We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Galaxy Hotel Iraklio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Maldon, Essex
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Galaxy Hotel Iraklio”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I were very happy staying at the Galaxy Hotel and I have no hesitation in recommending it. The staff are top-notch, kind, friendly and extremely helpful. I happen to be learning Greek and they were very willing to speak to me in Greek even though my level is elementary. The food is excellent and they also have a swimming pool and a gym. Our room was very comfortable and there was free WiFi. I hope to be returning one day. I think the Galaxy is one of the best of the best! I am looking forward to my next visit!

Room Tip: The staff were willing to let me choose my room before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,198
    384
    72
    15
    7
See reviews for
265
847
97
222
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We drove straight to the hotel from the airport, arriving about 10.30pm and very hungry. There was no sign of anywhere to park so my partner stayed in the car while I went inside to ask. A delightfully friendly person at reception immediately told me it was no problem and that the porter would take our car and park it, which he did very promptly. He also took our bags to our room. While registering we enquired about eating and found that the hotel restaurant would be open till 1 am! We had a great meal sitting outside on a balcony overlooking the pool. The food was Greek but with a modern twist - delicious! I thoroughly recommend it.

Our room was spacious and very clean with a comfortable mattress and pillows. The only slight negative was that the under sheet seemed to have a plastic underside so the bed felt rather hot and it made a bit of a noise when turning over. But otherwise the room was great.

The major part of my praise goes to all the hotel staff we encountered, especially Antonis, the porter. All were unfailingly helpful, welcoming and friendly and always smiling. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. If only all hotels were like this one...

The hotel is only a 10 minute drive from the airport and easily located. It is near the road to Knossos and an easy walk into the city centre. Wi-fi is available free in the bedrooms. I recommend it highly

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road and on one of the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed twice, one night each time, basically in transit. First time we were upgraded to a business room, which was better in terms of slightly more space, a bath (not just a shower), complementary arrival snacks (dried fruit, Turkish delight and raki) and a bottle of mineral water, slippers and bathrobe in the room and a view of the pool. We also had a pure room, which involved having a purifier in the room, which did seem to result in us having a more pleasant environment. The second visit, the room (#334) was fine although with a view out on to the street; however, the carpet was heavily stained and really below parr for what you would expect - those slippers would have come in handy. It was also supposed to be a pure room, although the carpet really diminished the effect. The breakfast was excellent, the best we had in Crete by far. The staff were friendly and efficient. Although out of the centre, the 15 minute walk was pleasant and helped after a big dinner in the old town. It was also easier to park there and getting a taxi to the ferry was easy. So for our first stay we would have given close to 5, but because we felt the second visit was less satisfactory, we've gone for an overall 4. We'd be happy to stay there again - just hope they sort out a few small things that can make a big difference to the visitors.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank An G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

One of the best hotels during my travel in Europe of last years, a real good 5*hotel. The rooms, service, food and location, everything is just perfect. If you wish to have a touch of a real good hotel, select this one.Plus close to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 115Rutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at the Galaxy Hotel before and after a trip to Santorini. The staff was amazing! They helped us change our dates around and kept our hold baggage for us while were away. They parked our car for us and retrieved it in the am. We had a very nice room overlooking the pool (which was lovely). The room was very modern and clean and they furnished a few "goodies" for us. The breakfast was served around the pool and was wonderful! This hotel was very convenient to the port. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Since it is located in the middle of town, I would recommend a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sf1392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had the wonderful experience of staying at the Galaxy from 9/27-10/2. The choice was made by our wonderful travel agent at Fantasy Travel. I read the reviews prior to our stay & they were spot on. Check in was very pleasant & welcoming. The room was updated & immaculate although a bit on the small side. We had 2 very large suitcases so they did take up quite a bit of room. Although the staff offered us another room, we opted to stay put. Maria & Anastasia at the front desk were absolutely wonderful & extremely helpful. I can not say enough about the breakfast. The selection of fruits, eggs, meats, Greek specialties & beverages was not only huge but, extremely well prepared with quality fresh ingredients. The staff in the breakfast room were top notch & very courteous. A visit to Maestri restaurant, a 5 minute taxi ride, is a must on your trip. The hotel is also across the street from the city tour bus where you can hop on & off at various stops around Crete. The owner clearly specializes in hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Excellent food and service. Very nice and helpful staff. Location demands a walk of 15 min to the center, but we were ok with this. Room is new, tidy. The pool is outdoor and was too cold on June. The sauna service is excellent.

There was x very good singer singing in the pool var, which we liked but disturbed our sons sleep. Management was very considerable and as a sorry gave us a very late check out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rommur85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.7 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
854 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,717 reviews
0.7 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
155 reviews
33.4 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
37.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel Iraklio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel Iraklio

Property: Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Address: 75 Dimokratias Avenue, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Family Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Galaxy Hotel Iraklio 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Deluxe Galaxy Hotel Iraklio is Heraklion's premier hotel for business and leisure and the top choice for discerning travelers. Modern facilities fully renovated in 2008, and warm, professional service highlight the hotel's steadfast dedication to the magical combination of aesthetics and functionality. Centrally located in downtown Heraklion, the Galaxy is an oasis of contemporary luxury whose services and amenities are second to none.The Galaxy Hotel Iraklio's 127 rooms and suites exude an air of contemporary elegance within a unique city-resort atmosphere, while the hotel's extensive, upgraded amenities include, among others:• fully independent air conditioning• complimentary WiFi• fine bed and bath linens• premium Simmons mattresses and choice of pillows• Pure allergy friendly rooms for optimal air quality and the best sleep you've ever had• fully equipped complimentary business center• large fresh-water pool• complimentary parking facilities• concierge services• complimentary state-of-the-art gym with wellness center and hammam• superb dining at the all-day Per Se Lounge or poolside Vetri Restaurant• top conference and event facilities No matter what the reason for your stay, the Galaxy Hotel Iraklio will ensure that it is nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Galaxy Hotel Iraklio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Heraklion
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing