We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated, basic hotel in a good location”
Review of Poseidon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poseidon Hotel
Ranked #33 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dated, basic hotel in a good location”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Poseidon is in a good location if you are arriving by boat, as it is approximately 5 minutes from the ferry port. Very convenient if hiring a car as there is plenty of free parking near by.
Our room was a decent size, clean but tired; it really could do with a bit of an update. The full size fridge in the room was a bonus. The bathroom was tiny, with no shower curtain and no room for one to be added either; which meant that whenever we had a shower the bathroom got absolutely soaked.
The staff are very helpful, particularly Irene. When we arrived we had a shower head that was broken and a tap that constantly dripped, she arranged for both of these to be fixed in a speedy manner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    17
    18
    8
    2
See reviews for
7
32
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
452 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This a very clean and convenient budget hotel. Irene runs this hotel and it is a good place to stay if you are on a budget or perhaps are driving a car. There is parking all around and many of the rooms look over the new port.
Rooms are spartan but clean and facilities all work. blankets are provided if the AC is too severe. Breakfast is plain but adequate for some travellers.
Next door is a lovely new restaurant and the food is of a high quality. At night it fills with diners from about 8pm and is popular. Like this hotel the overview is of the new port.
Don't expect a fancy hotel in the Poseidon, but it is value for money. The city airport is only a few kilometers away and this part of the city is affected with some takeoff noise, but it is tolerable. Enjoy your stay and the meals next door.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have good views, afternoon sun is hot and good for laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunner do
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

As for the reviews on the noise of the planes.... Let me just point out that what do you expect when the airport is less than 5 mins drive from the centre itself, you CAN still hear the planes even if you stayed in the actual centre of the city!! A lovely clean hotel, pleasant staff & wonderful views if the harbour

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank busterlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This place is not the nicest you'll stay, but I believe the area charges a premium because it is so close to the port. For $40 Euros per night (Single room), this was the cheapest place around. Walking distance to the Heraklio bus station and the hotel overlooks the port, so easy to walk if you are catching a ferry as I was. For the convenience, and for the staff member Irene who works there, this is a steal!

Some rooms have AC and some don't so be sure to ask! Also, if you are willing to walk a little (2km) there are some great views on the city center walk past the port.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Very simple. Just a room with beds. My husband remarked that we were staying in a hospital because of the white sheets. No blanket. Balcony space is ok. Downside is that it can get very loud because it is under the route which all the planes land. Convenient because it is right by the seaport.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalEata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2009

Booked a hotel at Chania but caught the only ferry from Santorini to Heraklion and arrived at 10:30pm. I didn't realise that the distance between the 2 ports is almost 200km and it would cost 170 Euro to catch a taxi there (because the bus stopped going there hours earlier). We decided to stay at Heraklion and the taxi driver drove us to Hotel Poseidon. My dad and I were lucky to get a twin room at around 11pm at night. The room was basic, but very clean. If you want the control for the air conditioner, you have to pay 5 Euro extra. There was a large balcony attached to the hotel room. The area isn't all that convenient for walking into the city (approximately 20 minutes). Instead, you catch a bus at the end of the street in to town. The port is about 10 minutes walk from the hotel. The staff were amazing throughout the whole stay. They were incredibly friendly and offered us lots of information, from where to get some laundry done to which beaches to go to. A lot of larger hotels could learn a lot about customer service from the staff at a hotel like Hotel Poseidon. The restaurant at the front of the hotel overlooking the port (about 1 minute away) has amazing food! It was recommended by one of the staff on the front counter.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bs5549
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2008

If you can sleep through anything and are traveling on a budget, this hotel is for you. The staff was VERY nice--the hotel was nice and clean. But the airplanes overhead, the way noise travels between rooms, the street noise, and the magic portal in the wall that let mosquitos into our room (access panel to the hot water taps in the bathroom), combined with the terrible beds made this place an unpleasant experience for us.

  • Liked — nice staff
  • Disliked — beds/noise
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bs5549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Heraklion hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.1 mi away
Life Boutique Hotel
Life Boutique Hotel
#35 of 58 in Heraklion
82 reviews
1.6 mi away
Athinaikon Hotel
Athinaikon Hotel
#26 of 58 in Heraklion
161 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel LiLi
Hotel LiLi
#19 of 58 in Heraklion
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pasiphae Hotel
Pasiphae Hotel
#44 of 58 in Heraklion
129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kronos Hotel
Kronos Hotel
#11 of 58 in Heraklion
510 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#41 of 58 in Heraklion
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poseidon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poseidon Hotel

Property: Poseidon Hotel
Address: Sof. Venizelou 61, Heraklion, Crete GR-71307, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 177
Also Known As:
Poseidon Hotel Heraklion
Poseidon Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing