We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok for a stopover in heraklion”
Review of Athinaikon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Athinaikon Hotel
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we spent 3 nights in this hotel.
conveniently located close to the main bus station, the port, the bus stop to the airport and the city center, all can be reached in 10 minutes walk.
the road in front of the hotel is very busy and together with the airport traffic create some noise in the room.
our room was small, with basic furniture but clean. The bathroom needs some renovation.
Fridge, Wifi and Air conditioning are part of the equipment with no extra costs.
a plus for the staff - very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the front are noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tofuso_Lamoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2014

For some reasons we made an imminent booking at this hotel with no knowledge.
As many reviewers comment, the best advantage of this hotel is location, if you need to go to the port area for a ferry or a bus ride, The room is rather basic but well-kept. The bath room is not spacious enough but considering the expense you must bear, I must say it is quite reasonable and the air-conditioner was working properly in hot June, so we were not unhappy at all. it's about 15 minutes walk to the main attraction area of the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spiranian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

One of the best hotels I've stayed in (I'm a business traveller who spent over 200 nights in hotels around the world in 2012). The staffs were amazing. A special thanks goes to Miltos for all his help with finding good restaurants. I'd love to come back to his hotel at some other time. Thank you for such a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmonHaque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

We stayed here for just a night, before our morning ferry to Santorini. It worked perfectly for us, being walking distance from the bus stop, the museum and the port! So we ended up saving on transport for all 3 :)
Fortunately we didn't really spend too much time in the room, it was pretty small, especially for 3 girls who had definitely overpacked! The bathroom was the smallest we'd had in our 2 weeks in Greece. We used up all the hand towels trying to keep the water out of the room. Our room had a small balcony / sit out, the view however wasn't anything to write home about... Residential buildings and their balconies :)
Nonetheless, it wasn't a bad stay. The staff was welcoming, there was no breakfast, or maybe we didn't book it, I can't recall. The room service was sillily though. We asked for hot water as there was no kettle in the room, and rather than have it sent to the room, they just left it in the elevator and asked us to collect it from there! Same for some cutlery.
Would recommend it if Heraklion is just a night or two's stay.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank sherzabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The hotel is easy to find and a 10 minute walk from the port. It's also a 10 minute walk from the centre of town. Our room and bathroom were basic and small but adequate. The toilet plumbing was a bit dodgy. Breakfast was quite good and the reception staff reasonably helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel a few days ago on arriving in Crete. We arrived late at night and receptionist on duty welcomed us quickly checked us in.

Rooms are good and foyer area seems to have been recently refurbished - its very nicely done and cosy.

Free wifi is also available in the rooms and buffet breakfast was also good.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for the night before catching our ferry to Santorini. I wish I could remember the name of the man that was on duty when we got there because he was awesome. So friendly and helpful and he even helped us order dinner which was delivered to the hotel - amazing! The food was great and the hugest portions. We got two keys for the room which meant we could leave the air-con on,which was much needed in the heat! Yes the rooms might have been on the small side,but we thought they were fine,and there was a fridge in the room which was helpful. The hotel was a short walk down to the port in the morning so this was the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank car0_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Heraklion hotels
0.7 mi away
Iraklion Hotel
Iraklion Hotel
#17 of 58 in Heraklion
304 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castello City Hotel
Castello City Hotel
#12 of 58 in Heraklion
476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pasiphae Hotel
Pasiphae Hotel
#43 of 58 in Heraklion
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mirabello
Hotel Mirabello
#23 of 58 in Heraklion
206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pension Rea
Hotel Pension Rea
#21 of 58 in Heraklion
96 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Greco Hotel
El Greco Hotel
#41 of 58 in Heraklion
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athinaikon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athinaikon Hotel

Address: Ethnikis Antistasseos Avenue 89, Heraklion, Crete 71306, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Heraklion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 58 Hotels in Heraklion
Price Range: £32 - £43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Athinaikon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“ATHINAIKON” hotel is located in a short distance from the center and the sight seen of the town. Our renovated rooms have central heating, A/C, TV, Fridge, WiFi, Safe Box, telephone, private W/C and balcony with view of the town. Hotel “ATHINAIKON” with the family and hospitality atmosphere guaranties to you for all the year a comfortable and pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Athinaikon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athinaikon Hotel Crete/Heraklion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing