We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Verz good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
Ranked #4 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Good location in the centre of Heraklion, very good value for price. I do highly recommend it. The breakfast and the dinner (not included) are of great quality, and the rooms are very comfortable, particularly the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
There are newer reviews for AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Perfect place to reach anywhere in downtown by walking. Nice and shining Lobby, clean rooms, superb Cretean breakfast, indoor and outdoor breakfast saloon, small outdoor swimming pool. Happy and helpful staff. I would recommend to all travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ercan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed 14 days in this hotel and it's a perfect location to explore heraklion city and surrounding areas and sights. It's unimpressive from the outside, but really nice and modern looking in the inside.

The meals were adjusted to meet the european taste, so we missed the mediterran aspect a little bit, but is was all good.

The cleanliness of the rooms seems to be a reflection of the greece/cretan way of life... It's functional like "Hey, you see, we were here and cleaned your room.", but missing the 5-stars standard: dirt in the corners, some remains of soap and water in the bathroom, dust under the bed,...
The whole 14 days of stay, there was no "cleaning" like vacuum-clean or mop the floor. One can imagine, that after discovering the city and sights you carry-in some "normal" small dirt to the room day-by-day. At last after 4 days you simply don't want to walk on the dirty floor without shoes (for example after showering)...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very close location to the museum, airport and port. Comfort is very good. The pool on the roof offers a very nice view on the city. Breakfast was perfect. A good hotel to spend one or a few days in heraklion.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stéphane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Atlantis The Perfect Hotel for a Crete Visit
After being forced to leave the awful Sea Side Hotel, we found the Atlantis, almost by accident.
It was the perfect answer to our awful experience at the Sea Side Hotel.
Every aspect was perfect, the room, restaurant, and breakfast buffet, service. The concierge was phenomenal and took care of our every need.
It is the perfect hotel to be in the heart of the city and walking distance to everything you could possibly need. The night life, shops and people of Heraklion gave us a true flavor of modern Greece.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. They also have a wonderful roof top pool with a 360 degree view of the port and...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Moved to this hotel on a last-minute reservation. We were in Crete for a 3day stay as part of a family vacation. Several good things to note:
1. Location: close to the port. About 15 mins from airport by taxi. Just a block or two from the archaeological museum and the pedestrian shopping zone with all its restaurants and bars.
2. Ambience: Cool, upscale business hotel. Decor in muted tones. Very clean. Calm, quiet.
3. Service: extremely helpful and polite.
4. Room quality: Adequate size and since the hotel is on top of a hill, good views. Comfortable beds, good sized bathroom. As in many Euro hotels, it takes a few minutes after you insert your key into the slot for the a/c to kick in, but it cooled our room down to 72 degrees, which was a miracle in midsummer Crete.
5. Breakfast buffet: Awesome! Good variety of cold meats, eggs, bacon, breads.
Overall a great choice as a base for exploring Crete. They helped us arrange a rental car for a day, so we drove cross-island to the beach at Matala on the Sea of Libya. Nice way to get the feel of the island.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KarenGraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The Aquila Atlantis is perfectly located right in the center of Heraklion, close to the archeological museum, the historical port , central bus station and busy shopping streets. That's a very good starting point for tours both in the city and all around crete. Breakfast and dinner buffet were satisfying. However, for a 5-star hotel, I would have excepted more impressive rooms and bigger pools. I had a fine stay here, but nothing luxurious.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilan0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
0.7 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,729 reviews
0.1 mi away
GDM Megaron Hotel
GDM Megaron Hotel
#1 of 58 in Heraklion
912 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
37.5 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AQUILA Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AQUILA Atlantis Hotel

Address: 2 Ygias Str, Heraklion, Crete 71202, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#2 Spa Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
#3 Business Hotel in Heraklion
#4 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range: £69 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AQUILA Atlantis Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently renovated Aquila Atlantis Hotel situated close to the archaeological museum and commanding a spectacular view of the harbour.The hotel also has a variety of facilities and services that are sure to meet the needs of both business and leisure travellers. Spacious rooms also with view to the harbour with a 42-inch flat-screen TV, free Wi-Fi, box spring bed with a walk-in rain shower. Main Restaurant, Lounge Bar, Room Service, Swimming Pool, Luggage room, Conference Center, Business Center. Kindly note that smoking is only allowed in designated areas and bedrooms. There is a fee for guests who do not comply with the hotel's non-smoking policy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your AQUILA Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Heraklion
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing