We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great comfort and service”
Review of Marin Dream Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marin Dream Hotel
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Located in easy walking distance of both the ferry and bus terminals, this hotel offers a great location. The complimentary breakfast would be 10 - 12E anywhere, making the affordable price of the rooms that much better. The staff were kind and gracious and helped us make the most of our one day stay in Heraklion. They went out or their way to get us coffee and breakfast before 7 a.m. so we could catch our early ferry on time. Great!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Wilma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2013

The rooms are a little on the smaller side, but all the hotels in Europe are generally smaller. The bathroom was clean, but not super modern. The complimentary breakfast was delicious was a beautiful view.

One thing that stood out was the excellent top notch service. I accidentally threw away ferry tickets in the trash and had already checked out when I realized my mistake. I called the hotel staff and they went THROUGH THE GARBAGE to find the tickets for me. Can't beat that type of customer service.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed at the Marin hotel in August, 13 for 5 nights in a unit on the 5th floor, we booked because pictures looked good until we arrived. The view was good from the balcony the room and bathroom was very unappealing.T.V in room in Australia we throw out,safe not bolted down, furniture in room old,bathroom very small & dark,with threadbare towels.They moved us after complaining to the second floor same layout with very little difference. Foyer was good,location good,from bus terminal which is handy to hotel but suggest catching a taxi as hotel is in a elavated position,especially with luggage. In our oppinion the accomodation in this hotel needs upgrading badly. They did not like american express,althought they adverdise it as a form of payment,and we did pay with it.

Room Tip: You should make up your own mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marindreamhotel, Manager at Marin Dream Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

Dear our guest,

Thank you very much that you wrote comments about your stay at our hotel.
Your reviews help us to become better every day. Believing that we shall have
the opportunity to welcoming you again to the Marin dream Hotel, I am at
your disposal.

Best regards
Manolis Kalaitzakis
Manager
Marin dream Hotel
46, Epimenidou str.
712 02 Heraklio, Crete, Greece
Tel.: +30 2810 300 018
Fax: +30 2810 300 319

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed one night at the end of our trip o Crete. Needed a place close to port as leaving by ferry the following morning. Within walking distance of restaurants and shops. Great breakfast, with fantastic views of port. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marindreamhotel, Manager at Marin Dream Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear our guest,

Thank you very much that you wrote comments about your stay at our hotel.
Your reviews help us to become better every day. Believing that we shall have
the opportunity to welcoming you again to the Marin dream Hotel, I am at
your disposal.

Best regards
Manolis Kalaitzakis
Manager
Marin dream Hotel
46, Epimenidou str.
712 02 Heraklio, Crete, Greece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Marin dream had a great location and is close to the bus station and the ferry. It's walking distance to all of the restaurants and the port. The breakfast buffet was great and offered a wonderful view of the harbor. The room was comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliaGenevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marindreamhotel, Manager at Marin Dream Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear our guest,

Thank you very much that you wrote comments about your stay at our hotel.
Your reviews help us to become better every day. Believing that we shall have
the opportunity to welcoming you again to the Marin dream Hotel, I am at
your disposal.

Best regards
Manolis Kalaitzakis
Manager
Marin dream Hotel
46, Epimenidou str.
712 02 Heraklio, Crete, Greece

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Marin dream is a modern, comfortable hotel more or less opposite the bus station and in walking distance of the city centre restaurant area and the archaeological museum.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel, which was a large buffet selection.

Would happily recommend it.

Room Tip: Its roughly an I shape and those at the front may get a better sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marindreamhotel, Manager at Marin Dream Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear our guest,

Thank you very much that you wrote comments about your stay at our hotel.
Your reviews help us to become better every day. Believing that we shall
have the opportunity to welcoming you again to the Marin dream Hotel,
I am at your disposal.

Best regards
Manolis Kalaitzakis
Manager
Marin dream Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Marin Dream in Heraklion, at the start and end of our holiday due to it location 15 minutes drive from the airport. They are used to people checking in and out at unusual hours so that's not a problem.

Parking is a bit of an issue as there isn't really any space outside the hotel. We found a public car park 5 minute's walk from the hotel on the same road. There was a charge around 5 euros.

The rooms are very modern with balcony, mini-bar and air con. Breakfast was also included in the price, and it had a pretty good range of options.

Our first night at the beginning of our holiday was faultless. Clean room with view of the Venetian Harbour from the room's balcony. The problem occurred on our second visit.

I spotted the pillow on my bed was dirty. Underneath the pillow case, the pillow was covered in dry blood. It was disgusting and I've no idea how any cleaner could miss it. I'm not one to exaggerate, it was horrific.

I swapped the pillow with a spare in the wardrobe, took a picture of the offending pillow, and showed it to the receptionist the next morning.

I was expecting an offer of a partial refund at the very least, instead I was greeted by silence from Costas, the receptionist that morning, and after about a minute of silence (he did look annoyed), he produced the full bill for the night with no refund or mention of a complimentary offer whatsoever. He didn't once say sorry, he just told me he would inform the cleaning staff.

It pretty much ruined what was otherwise a good stay at the hotel.

I have added the photo I took for evidence!

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank tommyc153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marindreamhotel, Manager at Marin Dream Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Dear our guest,

Thank you so much for write a review of your stay in our hotel.
We apologize for your inconvenience caused
Your comments help us to become better every day.
Thank you for helping us.

Best regards
Manolis Kalaitzakis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.0 mi away
Lato Boutique Hotel
Lato Boutique Hotel
#5 of 58 in Heraklion
1,824 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atrion Hotel
Atrion Hotel
#15 of 58 in Heraklion
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kastro Hotel
Kastro Hotel
#8 of 58 in Heraklion
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
Galaxy Hotel Iraklio
#3 of 58 in Heraklion
1,761 reviews
0.1 mi away
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
AQUILA Atlantis Hotel
#4 of 58 in Heraklion
990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Capsis Astoria Heraklion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marin Dream Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marin Dream Hotel

Address: 46 Epimenidou, Heraklion, Crete 712 02, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range: £38 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marin Dream Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For business and pleasure. Our hotel, fully renovated and refurnished, is ready to welcome and accommodate its guests. Located within short walking distance from the city centre of Heraklion, it is the ideal choice for business travelers as well as for tourists. The superb view to the harbor and to the Venetian fortress (Koule), the elegant though cozy atmosphere, the accessible prices throughout the year make the Marin Dream Hotel truly a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marin Dream Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marin Dream Heraklion
Hotel Marin Dream
Marin Dream Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing