We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two nights in Heraklion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lato Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Two nights in Heraklion”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed at the Lato en route to Chania, so that we could visit the Site at Knossos - something not to be missed by any visitor to Crete. Our three-person room did indeed have a door to separate the sleeping areas, but unfortunately it also isolated the third person from the air conditioner. On a hot summer night that was clearly untenable, so the door remained open. Interestingly, although the room was advertized as having a queen bed, and the nightstands were far enough apart for a queen, the bed was only a double. Finally, the wifi in the room refused to recognize my laptop - which has connected flawlessly in numerous other sites - although it did connect in the lobby. Staff tried, but were unable, to rectify this. All in all I'd probably choose another hotel for my next stay in Heraklion.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    923
    570
    161
    32
    10
See reviews for
277
918
91
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karrinyup, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great Location, great room and views of the old port, friendly and helpful staff and all at a great price. It is difficult to find hotels that accommodate families and have separate bedrooms for the children. We wished we could stay for longer as it was the best hotel we stayed in during our 2 month trip through Europe. Heraklion was much more fun than expected as well. Couldn't fault this hotel.

Room Tip: We had the executive suite and it was huge with great corner balcony overlooking the old port. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at the Lato the night before our cruise as it is ideally situated near the port. The hotel was very nice and we had a family room in the annexe which was great as we had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Breakfast in the hotel was good with lots to choose from. Staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Our only gripe was the view from our bedroom !! squalor and nesting pigeons!! as in photo. As we arrived late at night and left in the morning we weren't that concerned about the view!!However a sea view should be requested if you are staying for a few days

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Despite my often trips to Heraklion it was the fisrt time that I spend a night to the Lato Hotel. My total impression was excellent, and I could say that it offers services of a five stars hotel. I spend the night at a ground floor room of the annex (oposite of the main building). Huge and excellent facilities.

Room Tip: Huge ground floor room of the annex (oposite of the main building) and excellent facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christsa2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We didn't intend to stay at Heraklion, but were glad we did and that we chose Lato. As the Santorini ferry is notoriously late - our close to 1 hour delay was considered an "early" arrival - it was a good thing that Lato was really a short hop away from the ferry terminal - we rented a car and had no map, but got there easily based on vague directions: a right, a left at the fountain and you're there (you can see a huge LATO sign on the building). With the speedy curb-side valet parking, seamless check-in (despite misplaced voucher) and the car valet bringing up our bags, we were watching the sun set over Heraklion port before most others on our ferry would have found their hotel. Dinner at the rooftop garden was all we needed after a tiring day - the cooking was inventive and fresh, and the drinks were great. Breakfast was also a great spread: a variety of breads, pies, cheeses, meats, yogurts, etc. The highlight was that guests could use that amazing orange juicer machine - fling in whole oranges and they get sliced and squeezed into deliciously fresh and thick juice. The rooms (we got the old building) were nothing to shout about decor-wise, but were clean and well maintained. The view to the old Venetian harbour from our balcony was heart-stoppingly beautiful, and also afforded great sunset/sunrise pics. The staff were friendly, and one of the breakfast cleaning ladies came running after me with my left-behind phone. Would definitely stay here again if in the city!

Room Tip: Ask for view of Venetian harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lapetitevoleuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

As other people have said there are two buildings, I stayed in the older one. The room was reasonable in size, spotlessly clean, with views to the port of Heraklion. WiFi was available for free and the speed was great.

The top feature of the hotel is the roof garden. The food was devine, the views to the sea great.

Location wise it is no more than 10 minutes on foot from all the central places in Heraklion.

Overall it is a great choice.

Room Tip: The roof garden views are unmissable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teo_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
129 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

To be clear from the beginning--there are two buildings to the hotel. The reception is in the older building and then a newer building is across the street. We were in the older building which was average in terms of the rooms but the staff and rooftop restaurant were incredible. i would recommend booking through the hotel. We did booking.com which is probably why we got the older building. Book with the hotel so you have more control over your room. Our room was a bit tired.

Location is good--we were coming off a ferry and taxi took 5 minutes. you could walk but with luggage and a toddler too difficult. You can also rent a car through the hotel which was great and was delivered right to the hotel door.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tulsau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.8 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,653 reviews
0.1 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
786 reviews
0.1 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
135 reviews
37.4 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#13 of 58 in Heraklion
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lato Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lato Boutique Hotel

Property: Lato Boutique Hotel
Address: Epimenidou 15, Heraklion, Crete 712 02, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lato Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The dramatic views of the Venetian fortress at the old city harbor of Heraklion, and the wonder-filled waves of the Cretan Sea, are among the most photographed tourist attractions on Crete island. Not many visitors can enjoy the full panoramic grandeur of these contemplative landscapes, the way our guests at Lato Boutique Hotel can.Standing for more than 35 years above the marina, our hotel operates 365 days a year without interruptions. Famous for authentic Cretan hospitality, Lato Boutique Hotel is the most welcoming establishment in this part of the city, a magnet for romantic couples, but also for families, and business travelers.Being at the center of the old Heraklion town, the peaceful and colorful central market is only a few steps away. The museums, the Venetian harbor with the fishing boats and the yacht marina, the parks, the gardens, the city cafes and all ancient Heraklion lays at the foot of our front doorstep, your front doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lato Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lato Boutique Heraklion
Hotel Lato Boutique
Lato Boutique Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing