We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Lato Boutique Hotel(Heraklion)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Atrion Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arolithos Traditional Cretan Village(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marin Dream Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sofia Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kastro Hotel(Heraklion)(Great Value!)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vergis Epavlis(Heraklion)
US$220
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,071)
Filter reviews
1,071 results
Traveller rating
655
339
52
14
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
655
339
52
14
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfort roomexcellent hotelstar hotelharbour viewbreakfast and dinnerrooftop poolbusiness triproom servicecoffee machinebig varietynice stayperfect locationcomfortable roomsmini barcity centrehotel is locatedthe bus
Filter
Updating list...
689 - 694 of 1,071 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This hotel is great, and one of the best in this city. 5 stars!
Location - you can walk to the museum / harbour / shopping / restaurants / central market / etc.
I cannot find a complaint with this place, as it exceeded my expectations. I have been visiting this city for 20 years, and this now rates as one of the best places to stay. Just for the location alone it is a winner.
Breakfast - wow! Be sure to allow a lot of time to enjoy. Wonderful mix of Greek / Mediterranean / Western dishes.
Dinner - in my opinion one should always eat dinner out, not matter how nice the hotel is. The best of Greek culture is experienced by eating dinner outside like everyone else does.

You can go for a nice walk, starting by heading to the old Venetian Harbour (passing the Arsenal), then head up the nice and recently pedestrianized street that leads to Morosini Fountain. Up through the market and over to the museum. All easy and brings you right back to the hotel.

Look no further. They have 2 pools, though I never used either as there is too much to see and do outside! All rooms are great, and many of the street facing rooms have great views.

Have fun

Room Tip: Don't skip breakfast!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2006TravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kon_Vogiatzis, Marketing Coordinator at AQUILA Atlantis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your experience on TripAdvisor.
It is very nice to read that you had a great stay in our hotel and our servicesand facilities were to your full satisfaction!
I sincerely hope to welcome you again soon.

Best Regards

Dimitris Tsounis
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I recently spent a day at the Aquila Atlantis Hotel in Heraklion, Crete. It had been closed for a year or two as it was being refurbished. The result is a totally revamped modern and new hotel. The lobby area is quite different, more spacious with modern furniture and the rooms are all brand new. The lobby restaurant was quite decent. I had a simple ravioli which was fine, a colleague had pork which apparently was inedible. The prices are reasonable. The staff are incredibly friendly and polite and very eager to solve problems and please guests.
However, (unfortunately there is a however), the rooms as still quite small, the bathrooms incredibly uncomfortable and awkwardly set up. Our bathroom was like a long corridor. It had 3 doors which did not have handles to open from the inside but a little hole to pull (there go the manicured nails!) There was nowhere to leave a toiletry bag or clothes.
We were there to hold an event.. the event rooms did not seem to have been refurbished like the rest of the hotel. Although the staff were trying to be helpful it took them 3 hours to manage to play a video properly. The sound system has a lot to be desired.
I would visit the hotel again in the future but only for business and for a day or two. I give it to the staff who were all indeed extremely polite and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kon_Vogiatzis, Marketing Coordinator at AQUILA Atlantis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your comments after your recent short stay at the Hotel Aquila Atlantis.
We would like to offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced with the video player. Our service is normally exceptional and the issues you experienced are not a fair reflection of our usual high standard of customer care.
Regarding the size of the room, there is a variety of six different room types that meet the needs of our guests with a minimum size of 37 m3 and a maximum of 50 m3.
We are very pleased to hear your positive comments and kind words regarding our Hotel’s design, as well as the friendliness and the service of our personnel. We make a continuous effort for personalized service and through extensive training we try to improve day by day.
Once again thank you very much for your preference and your comments. We hope to welcome you again in the future in Aquila Atlantis!

Best regards,

Dimitris Tsounis
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Although the decor and the buffet breakfast impressive, there are several things that lets the hotel down..

Although, on the whole the staff are friendly (not staff in restaurant) we were left standing and ignored when we checked in, tired and hungry after a days travelling. To have one member of staff on reception of a 5 Star hotel, when it's busy in particular, is not acceptable.

Fortunately, I noticed there was no hairdryer before I had a shower so rang reception and asked for one. I was told that there was "a problem today with the hairdryers". So I had to forgo washing my hair, not happy about that after a days travelling. We asked for a hair dryer 2 more times the following day- to no avail. We were told "there's problems with this" so I had to acquire my own. I have never experienced this in all my years of traveling, even when staying in basic accommodation.

The following morning we were very disappointed to see that we did not have the ocean/harbour view we had paid for. We went to reception and conveyed this. We were told that the harbour could be seen from the balcony (we had to go to the far left of it to see a glimpse!). This is again unacceptable. We paid for a ROOM with a view not left hand side of the balcony view.! We have asked for a refund in the difference between a room with a view and one with none on numerous occasions but have yet to receive it. In fact our recent emails have been ignored. There is no refer3ence to a partial view on the hotels website or indeed Lastminute.come. Surely it is unprofessional to mislead people and certainly unprofessional to ignore them.

The problem with the hairdryer could have been resolved i.e the hotel could buy some, not necessarily for every room, and leave a note in each room apologising for the inconvenience and asking people to contact reception if they need one. Surely anyone who has managerial experience who have ensured this was already done? Having to acquire one's own hairdryer is the last thing people expect/want to do when staying at a 5 Star hotel, especially when staying for only a short time as we did.

We have raised this and other issues since our stay (not been given the room we paid for via lastminute.com) with Rita Flouri and Dimitris Tsounis, Managing Director who have yet to resolve this matter to our satisfaction.

On a more positive note the rooftop pool is very good and has amazing views of the city and harbour. Room service was very efficient. We had to use room service as there was no kettle in room only a coffee/tea machine that was quite difficult to use as it had no instructions.

I first posted this review in September after we returned home, but for some reason it was deleted!!

Room Tip: Rooms near stairwell are subject to noise from reception/restaurant
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank annak53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We had the pleasure of experiencing the warm welcome of the finest central Hotel in Heraklion,
during our summer vacation.
Our room was spacious and pleasant with an amazing sea view of the port.
Large, stylish, bathroom with glorious shower!
The staff of the hotel took great care in ensuring our stay was all that we hoped for.
We will most definitely be back to enjoy it again next summer!! :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lefteris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kon_Vogiatzis, Marketing Coordinator at AQUILA Atlantis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Lefteris,

Thank you for the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. It is really very encouraging to read that you had an amazing accommodation in our hotel!
We look forward to welcoming you back next summer...


Best regards,

Dimitris Tsounis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We've just came back from staying 5 days at this hotel. There are so many things to praise Aquila Atlantis hotel. First of all the personal care you get from the staff. They all so warm and caring and will do any effort to make your staying enjoyable and pleasant. We ate breakfast and dinner and the food was excellent and fresh. In the morning there was a full buffet and at dinner time we got a menu with variety of options and the meal was served like in a restaurant. We really felt like VIP then. Our room was clean and spacy, with big flat tv and from the balcony you could see a nice view to the port and the city. The location of the hotel is great. You're within few minutes far by foot to the port and the tourism centre. There was a lovely woman named Rita who helped us a lot. For example she made for us phone calls to the car agency whom we ordered a car. We didn't know where from to pick up the car and she made them to bring the car to the hotel's parking and they collected it back from there too. WiFi is free in all over the hotel and there is a parking specially for the hotel guests. We truly recommend for you to go to this hotel. Our vacation was one of the bests we had so far. Thank Your Aquila Atlantis!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GLGL57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kon_Vogiatzis, Marketing Coordinator at AQUILA Atlantis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are very happy to read your nice comments about our rooms and the overall facilities!
We have also shared your kind comments with Rita and thanked her for ensuring your stay was memorable one.
We hope to welcome you again soon for another unforgettable experience!

Best regards,

Dimitris Tsounis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews