We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lato Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Park Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect choice”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We were traveling through Greece with another couple and loved everything about our stay at the Lato Hotel. The location was a perfect distance for us coming from the bus terminal and then for walking to downtown. Staff was very gracious and helpful. When we mentioned that we would be checking out at 6:00 am (before the 7:00 breakfast buffet began) they said no problem and had a table ready just for us with platters of food and hot coffee. The restaurant for dinner served some of our favorite food (this was the end of a two week trip) and the staff there were incredibly accommodating. Stayed in a Jr. Suite with sea view which was perfect.

Room Tip: The jr. suite with sea view was very spacious with a fabulous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    559
    157
    32
    10
See reviews for
273
899
90
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Wow, where do I begin?This is the perfect hotel, the kind you wish you had at all your travel destinations. It has a superb location close to downtown without the noise, only 3 minutes walk from the bus-stop (connection to Knossos) and an easy 10 min walk to the ferry terminal with suitcase in-tow and a 10-15 min drive (10 Euro) to the airport. Considering the proximity to a large road, the set-back is such that disturbing noise was not an issue. The staff were exceedingly friendly, cheerful, and very helpful in all regards - whether this concerned local information on sights and transportation or just making our stay as enjoyable as possible. You can tell that every staff member is proud of their hotel. We stayed in 2 different rooms at the start and end of our Crete visit and we were very sorry to leave both times.
The breakfast buffet is fantastic with a huge range, offering up a delicious mix of typical and traditional dishes.
The hotel is spotlessly clean, well-maintained and staffed. Beds are exceedingly comfortable as was everything else in our room.
There is nothing we could find fault with in this well-run hotel and we are pleased to recommend it to all.

Room Tip: Both of our rooms faced the ocean. One towards the side of the harbor and fortress (NE), the other t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albatross199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Rosière 1850
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed just 2 nights at the end of a trip to Crete. The staff here are lovely, really helpful and very friendly.
Bed was comfy. We booked a room with sea view, and it was great. Could watch the ferries, the planes and look over the fabulous marina.
Breakfast was great, with lots of choice, although coffee not the best.
Throughly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matsuzaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our group was very late arriving after our ferry was delayed three hours but the staff treated us graciously, providing our dinner as planned. This is a very professional staff. The breakfast and dinner are excellent, and the location perfect for walking to the port, downtown, and the museum.
The beds are comfortable and clean. This is a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escarpmentlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in this centrally located, clean and modern hotel. It is no great luxury and has no pool but the rooms are nice, the staff friendly and helpful and breakfast is good. The restaurant on the roof top is excellent, medium prices for high quality and great service. It is a bit noisy as you can hear the neighbors flushing the toilet ( whilst you do not hear them ) and as the airport is very close but in the rooms you do not notice this. Parking is difficult but for only 3 Eur a day the staff offers a great vallet parking service which is fast and friendly. Great for a stroll to the centre, restaurants, seaside and Venetian harbour. Walking distance to the port.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susanninternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our group was booked into the Lato Boutique Hotel in Heraklion for the Crete portion of our tour. The room was excellent, bathroom clean and modern. The breakfast choices were superb and the food in the restaurants was also very good. I would stay there again!
My only problems were a technical ones: 1) the door key card has to be in the slot for any electricity in the room, which was fine except when I was trying to recharge a battery while I was away for the day. Even the wall sockets were switched off when I left the room. I did mention this to Reception, who gave me a card that I could leave in the slot -- problem solved, yes? Well, no. Because the room cleaner removed it upon leaving the room. So, I got some power until the cleaner came and left. I was able to function around this, so I did not mention it to Reception. However, thought it was worth mentioning to other travellers who might want to recharge something while they were away. 2) I found it difficult to manage the room heating/air conditioning system. Not ease to just figure out without instructions (I did not check to see if there were any around). I managed to work out a system that was okay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poohnpiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Had a junior suite at this hotel and found it modern and very comfortable. Highlight was a superb meal in the restaurant overlooking the harbour. The valet parking was an enormous help in the narrow streets!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.1 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
37.4 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#13 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lato Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lato Boutique Hotel

Property: Lato Boutique Hotel
Address: Epimenidou 15, Heraklion, Crete 712 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lato Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dramatic views of the Venetian fortress at the old city harbor of Heraklion, and the wonder-filled waves of the Cretan Sea, are among the most photographed tourist attractions on Crete island. Not many visitors can enjoy the full panoramic grandeur of these contemplative landscapes, the way our guests at Lato Boutique Hotel can.Standing for more than 35 years above the marina, our hotel operates 365 days a year without interruptions. Famous for authentic Cretan hospitality, Lato Boutique Hotel is the most welcoming establishment in this part of the city, a magnet for romantic couples, but also for families, and business travelers.Being at the center of the old Heraklion town, the peaceful and colorful central market is only a few steps away. The museums, the Venetian harbor with the fishing boats and the yacht marina, the parks, the gardens, the city cafes and all ancient Heraklion lays at the foot of our front doorstep, your front doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lato Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lato Boutique Heraklion
Hotel Lato Boutique
Lato Boutique Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing