We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect country inn with excellent food and rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lamb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lamb Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Sandford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect country inn with excellent food and rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Lovely and cozy small pub with rooms in a pretty village near Crediton. The room was excellent and spacious with first rate facilities. Dinner was delicious, good value and imaginatively prepared. All served by friendly and helpful staff. I found it pretty to fault anything about my stay- perhaps the only drawback is the lack of a car park but it wasnt too hard to find parking on the road nearby,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markmotley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    44
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
38
120
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North East England
Level Contributor
132 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Comfortable and clean room, with a good power shower. Effective under floor heating in the rooms (we wondered where the heating source was at first!). Friendly staff and very good bar food. Parking is quite difficult as the pub doesn't have its own car park.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diana014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Booked in last minute at the Lamb Inn at Sandford and enjoyed my stay so much I am back again in a week's time. The Lamb is an atypical village inn and looks and sounds like the heart of this little Devon community.

The bar was full, the locals friendly and the glowing log fire was everything I wanted after a four hour drive. Dinner was first class and the wine list small but well chosen. The burgundy was particularly good.c As a last minute guest I had the last room. Number 5 is small but very well furnished and the bathroom totally modernised. Bed was comfy too.

Breakfast was one of the best Full English " fat boy" fry ups I have had for some time. Very helpful staff: my compliments to the landlord, housekeeper and the chef.

Be aware parking is limited and you may have to drive a few yards to slot in but you will find a place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BugleBoy5li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I booked 3 rooms here in August as I was in the area for a relatives birthday celebration. On arrival there is very little parking in the area so if you have bags to carry it would be best to drop them off first! The bar was full so getting attention of the staff to check in took quite some time. In the end a young lad behind the bar helped out. The rooms were modern in design and compact but very comfortable. We had luckily booked a table for dinner as its obviously popular with locals. We all had 3 courses each and thoroughly enjoyed each one. They were flavoursome & good value. The service was casual but friendly. They even let us bring our dog into the bar &'stay in the room with us. Would recommend highly and will stay again if local to the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank therealthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We like staying in places that have a bit of character with qualities that can't be done by numbers and initial impressions seemed to confirm that the Lamb was going to fit the bill. The building is great, the menu thoughtfully assembled and well prepared, the beer is wonderful and the rooms nicely appointed. So far so good.
What lets the place down is the service. This is evident in bar, restaurant and room cleaning. When we entered the rooms we were immediately impressed but the initial positive vibe was dented by the fact that the toilet hadn't been flushed by the previous user. This immediately gets you looking at everything and there were too many cobwebs and even when flushed the loos were dirty. The service was always friendly but friendly alone isn't enough if it isn't backed up by a bit of quality. We are pretty easy going but if instructions are regularly forgotten and wine brought to the table and left unopened (with a cork in it) you doing start to question what you are paying for.
My suggestions for improvement would be;
- get some decent cleaners
- do some customer service training - Simon was very good and the others could learn a lot from him.
- improve the wine list
- make it clear whether or not wi-fi is available
This is all meant to be constructive as we do like the place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tedsowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katman88, Owner at The Lamb Inn, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Tedsowner

I am very sorry to hear of our failings when you visited. I will look into all of your issues and I will also try to extend the wi if coverage to the barn.
The cleanliness issue is the most disturbing and I suspect or rather hope it was when we had a temporary cleaner. I am sure it wont happen again and I will definitely look into it.
Not really a defence but at the end of September we had 7 staff return to university or move to London and Bristol and we are trying to initiate new staff to our standards.
Our wine list is frequently complimented especially for the low prices but I have 6 changes already decided upon and just the new list to be printed.
Thank you for your feedback and I hope you will visit again.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramelton, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is a lovely old pub with lovely bedrooms. Our bedroom was very comfortable. My wife noted all the furnishings so I suppose we will be copying some of it! The local beers were very good and I was allowed to taste each of them before choosing one. We ate in the bar - it was curry night and we had lovely spicy curries. Breakfast was served next morning in the bar - seemed strange to be in a pub for breakfast. This is a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandalFaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Lamb Inn is a charming country pub in a beautiful village in Devon, with great food and beautiful, modern bedrooms. We stayed there last week with family, and actually booked 4 of the 5 rooms. All the rooms had modern, renovated bathrooms, lovely clean white sheets and duvets and really comfortable beds. The pub itself is everything you would want a country pub to be. This is a pub that is filled with locals, I'm sure we were the only tourists there! Everyone was very friendly and welcoming, especially the owner. The dinner was great as well as the breakfast. It wasn't cold enough to have the fireplaces going, but I can imagine how cozy it would be in the winter. Unfortunately we could only stay 1 night, but I could easily have stayed there for a week. It would be a great place to come back to after exploring the Devon countryside.

Room Tip: We chose the room with the twin beds because king sized beds are rare in the UK. The owner will put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KimberleyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandford
13.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
10.9 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
8.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
10.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
12.3 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lamb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamb Inn

Property: The Lamb Inn
Address: The Square | Crediton, Sandford, Crediton EX17 4LW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Crediton > Sandford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Sandford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lamb Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning pub with stunning, contemporary rooms in a picturesque Devon village. Only 20 minutes from Exeter and 2 minutes from Crediton. The pub serves good food, seven days a week, but please book just in case. A charming place with open fires, lovely walled gardens, friendly staff. Breakfast and vat is included in the price of the room and prices are per room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lamb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lamb Hotel Sandford
The Lamb Inn Sandford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing