We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old hotel in the centre”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Olympic

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Olympic
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Old hotel in the centre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The hotel is located close to the centre of the city and also close to the main road to the airport. Although the hotel is old and renovated, it is a decent solution for a short stay, especially if you are in the city for business. Rooms are small and some of them have no view at all. Still, they are clean and all the basic equipment is available as well as free wi-fi. The staff is friendly and eager to help you. Breakfast is quite simple with only the basics.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thada18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    50
    64
    22
    6
See reviews for
31
57
8
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night, whilst traveling for business. The room rate was low, but fare for what I got; that is a cold room without any personality, a crt tv, and 2 single beds with slightly scented sheets. Also a good wifi (free) and.... that's it. I didn't try breakfast...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YiannisV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

the hotel is perfectly located exactly in the centre of Heraklio, everything is walking distance. The best rooms are in the front side facing the square, all with balconies but too noisy because of the traffic; the others on the back side are terribles: very small with even a smaller balcony and noisy as well since they are face the Street as well; the inside ones are better, biggers but no balcony at all. The cleaning is minimum, we stay a week and they never change us the sheets, just the towels (every day) and never clean properly the floor. Considering the prices are a bit too expensive for what the rooms offer but I defenetly recommend the hotel if you want to be good located.

Room Tip: rooms that face the square in the highest floors to not be disturb by the traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Αθήνα, Ελλάδα
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Location is perfect... at a walking distance you have everything you need... it is clean and the staff is ok... but for the rest everything is so basic... perhaps I had my worst breakfast I ever had in a hotel like this... the poorest and the worse quality in everything from the something that looked like cheese to something that looked like ham... I will absolutely never stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evdokimust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

The Olymipc hotel is very well situated near to the heart of Iraklion. It is a short walk to the main town square, archeological museum and the bus to Knossos. There are a lot of good value restaurants, cafes and and tavernas nearby and the main market street is nearby.

The room was large, cool and spotlessly clean and the air-conditioning ran quietly.. The staff were helpful and spoke excellent english.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: There is at least one room with a balcony. Ask for when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Travelling on my own, I stayed here one night on Saturday, 24th A ugust. The room was clean. Traffic noise disturbed my sleep, a little, ands the breakfast was indifferent, to say the least. However, I wonder if anyone else has concerns over missing items? About 10.15pm, I went out for a meal for about 2 hours. Unusually for me, I left a £20 note in the front of my hand luggage (my only luggage) and I think I left my watch. Then and breakfast time were the only times the case was left unattended until I reached my family's rented villa.
Thankfully, I had not left anything of real value in my room.
It wasn't until a week later when I returned to Heraklion that I realised the items were missing. I stayed at another hotel, but checked at reception to see if my watch had been handed in. I didn't pursue the issue because I had no-one with me to corroborate my story; however, a niggle of doubt remains and this is why I ask if anyone else had a similar experience.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank gooseberry46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
210 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

It was an one day business visit to Heraklion so I had to stay in a centrally located hotel.
An advantage is the taxi rank 24/7 and the shopping area which are next door. I only paid E 65 ( I booked it the day before) which is quite reasonable if you consider the time of the year 31/8 to 1/9. The room (304) is rather small, but the breakfast is rather big and the reception service is quite helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and keep the window closed in high season to ensure quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank polygnosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
25.7 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 14 in Panormos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
68.5 mi away
Hotel Eleftheria
Hotel Eleftheria
#11 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
33.5 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#20 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 mi away
Mythos Suites Hotel
Mythos Suites Hotel
#17 of 167 in Rethymnon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
34.0 mi away
Akti Olous Hotel
Akti Olous Hotel
#10 of 37 in Elounda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
29.5 mi away
Oasis Hotel
Oasis Hotel
#5 of 8 in Skaleta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olympic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olympic

Property: Hotel Olympic
Address: Plateia Kornarou 43, Heraklion, Crete 71201, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Olympic 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Bookgreece.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Olympic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Hotel Heraklion
Hotel Olympic Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing