Heraklion
Ranked #4 of 71 things to do in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These labyrinthine ruins are said to have been home to the monstrous Minotaur, a half-man half-bull creature that devoured young virgins.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a guided tour of this archaelogical site. Excellent guide - Maria, who explained the myths surrounding the Palace and the Minoan civilisation. It was very hot and got very crowded. There is little shade so bring lots of water, slap on the suncream and wear a hat. We also went for a tour of the Archaelogical Museum further away in town, where displays show the earlier finds at the Palace of Knossos. Tickets cost 6 Euros for the Palace and the same for the Museum but you can get a combined ticket for both for 10 Euros

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Taras T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,764 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,094
    2,535
    1,518
    455
    162
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Interesting visit although very hot going around the ruins we had a great tour guide which brought the historic site to life and I think without one it would be difficult to soak up the history and atmosphere we also visited the Museum which I think supplements the visit my only other observation was that this Palace would have been very advanced for the time it was built but I am not an expert to comment on the detail!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank jollyjohnwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Overrated and crowded”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We wanted to love Knossos. We really did. But we got there at 10am and it was already overrun with tour groups. It is very poorly signed and even the usually handy guidebook did help much. Much of the site is reconstructions, not originals. The guy who excavated the site (Evans) had a vivid imagination. Bring lots of water and wear a hat.

Helpful?
1 Thank davidbViennaVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A modern civilization over 5000 years old”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

If ever in Crete, this is not to be missed. It takes a bit of imagination and time to walk around this archaeological site, but there is no where on Earth like this. Follow up with a visit to the museum that is located in downtown, and it puts it all together. Well worth your time. Wear a hat, sunscreen and go early--it gets hot!

Helpful?
1 Thank Nancyhz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very hot but worth the discomfort to see such a fab place”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our guide, Maria was excellent...It made it worthwhile standing in sweltering heat of midday just to hear her talk about the history of this awesome place! Knossos is a must see if you are visiting the beautiful island of Crete....I have never seen anything like it and I love archeological sites...It was brilliant also to go to the Heraklion Archeological Museum afterwrds to see some of the finds from Knossos....Once again Maria proved to be a mine of information and I could have listened to her all day!!! Thank you for your brilliant and enlightened commentary, Maria! :D

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ami95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Palace of Knossos also viewed

Elafonissi, Chania Prefecture
Heraklion, Heraklion Prefecture
 
Elounda, Lasithi Prefecture
Kissamos, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to The Palace of Knossos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing