We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service. Clean rooms. Great breakfast included”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lato Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Outstanding service. Clean rooms. Great breakfast included”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

If you are coming into Heraklion by ferry late in the evening this place cannot be beat. You can walk there in approx 5 minutes and be treated by a friendly informative staff. The rooms are clean and quiet and the breakfast was included in our package and delicious. If you get in late the restaurant on the roof is open until midnight. The following day we were leaving by car but many others were stranded as the ferry service was amiss due to high winds. The desk staff were exceedingly helpful in providing suggestions and service. Kudos to Niki and Maria.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slabotsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    590
    163
    35
    10
See reviews for
293
948
91
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver City, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

First the Good: Lato has an excellent location. It is easy to get to the bus to Knossos, the Venetian Fort, the Ferry, the Central Areas, and the airport. It is very stylish, and the breakfast is awesome! TONS of variety from all countries. The staff was very helpful and accommodating and let us check out an hour late to accommodate our flight.

The Bad: because of its awesome location, it's right under the flight path. It is loud. Also, we booked a room with a view of the sea. It wasn't much of a view and mostly the red roof of the building next door (we were on the first floor). The balcony light would not turn off at all and when I called to ask about it, the staff said to just close the curtains. They were NOT black out curtains, so there was a glow all night, and when the sun came up, it was bright in the room. The sea view rooms defiantly need black out curtains. I was up at 6 am every morning when I could have slept until 9.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaelann N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We arrived in Heraklion by ferry from Santorini at 6:30 PM, and thought it best to stay overnight before we continued on to Rethymno the next day. The location of this hotel is very good... a short walk to the center of the old town for dinner at one of the many tavernas. It is also very close to the newly reopened Archeological Museum which is a must see for Minoan Art.
We had booked a superior room, and I have to say, I was a little disappointed. It did not look like the photos on their website, and was in need of a facelift. Maybe there are other rooms that have been renovated? The room was also very small.. I can't imagine what the standard room looked like! There was barely enough room to place our luggage (on the floor, barely any closet space) and to walk around the room without bumbling into each other or the furniture.
Even so, it was good for one night's stay. The location is great, the price is good, and our breakfast was included. (we booked through Expedia).
In the AM we picked up our rental car, and visited Knossos before making our way west.
All in all, I would stay here again if I arrived late to Heraklion.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seekinsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

A boutique hotel overlooking the fortress and harbour and a stone's throw to the port - very conveniently located for island hoppers. Room #403 is a Jnr suite, with stunning views from every window. It has a queen sized bed, lounge area separate to the bedroom, which you can close off for a modicum of privacy, and it has two seperate balconies that open up from each of the areas. Staff are very friendly, attentive and helpful, breakfast is standard hotel fare, valet parking (you'll need it with the tight squeezed parking on offer for free) and there's a tiny old gym for those not pounding enough pavement. Or alternatively get a run in along the fortress wall overlooking the harbour. Laundromat is located across the road, get a bag washed for 8 Euros.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jedora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our stay at this beautiful hotel started off with a very friendly welcome by the hotel manager. We had a late arrival, and she took the liberty to already make us a reservation in the lovely hotel-restaurant on the rooftop. It had a great view and delicious food! Especially after our long trip, this was a very thoughtful thing to do. The room was beautiful, and had a charming view overlooking the harbour. Every day the room was cleaned, exceeding our expectations. Our stay was including breakfast and that was also really perfect: Lato serves a wide range of breakfast, both Greek and Continental style. The hotel is really well located in the middle of the city centre, which makes it able to see a lot of Heraklion. The staff was extremely friendly and had some great advice on where to spend our days. They recommended local beaches and things to do, very nice! Overall, a really great experience in this beautiful, lovely and charming boutique hotel. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauraandanouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very well located and the friendliest staff you can expect!
The hotel rooms are spotless with towels and bed linen being changed regularly.
You can walk easily to almost everywhere down town Heraklion!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great location. Everything looks and feels brand new and very nicely decorated.
the room was very comfortable and so was the bed.
Breakfast was very good, and the stuff was friendly and very helpful.
This will most certainly be my choice next time I am in Heraklion.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Rone K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,704 reviews
0.1 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
868 reviews
0.1 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
173 reviews
37.4 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lato Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lato Boutique Hotel

Property: Lato Boutique Hotel
Address: Epimenidou 15, Heraklion, Crete 712 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Business Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lato Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dramatic views of the Venetian fortress at the old city harbor of Heraklion, and the wonder-filled waves of the Cretan Sea, are among the most photographed tourist attractions on Crete island. Not many visitors can enjoy the full panoramic grandeur of these contemplative landscapes, the way our guests at Lato Boutique Hotel can.Standing for more than 35 years above the marina, our hotel operates 365 days a year without interruptions. Famous for authentic Cretan hospitality, Lato Boutique Hotel is the most welcoming establishment in this part of the city, a magnet for romantic couples, but also for families, and business travelers.Being at the center of the old Heraklion town, the peaceful and colorful central market is only a few steps away. The museums, the Venetian harbor with the fishing boats and the yacht marina, the parks, the gardens, the city cafes and all ancient Heraklion lays at the foot of our front doorstep, your front doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lato Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lato Boutique Heraklion
Hotel Lato Boutique
Lato Boutique Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing