We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Ranked #3 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel, good location”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Enjoyed our time at the Galaxy. Room was clean and the location was fine (although sometimes after going into old town, it was a hike back). That's not a big issue, it was close, I was just tired sometimes. We had a lovely view of the pool. The staff was fantastic - very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were amazing.

Room Tip: The pool view is so pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne-Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,623 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,168
    363
    70
    15
    7
See reviews for
260
812
96
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I was fortunate enough to have stayed at the Galaxy Hotel over Easter weekend; in fact, the priest who brought the holy lights from Athens to Heraklion was on my Aegean Airlines flight! Greeting me in my room was a lovely plate of cookies, bread, and hard-boiled eggs and a white liquor that fulfilled every expectation I had for what jet fuel would taste like. Apparently traditional and a nice touch - at subsequent hotels and restaurants through out Crete I found a little honey or lemon made it palatable. The hotel is conveniently located to the center of the city and on the Hop On-Hop Off Tour Bus route. The staff were wonderful, friendly, and accommodating. Kostas was always ready to give tips on where to go, what to see, and he guided me to the correct bus for Knossos. What service! Breakfast was fantastic every morning with options for every type of eater. I was also fortunate enough to have enjoyed the Easter lunch feast. WiFi signal was strong and I never had any problems connecting. The courtyard area by the pool was peaceful and just what I needed to start my vacation. Thank you Galaxy Hotel for a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy28970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel was a bit like an airport hotel. Small room, Greek TV, over expensive bar. Noisy during the night, needed big air con as the room was over warm. But the staff were friendly and the breakfast good.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yiannis E, Owner at Galaxy Hotel Iraklio, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Mrs. Margaret M,
Our warmest wishes for Happy Easter! Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Heraklion and for your insightful and kind review.
Sincerely,
Yiannis G. Economou
Owner-Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreline
Level Contributor
688 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My review of this hotel is based on unusual circumstances. While in Crete, my wife suffered a heart attack and was admitted to the University of Crete Medical Center, where she got a pacemaker.

For the week she was in hospital, I stayed at the Galaxy. The staff, from the front desk to the bellman, were kind, considerate, and looked after me when I was tired, stressed, and only able to think about my wife.

They kept my car handy when I needed to leave in a hurry. When my wife was discharged they arranged for a hair salon to wash her hair (something so small but so important when you've been in hospital for a week), and were considerate in so many other ways.

For these reasons alone I'd be raving about this place. I was treated as a human being in need, not just another customer. This is very Greek, of course, but also very appreciated.

Aside from this, the rooms are comfortable, the restaurant and food outclasses your average business hotel by miles, and the location is convenient to the old town and services. No, it isn't beach front, and parking can be a bit of a challenge, but everything else far outweighs that.

And extra special thanks to Maria and Antonis.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hfulghum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern England
Level Contributor
223 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We booked a quiet executive room and found ourselves overlooking the pool on the top floor in a spacious room with a small balcony. Everything was comfortable; a kettle was provided on request, as was an electric adaptor. Service was always very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was highly varied, including Cretan specialities that changed every morning. My favourite custard pies luckily came up twice in our week! There were three different timings on the boiled eggs, plus fried eggs and other variations. Fresh fruit, pastries, cereals were also in abundance. We had dinner twice in the hotel. It was more expensive than prices prevailing in town, especially for the wine, but the food was beautifully served and tasty. Appetizer portions were on the small side, main courses were sufficient. Grilled vegetables made a wonderful appetizer. We liked the location of the hotel about 1 km away from the center--it meant we got to walk off some of that breakfast each morning! We would happily return to this hotel if we were staying in Heraklion again.

Room Tip: The extra cost of an executive room is probably worth it, given the size of regular rooms as describ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leisure-traveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We booked here because we needed a room for one night prior to our vacation rental. The staff was outstanding; from front desk to the restaurant to the bellman, everyone was helpful and welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable. We were pleasantly surprised by the delicious dinner we had in the restaurant. There was live music, jazz piano and female vocalist, their first night of the season. They were great. We'll be back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kattub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 days in this excellent hotel as part of our holiday in Crete. This is by far one of the finest hotels with a great service from all the staff. It is well located to explore Iraklio and it prides on serving their customers. The food in the restaurant is very good, don't miss it! Would definitely visit again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MohammadA992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.7 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
0.7 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#13 of 58 in Heraklion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
37.6 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 165 in Rethymnon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galaxy Hotel Iraklio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxy Hotel Iraklio

Property: Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Address: 75 Dimokratias Avenue, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Galaxy Hotel Iraklio 5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Deluxe Galaxy Hotel Iraklio is Heraklion's premier hotel for business and leisure and the top choice for discerning travelers. Modern facilities fully renovated in 2008, and warm, professional service highlight the hotel's steadfast dedication to the magical combination of aesthetics and functionality. Centrally located in downtown Heraklion, the Galaxy is an oasis of contemporary luxury whose services and amenities are second to none.The Galaxy Hotel Iraklio's 127 rooms and suites exude an air of contemporary elegance within a unique city-resort atmosphere, while the hotel's extensive, upgraded amenities include, among others:• fully independent air conditioning• complimentary WiFi• fine bed and bath linens• premium Simmons mattresses and choice of pillows• Pure allergy friendly rooms for optimal air quality and the best sleep you've ever had• fully equipped complimentary business center• large fresh-water pool• complimentary parking facilities• concierge services• complimentary state-of-the-art gym with wellness center and hammam• superb dining at the all-day Per Se Lounge or poolside Vetri Restaurant• top conference and event facilities No matter what the reason for your stay, the Galaxy Hotel Iraklio will ensure that it is nothing short of spectacular. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galaxy Hotel Iraklio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxy Hotel Heraklion
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing