We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (258)
Filter reviews
258 results
Traveller rating
77
97
48
14
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
77
97
48
14
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe open air restauranttzatzikitraditional dancinglocal cheesestayed here for nightsweddingcretanbaptismtaxicreteknossosconcludingrakieuros
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 258 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2006

I agree with the review titled "Village and Hotel something special" with a few minor differences. There was a refrigerator in our room so perhaps they've added them since your visit. We had no maintenance issues. The breakfast was served in a room of ample space and was of excellent quality in both taste and variety. We arrived on a Saturday and left on a Monday. During our stay we witnessed 2 weddings and a birthday party; it was amazing. We had no idea what Arolithos was like before arriving and left vowing that we would return. If you're interested in getting a taste of traditional Cretan culture, this is the place to come to.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cboyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2011

Dear guest.
We thank you very much for spending your time and writting on tripavisor. Your review helps our future guests and also us to know the honest point of view of our guests.
Hope to see you again in the future. All our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2006

At first sight Arolithos is a cretan village, and actually it is! Above you have the reception near the "market place" with a small orthodox church/chapel. Then you have two "main" streets descending alongside the hill with small houses each completely different in shape and style. Everywhere plants and flowers giving the little extra to make it fantastic! The houses are in fact the rooms. Down there is a little local museum (hotel residents have a reduced price) Further there are some handicrafts boutique, a blacksmith and the restaurant with approx. A meter higher than the market place. The total aspect is really nice and cosy. A boutique hotel with real charm, close to the east-west highway of crete, not to far from several beaches and from Heraklion city and airport.
The restaurant is in the summer season outside and situated approx 1 m above the market place. The prices compared to other restaurants at Heraklion area are honnest, certainly not more expensive. The food is very good, service friendly and the bottles of housewine are reasonable in price and excellent!
During the weekend from Friday - Sunday there is a good chance that there is a wedding going on. All tables of the wedding are dessed on the market place, and it gives a fantastic ambiance! The more that from the restaurant level of the guests you overview the full party. It should mentionned that the restaurant service does not suffer at all as othe servers handling the parties. Also (the room where I was at least) did not at all suffer from noise.
During the week there were some folkore dancers . A group of tourists outside the hotel were having a spectacle/dinner. As restaurant guest you to take advantage of it and free of charge!
The rooms are large in size and they were clean. Room maintenance is ok.
There are no facilities as television and even no telephone. But this is not a major item, however due to the climate you are badly lacking a fridge!

The bathroom with actually a shower is rather small. The uses of natural stones for construction is nice, but with the water of the shower it tends to color somewhat, which gives a first impression that it could be cleaner, but actually it is clean.
The technical maintenance is another item, and here I have remarks. The attachement of the shower was broken (apparently since a long time), so you neeeded to hold yourself the shower. The stop of the wash basin was unexisting.
The room airco situated near the bed was a little noisy and "used" but working. The beds bottoms were with a "lattoflex" of loose wooden pieces, which sometime fell down. And on the nice little terrace where you can enjoy the sunset, the chairs mentionned on the website, were unexisting, so you needed each time to take out the inside chairs.
The hotel is not providing a swimming pool, but it is not the style of resort for this. Perhaps it would take some charm away.
Sports, you do in climbing up and down the streets to get to your room! Note that some elderly people have difficulties, certainly when you need to take yr luggage! (Note that people with walking difficulties are not really suitable for this kind of hotel)

CONCLUSIONS
The plus points:
-Arolithos is simply a nice and cosy charm hotel. I am not surprised that some days a tour car stops there to visit Arolithos! Concept is fantastic, and you enjoy staying there. The village is really something else than the concrete hotel buildings!
-The restaurant is fair: an excellent price / quality factor.
- Rooms are big and clean
The minus points:
-The breakfast served in another place could be improved. The orange juice is made with syrup and the limited choice is staying everyday exactly the same.
-Technical maintenance is the weakest area. This could be significantly improved.
-A fridge is really missing in the rooms
A neutral point:
- Believe that the hotel is not suitable for people with walking problems. Climbing the long stairs in the streets can be tiring for elderly and certainly for handicapped.

Final conclusion: Arolithos is a very nice place and the few inconveniences do not spoil the pleasure of being there!

Stayed: October 2004
7  Thank Jean-Pierre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2011

Dear guest.
Many thanks for writing on tripadvisor. We appreciate your honest review and we will work on the matters that make things better and improve the services. All our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2005

I stayed in this hotel in June 2005. The room was dirty, noisy (music for all the night, due to a marriage in the hotel), with oppressive heat (30 C degrees) and air conditionned inadequate... Not possible to have a shower: too few water from water taps...

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank viaggiatore-perenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichailS, Owner at Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2011

Dear guest.
Many thanks for your review on tripadvisor. The honest expression of your experience will help us to improve our services in future. All our best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews