We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel for all-inclusive stays”
Review of Agapi Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Agapi Beach Hotel
Ranked #8 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have been here twice, and my parents 5 times. We always feel well looked-after and have very pleasant stays. The entertainment staff work very hard, and guest relations (Alexandra) are excellent, they can help with just about anything. The value I feel is good, I would give 5 overall except for the food which although good, is not always quite as good as it could be.
I will be going back next year!

Room Tip: Sea view, 5th floor is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrPeteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

We stayed at the Agapi beach for 2 weeks in August 2013. We being myself, my husband and our 18 month old daughter.

It's an amazing hotel with the beach on your door step, and 3 great pools. And a small splash pool for babies.

Reviews on here say about having to get a sun lounger in the morning, not true we went to the pool or beach at 14:00 and found one easy. Yes we were the only people in the hotel from England for our 2 weeks, but truthfully we didn't care we don't go away to make friends. There are a lot of Russans but they were fine, not what people have said on here.

Food amazing, clean hotel.

The only downside is you can have free wifi but only in the lobby. So you will always see at least 20 people sitting around there, but it's for the Internet. You can't get it anywhere else in the hotel.

Across the road is a row of shops, you can get anything you need from, these, I had to get more nappies and had no problems. There is a small shop in the hotel, which is cheaper, so go there first.

The entertainment staff are very good, we didn't want to be bothered by them and I think they guessed by the second week. There is music until around 11:30, so if you are in the main hotel you will hear it until this time, but the view of the sea is amazing from these rooms, much better than the more expensive villas.

The bed was very hard, and no pillows just a square also our daughter ended up sleeping with us as her cot bed was just a frame and a sheet, poor thing was so uncomfortable.

All I can say is I love it and we are going back next year.

Room Tip: Go for the main hotel. Cheaper and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Hotel lovely.
We had booked two rooms with an adjoining door, but when we were arrived were offered a choice of either that, or a one-bedroom suite in a quieter location in the grounds. Thee are five of us. Although the suite looked really lovely- I think it would have been wonderful for two. Maybe three. We took the two rooms in the main building. Fine. Not big, but big enough. Bathrooms small, but we didn't want to spend a lot of time in the bathrooms! Balconies okay. We were at the back of the hotel, but we could see mountains, and the sea to the side.
Restaurants nice. Main restaurant a buffet, which was great for the kids, who are always looking for an excuse to leave the table! Food very good. Taverna great for lunches- buffet again, but outside, and a lovely atmosphere. Taverna not so good for dinners- not enough staff, so rather slow (served, rather than buffet), and far too much food (the fact that children eat less than adults- in our case sometimes considerably less- was not taken into account)- we were embarrassed by the amount they had to take away. We didn't try the Italian.
Pool and grounds all great, but not very pushchair friendly (and although there are some ramps, I wouldn't want to push an adult in a wheelchair up any of them- a pushchair with a toddler was bad enough!).
Entertainment was by way of the "Animation" team. About ten really really dedicated and enthusiastic young people from all over Europe. The kids loved the kids club, and were invited to join in with one of the (several) big stage performances put on for the hotel guests every week. It meant a late night, but they totally loved it (for my 11 year old being in Grease was the business!); and the kids disco, although they played exactly the same songs every evening, was exactly what the children wanted at the end of every day. By the end of week 1 (of 2) they knew all the special dances, and even our not-quite-two year old was confidently joining in.
I'd give the hotel a 5* review just because of the animation team!

We had a fabulous holiday!

BUT don't ask me to review Heraklion Airport, with a mind-bogglingly slow way of doing things all of its own.....

Room Tip: The beds (at least in the main hotel) are very hard, but we asked whether they could do something ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TrixiesMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We went on our honeymoon to his hotel and found it that lovely we went back with our daughter. With a selection of pools, their own part of the beach, lots of activities always going on. The food was lovely, staff very accommodating and the animation team are fab. There is plenty to do for children without even leaving the hotel. Not many English people there but we didn't seem to find this a problem as we don't actually go to socialise. Would defiantly recommend this to anyone staying in Heraklion.

Room Tip: We do not recommend one of the ground floor bungalows as we did have a problem with ants. the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Livelifelisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Just got back from two 1st class weeks at the "Agapi beach Hotel". Everything about the hotel is superb, from the great selection of food, lovely sea view rooms, great animation team and staff throughout. There are not many English guest but when English people get to know about it I feel sure that this will change.

Nothing is to much trouble for the staff who in the main all speak English, Camilla in the animation team especially. The hotel is right on the beach with no roads to cross and it is set in beautiful gardens.

I have always said that I would.never go back to the same hotel, but both my Wife and I will certainly return in 2013.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Brendan511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

10 days in august this year.
What's good : location (15 min With city bus from heraklion center), quality of the food, service provided by the staff ...really friendly, Nice beach With enough Space , Nice beach restaurant, Nice and well maintained gardens.

What's could be better : staff often too limited at breakfast and dîner in main restaurant .... Few More people really néeded. Only two thematic restaurant so diversity of meals/food good for one week but some how too limited for More. Size of rooms in bungalow ! Bed :' a little hard

Not good : bathroom really small ... And in many rooms door can't be Fully opened as blocked by thé toilets (you cannot believe it can exist untel you see that!)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank polderken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Just returned from 10 day vacation with my teenage son. TUI describes as 4.5 star, but that's debatable. Found the room (bungalows) rather small, drab, and not really up to par for an A-class hotel. Have traveled to Greece often and lived there for 2 years, so I am familiar with comparables. Bedspreads were stained, drapery askew off hooks, room safe inoperable, shower tiles chipped and cracked, air conditioning strained.
However, the rest of the hotel experience was worthy of it's rating. The service was outstanding, the food overabundant, authentic and excellent. The bars offer top quality brands and will mix your favorite drink. Couldn't get over the friendliness of the staff, and it was definetly sincere.
The blue flag beach is beyond compare, fine sand, lounges and thatched umbrellas abound, but be sure to get there early or you'll be out of luck. Pools OK, but small and not refreshing becuase of warm water temps. Beach is best bet as breeze blows constantly.
A few tips: Take advantage of the a la carte Greek taverna and Italian restaurant, they are a cut above whatever you'd expect. You'll need a reservation, but it's simple to make.
The hotel caters primarily to Russian clientele. There is but a small presence of French, Germans, Austrians, Italians, and British.
Good luck!

Room Tip: Stay in the main tower and avoid the bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Gene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heraklion
3.1 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,752 reviews
17.1 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#7 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Civitel Creta Beach
Civitel Creta Beach
#2 of 32 in Amoudara
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
963 reviews
2.9 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
3.0 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agapi Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agapi Beach Hotel

Address: 76 Andrea Papandreou Street | Gazi, Crete, Heraklion, Crete 710 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Heraklion
#6 Luxury Hotel in Heraklion
#9 Romantic Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range: £88 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Agapi Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are still places in this world where you'll find yourself surrounded by everything that brings a smile to your face and a staff that steals your heart. This is the setting of Agapi Beach! The prime location of our Resort allows guests to relax on the beautiful beach of Ammoudara or explore the wonders of the Minoan civilization. Just ten minutes away from Heraklion, a buzzing seaside city with an array of options in culture, accommodation, dining and entertainment and twenty minutes away from Heraklion International Airport, this is the ideal destination. Experience comfort and luxury in our 23 sq.m. guestrooms located in the main building or annex, or stay in a 34 sq.m. bungalow and unwind at the spacious balcony with relaxing views of the sea and gardens. Stay in one of our 11 suites, fully renovated to evoke a true Mediterranean style, with separate sitting areas and exclusive furnishing decoration. This is the perfect choice to forget all your stress, unwind by the beach and reconnect with yourself. From our private sandy beach to a world of water sports and from daily resort activities to entertainment, we offer the perfect setting for relaxing island vacations, enriching memories and days full of laughter and fun. With a hearty breakfast or nutritious light bite at the Main Restaurant; savor innovative dishes prepared with only the freshest local products and traditional recipes at our Greek Taverna, or discover a unique Mediterranean flair at our Italian restaurant. Enjoy our all inclusive package and feel at ease that everything is taken care before you arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Agapi Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Agapi Beach
Agapi Beach Heraklion
Agapi Beach Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing