We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”
Review of Golden Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Bay Hotel
Ranked #26 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The view from the hotel was lovely,no beach to speak of unless you walked along the road a bit,which wasn't a hardship.Very,very quiet resort,absolutely not suitable for teenagers(which we didn't take)As we were there 13th Sep we expected it to be quiet,which suited us.Pool was ok,some of the sunbeds are in dire need of replacing,very annoying seeing dirty,broken beds still being put out for use.Food was quite disappointing,we were on a half board basis,so we were given a A4 printed sheet menu,and told if we wanted anything of the main menu we would have to pay extra,so after a week we had exhausted the menu.Meat wasn't good quality and breakfast was a total letdown,Please don't expect the continental to be any more than toast,and the fruit salad was a joke,cooked was warm,as was the coffee.The staff were very friendly,we had a quiet week,didn't let anything spoil it for us,we just wont go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mariemac68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Heraklion, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Rania and her staff definately went the extra mile to make our stay special. Nice pool deep enough to play in, small section for toddlers in safety. We stayed in room 106. The stairs looked a bit daunting for us at first at 66 years. We were immediately offered to change to a ground floor. However the view from the balcony made it worth while. Nice clean room with all the facilities for a good s/c holiday. Nice and quiet location but all the facilities within east reach. We hired a car locally from "Max value rentals" Kokkini Hanni who spoke quite reasonably english
(handy if you suffer a breakdown) and after some haggling got it for 20 euros/day. So we made the most of exploring the island of Crete. By the end of the fortnight I was driving like a Cretan.

Room Tip: Room 106 has a great view, is away from the pool & bar noise. If your not happy with your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 198Roy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

In common with previous reviews I have to comment on the staff at the complex, they are all very, very helpful.
The apartments are cleaned and beds made daily. They are well appointed by Greek standards including a microwave & toaster.
The food in the on site taverna is very good and reasonably priced. Prices in the bar are no more expensive than local bars.
Although there is a seperate play area, there is not a lot of room around the pool area so families with children may struggle to keep them entertained. Gournes is also not the ideal location for teenage children as there is nothing to keep them entertained.
Although this is a lovely complex, if you like to visit other bars and restaurants there are not many nearby. We found the best to be Ambrosia. The nearest village with a few more bars is Kokini Hani which is about a 20 minute walk away. We hired a scooter from 'near the apartments and drove along the very quiet and safer beach road to Gouves a couple of times which is about 10 minute drive.
In closing, I would recommend these apartments for those looking for a relaxing, traditionally Greek holiday.

Room Tip: We were in 307 which was on 2nd floor with great sea view & pool views. However room 309 had a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alebet66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

hotel was very good clean and well run. staff very friendly and went out of the way to help when ever they could. the taverna which is part of the hotel was good though a tendency to overcook some food
amenities around the hotel not great some bars and tavernas and a couple of mini markets within walking distance
better amenities in next town aprrox 30 minutes walk along the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186422James_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Enjoyed stay at this hotel. Rooms and grounds very clean. Buildings well maintained and good view of sea (dependant on room) staff very helpful and willing to do anything to make your stay fantastic. Great hotel if u just want to relax round the pool or go the beach. If you want to head out into cqete then you woukd be best hiring a car as the bus station is a fair walk and taxis are expensive. On the front there a couple of shops tavernas and bars which are open till around 1.00am. Overal good acommodation and holiday. Would come back again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holmsey1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2012

Just done a week stay here and after reading some of the reviews on here wasn't expecting much, however I was pleasently suprised. Wonderful welcoming staff, clean rooms (beds not very comfy) nice play area for the children. Wouldn't recommend this Resort for young families as the pool area has beds close to edge with lots of couples who didn't seem too impressed by joyful outbrusts and the odd splash here and there. Other than the small park and pool they are not really catered for. Lovely place overall, would go again if i was going as just a couple and didn't want to do much other than soak up the sun, drink at the bar and eat food. The Greek people are lovely and have a real love for the children, all very friendly and kind.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just returned from a week at Golden Bay Apartments and my wife and i have not had a single problem with our holiday,all the staff were brilliant especially the two young ladys on reception, taverna was great, we meet 4/5 couples who were fantastic good fun all round will be booking for two weeks next year,as for all the previous reviews about rooms ours was fantastic (room 307) sea view and pool view:-, very clean and we booked a room as a late check out and we had room 302 (basement of which was great as well, well done to all at G olden Bay Apartments see you all soon

Room Tip: Try room 307 great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel LiLi
Hotel LiLi
#18 of 58 in Heraklion
82 reviews
3.8 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
3.2 mi away
Castello City Hotel
Castello City Hotel
#16 of 58 in Heraklion
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Prince Of Lillies
Prince Of Lillies
#29 of 58 in Heraklion
204 reviews
3.8 mi away
Olive Green Hotel
Olive Green Hotel
#2 of 58 in Heraklion
135 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Pension Rea
Hotel Pension Rea
#19 of 58 in Heraklion
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bay Hotel

Property: Golden Bay Hotel
Address: | Gournes, Heraklion, Crete 71500, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Heraklion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Golden Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bay Heraklion
Golden Bay Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing