We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique and Affordable. Great Location for travellers with private transportation.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village
Ranked #1 of 6 Heraklion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Unique and Affordable. Great Location for travellers with private transportation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed here in July 2012. The price was great and the reviews and pictures were mostly favorable, so we decided to take a chance on the location. We rented a car upon arrival to Heraklion. It is a 10 -15 minute drive from the airport to Arolithos. The road leading to the hotel is narrow and winding and a bit treacherous. (We soon found that most of the roads outside of the main cities on Crete are the same. DRIVERS BEWARE!)
The hotel itself seems to be a bit of an afterthought. The "village" seems to be primarily used for local celebrations and parties. It is also home to a few artists and can be a tourist stop for those who want to see what a traditional Cretan village may have looked like.
The rooms are clean but very plain (which I understand IS traditional) and are lacking 'a woman's touch'. There were some issues with our shower and the bathroom fixtures were turning green from natural oxidation. I would suggest a shower curtain, newer bathroom fixtures, larger and thicker towels, extra pillows, and nicer bedding to make this place perfect. The pool was amazing.
The restaurant was good, but a bit pricey. THEY HAVE TERRIBLE COFFEE with breakfast and very expensive BAD coffee for a $$ fee. The breakfast was standard for Europe and Greece. However, sitting for a meal on the patio overlooking the pool in the evening is enchanting and very relaxing.
The music from the Greek parties did not bother me. I found the music delightful and thought it added added to the ambiance.
This is a great place for people looking for a quiet retreat from the touristy experience in the beach towns and cities of Crete.
Take note:
There are goats, sheep and livng things all around the area. This place is truly in the country!
Do not attempt this location without your own transportation.
Do not attempt this location if you have difficulty walking up and down stairs, or up hill.
There is wifi only in and around the Taverna.

Room Tip: Ask to be lower in the village, away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelingfamily2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear guest.
Arolithos is really an unusual place if somebody combares it with the classical hotels or tourist resorts. Our services is a combination of hosting, organising events and conserving the traditional elements of the beautifull island of Crete. We are very proud for that because local people choose Arolithos as one of the better venues for events and celebrations.
We really feel very sorry that some of the servvices did not covered your needs or standards. It is good to know that you could tell us immediatelly what the problem was and we would do more than our best to solve it.
We keep the rate in a standard level so the majority of people to afford them.
We thank you once more and we hope to see you again in the future.
All our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    66
    28
    9
    15
See reviews for
27
92
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

My partner and I have just spent the best 2 weeks holiday of our lives here! Everyone works exceptionally hard to make it a holiday to remember. There is nothing we could complain about. We came here stressed from a hectic life in the Uk and soon found ourselves relaxing amongst the beautful scenery and peaceful surroundings. Yes, there were private celebrations taking place at the weekends but the manager of the hotel was considerate enough to put us far away from the venue that we weren't bothered by noise. One event was a wedding reception for a thousand people. We were amazed at the organisation and preparation that went into it but it was truly stunning.
Everything here is "Traditional", the rooms, the taverna and the food. All of it a wonderful experience. The pool is something else! Fantastic!
We are both well travelled people and rarely go back to holiday destinations but you can bet your bottom dollar Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village will be seeing us again......soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank queenie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear quests,
We thank you very much for coming in Crete and staying in Arolithos Village Hotel.
It was really very impressing that you made your reservation many months before your arrival and that you choosen only one hotel even if you had such a long stay.
This makes as feeling very good about what we do and how our people receive it.
We know that some of our services or infrostutre should be in a better level but we really work gradually on improving our standards.
We thank you very much for your review once again. I am more than sure that it will help future guests to decide about their choice.
We appreciate the fact that you offered your precious time to write about our services.
We will be glad to see you again in Arolithos whenever you decide. Crete is waiting for you. The whole island is really a wonderfull place to be!!!!!
All our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rogers, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The people are very helpful and friendly. If you are limited funds and cannot afford your own set of wheels this is not the place for you. It is far away from most of the stuff tourists want to see. The busses on crete are not regular and do not come to Arolithos often. The breakfast was not very good, flaccid cornflakes not quite fresh deli meat. The dinner was great though, and the taverna has a great view of the valley and olive groves. They have resident cats, dog and a parrot, so if you do not like animals milling about when you are eating, do not go here. (I liked that part actually.:)) The rooms are average clean, but are not soundproof. Most nights when they have traditional Cretan dancing you are not allowed to go down and watch. They are considered 'private parties', but you can't sleep until they are over either. All in all I would suggest not staying at this hotel, but I would recommend a daytrip/dinner. There are many interesting shops to browse too.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. If you have too, get one well away from the taverna/reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aariley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you very much for spending your time and writing on trip advisor.
Your honest review will help new guests to know in advance about our place.
It is also necessary when we judge something to take both positive and negative sites and display a more general picture. Arolithos as an idea is unique and of course as any organisation it has both advantages and disadvantages. Sometime the most simple things are not obvious when you work many hard and without any stop. Anyway nothing in this world is perfect.
Additionally it would be more than helpfull if you could talk to us directly and solve any problem caused on the spot. We are always willing to listen to our guests suggestions and make their stay comfortable.
I hope in another time we will reach the standards of your demands.
Our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We loved this place. We were two adult brother and sister and two adult nieces. We saved it for the end of an 18 trip that included Athens, Milos, and Istanbul. Boy were we sick of Greek food by then however Arolithos cheered our weary travel spirits. We had already enjoyed our family traditional home in Tripiti on Milos so were so pleased to find that Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village was just as authentic as the real deal. The sound of sheep grazing was a real kick....the little bells around their necks...the views were spectacular..a patchwork quilt of grapevine and olive orchards..that was really unexpected. At first we were disappointed that we were not by the sea, but immediately forgot as we looked out from our terrace at the view. The little shops opened even though it was Easter to our delight. We met the artists there and so enjoyed the musicians during out long late dinners. These were "H parea tou Yakinthou" and were delightful. The only true disappointment was the time of year. The pool was empty, some outdoor things were covered in ugly tarps and the place seemed rather deserted however, that was great for us as it was a peaceful retreat at the end of a long trip. We received helpful information for our visit to Knossos that saved us some trouble on our arrival there. I would go again but later in the spring or early summer in order to fully benefit from the great work Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village has done to pull together a wonderful local experience for the weary traveler. Oh...the beds...oddly, all the beds we slept in on our trip in all the hotels were hard, but we slept like babes somehow.

Room Tip: I tried to email about the bed accommodations but still ended up having to change to a family suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear guests,
We thank you very much for spending your time writting on tripadvisor. I am sure that many people will find intereting and helpful your point of view. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay even if one or two things were not at the standard of your demands.
It is true that many things are not yet in order since we gradually proceed to the summer season. There are some areas of Arolithos that are not yet in full operation. We will be very glad to host you again in future. Each period has a different character, has a different level of occupancy and of course available services. What I could suggest to you and any other potential guest or visitor, is to contact us and ask about what will be available during a future stay. In such a case you will know in advance waht you can do here and you what you cannot. Imagine that there are also workshops, traditional events,social events and many more things to do and participate in order to enrich your experience and have a wider image of cretan tradition. We will be at your disposal any time. We thank you once again for staying in Arolithos and we hope to see you again. Thanks again for reviewing !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

This little 'traditional' village in the mountains near Iraklion was a welcome breath of fresh air after the bustle of the city. The little apartment was very quiet and comfortable. The bathroom had quirky plumbing but was fine. We were almost the only guests in the taverna and though there was no choice of food we were given a decent meal with very friendly waitress. The village is set up as a tourist attraction and geared up for cruise ship visitors etc. with shops and traditionally dressed staff for atmosphere.

Out of season visitors will find the taverna with no choice of menu and few other customers. The breakfast was served in the 'coffee shop' and wasn't very good, though I'm sure the summer season guests would have a better choice in the taverna.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this review, 22 April 2012
Dear guests of Arolithos Village Hotel.
Many thanks for writting on TripAdvisor. You really help us very much to know your point of view. It is true that when there are just few guests in the hotel it is not easy to have a full menu or even big choice of dishes. The cost is high and the products cannot be fresh in a daily basis. The dishes of the menu are plenty and it would have no meaning to have everything available but not possibility to be consumed. So we prefer to offer just a couple of things but keeping them fresh and of good quality for the guests. The breakfast is offered in the coffee shop when the hotel has just a few rooms to serve. It is not the big buffet with the full breakfast but at least it has basic products. It is again a matter of cost.. Arolithos is a place of cultural interest regarding the Cretan Tradition. It is a sightseeing in the area of Heraklion. There is a folklore museum the houses and many other elements of Cretan culture. We are very proud to offer our work on the culture of the island. At the same time, young children from schools and even tourist they visit Arolithos because it is a sample of the villages in Crete. We really thank you very much for staying in Arolithos and we will also be very glad if you visit us again when you will return back to the beautiful island of Crete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Arolithos Village is the best place to start your trip on Crete! This village is highly recommended from me.I arrived very late December 14th 2011 at Heraklion airport. I had booked a rental car from Crete athenscars. They were very quick and in 5minutes i was in the vehicle driving towards my accommodation. It took 13minutes to arrive at Arolithos village. People were awake to welcome and invite me at the Tavern of the village where a wedding was taking place! i had a wonderful traditional dinner as well as red wine. everyone was talking to us and was trying to make us feel comfortable. We were two Americans among 800Greeks who were enjoying the wedding. This is an unforgetable Memory from this wonderful amazing place on earth-Crete-Arolithos village! Mary Linton, FL

Room Tip: rooms on the South East side are excellent with better view of sun rising!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this review, 14 January 2012
Dear guest.
We thank you very much for writing on tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you really enjoyed your time in Arolithos. The traditions and the customs of the island are really part of the life in Arolithos Tradtional Cretan Village. We hope to see you again in the future. All our best regards and Happy New Year !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weesp, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I have not had the pleasure to stay in the hotel-village near Heraklion, but with our International Community we had an excellent lunch in April in the Taverna. The staff was very friendly and the menu was almost full available in this low season. Cretan and Greek kitchen is the main list of the menu, but also a steak is in the card. Apperantly they also have Greek/Cretan dance evenings as I saw a stage with speakers erady. I also recommend it for passing through travellers, for example your last night on Crete before going to the ferry or airplane from Heraklion, since Arolithos traditional village is nearby.

Room Tip: the place looks very clean and the rooms in bungalow type. Not seen the inside but I presume spaciou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this review, 27 December 2011
We thank you very much for your review. We appreciate the fact that you offered your precious time to write about our services. We will be glad to see you again in Arolithos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
6.0 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 57 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 14 in Panormos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Olympic
Hotel Olympic
#23 of 57 in Heraklion
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
61.1 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
38.9 mi away
Selena Village
Selena Village
#20 of 36 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.4 mi away
MariRena Hotel
MariRena Hotel
#11 of 32 in Amoudara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village

Property: Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village
Address: 11th km off Old National Road, Heraklion, Crete 71500, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village is really a very special case. It is a hotel at the form of an old village of Crete. Constructed at the form of an old village it travels us back to the past times. The rooms are very standard but with the necessary services. There is a magnificent swimming pool with a breathtaking view over the city of Heraklion and the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village Hotel Heraklion
Arolithos Hotel Heraklion
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing