We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, chilled holiday in a family run complex”
Review of Ledra Maleme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ledra Maleme
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Maleme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Just returned from two week stay and feel as relaxed and chilled as I have done in a long time. The accomodation is excellent - with large rooms, bathroom is small - but it does have a shower cubicle which is rare for Greece. Small kitchenette with kettle and toaster - again rare for Greece. The food is excellent, with good simple but huge portions for lunch and in the evening 'Mamma' cooks up wonderful Cretan and Greek meals as part of a set menu (typically 17 Euros for huge greek salad, bread and Mamma's special of the day for 2, plus a tot of local firewater afterwards). Malame itself isn't the most quaint or pretty of Greek locations, but it is very quiet with some wonderful Tavernas on the beach (our favourite was Wave), with wonderful views across the sea. The beach is stoney, and again quiet. We'd return as the people within the village are all very friendly and it is a wonderful place to relax, with plenty of options for lovely traditional food at a very reasonable price. It escapes the tourist trap. Chania town is half an hour away on a pretty decent bus service 4.60 Euros for two to Chania one way. Buses go every half hour. The more lively (and touristy) resort of Platanias is 10 mins on the bus.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridget M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 253 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just back from a two week stay in the Hotel.
The Hotel is good located for excursions in the western part of crete.

It was very clean, friendly staff and has modern rooms.

The meals are cooked by a mum of one owner.
It was delicious and cheap.

They had a cute dog, named "Ledra" who is very kind... ;-)

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Adrian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This was an ideal place for a relaxing holiday, the owners were welcoming & friendly, & the food was good. Accomodation was basic but very clean & comfortable,towels & sheets changed twice in the week we were there.Maleme itself was very quiet,if you want a bit more life go to Platania or even better Chania,bus service good fron the village. Could be a bit too quiet for some,bit if you want to really chill out & relax,it is ideal.

Room Tip: We had a room over reception,ideal if you had forgotten something when at the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The Ledra apartments were the largest that we have stayed in while in Crete. Clean, roomy and airy, we didn't need the air con (for the first time ever) and we were really impressed. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool area was well kept with lots of sunbeds and the food at the Ledra was very good and excellent value for money. The Black Lantern (on the left as you walk to the high street from the Ledra) served excellent food, though the owner was a miserable ..The beach was ok, pebbles, plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas and the ones opposite Mylos bar were free. The staff in the bar were extremely friendly as is virtually everyone on the island. It is only in the supermarkets that they can't be bothered with a smile. Maleme grew on me over the week, but we did have a car, so only spent two days on the local beach. It is very quiet and suitable for those who really do want to get away from it all. Platanias 10 mins down the road is very lively and it is definitely worth going into Chania Old Town.
Overall, excellent apartments in a very quiet village with quite a lot of small bars and tavernas, though nothing loud and lively.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We stayed at the Ledra Apartments for a week in early July and were really impressed. We had a ground floor apartment overlooking the garden which was big, airy and comfortable. The room and bathroom were kept really clean throughout our stay. We needed the air conditioning but it was quite reasonable.

The pool was lovely, with plenty of beds and umbrellas and there was usually enough room for everyone. We were quite surprised with how quiet the pool area was most days, we had it to ourselves or almost to ourselves on a few occassions.

The pool bar and restaurant were great - very reasonable for breakfast, lunch, ice creams and drinks. We also ate at the Ledra a few nights - the food was the best we found in Maleme and the daily special was really good value. The cocktails were something else, amazing!! The staff were great too, went out of their way to help with the few things that we needed while we were there.

We were a little disappointed with Maleme itself - as other reviewers have mentioned, there was a smell of sewage / bins throughout the village and it was less friendly than other places that we've visited. There were lots of places to eat though and several supermarkets and small shops. The apartments are well placed to catch the bus into Chania or in the opposite direction to the end of the island. The German cemetry is worth a visit - an interesting exhibition about the invasion and occupation of Crete - a good walk (around 40 mins) uphill from the apartments through olive groves, something for an overcast day if you have one. Interesting and an amazing view from the top of the cemetry!

All in all, excellent apartments run by lovely people - thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WelshSunFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed here in October 2012 for a week, and were very happy with the hotel; the owners are friendly (not a given in Crete), the hotel is clean, and feels airy with the colour scheme they have used for the decorating.

We also liked the cats at Ledra, they were lovely, especially this really big white cat with clear blue eyes.

Maleme itself was not a very nice village with unfriendly people (some of the locals were extremely unfriendly at the shops etc.), the smell of garbages everywhere (not at Ledra though since the hotel grounds are very clean) etc. The beach is a pebble beach which was ok, and the water is clean at the beach since it's such a small place.

I can't really recommend Maleme for anyone, but if you go there, then Ledra is a great place to stay.

We took a tour with a local tour agency to Elafonissi (you could book the trip at the hotel right next door to Ledra), and it was really nice, our guide was excellent, and the stop at the mountain village was great.
Our daytrip to Chania was kind of awful, although the Venetian harbour is gorgeous. There is a little bit regret that we didn't hike the Samaria gorge, went to Gramvousa, and a riding trip would have been nice also, there was a horse stable in Maleme.

Room Tip: We had a room under the stairs, and while it didn't get a lot of sun, we actually really liked i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JHakkinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here for a week with my girlfriend and had a great time. The room was large and clean with an (barely) ocean view. The staff at the hotel was great and we had a lot of fun spending time at the Hotel bar, the food at the Hotel is pretty good as well. For the price it was more than I could have expected.

The location of the Hotel (Maleme village) is perfect if you're looking for a quiet holiday, but if you prefer staying in a partying/tourist hub stay in Platanias instead (though it is only a 5 minutes(2€) bus, or a 2 minute(6-9€) taxi ride away.)

There's several supermarkets and an ATM within walking distance from the hotel and the beach is very close, if you prefer sand over pebbles take a 10 minute walk along the beach towards Platanias.

Overall we were more than pleased with our stay and will definitely return at some point.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finrobin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleme
0.6 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mythos Beach
Hotel Mythos Beach
#5 of 15 in Maleme
86 reviews
0 mi away
Futura Hotel
Futura Hotel
#7 of 15 in Maleme
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunny Suites Apartments
Sunny Suites Apartments
#8 of 15 in Maleme
69 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caretta Beach
Caretta Beach
#6 of 11 in Gerani
145 reviews
6.4 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#21 of 111 in Chania Town
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledra Maleme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledra Maleme

Address: Maleme, Crete 73014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Maleme
#3 Family Hotel in Maleme
#4 Romantic Hotel in Maleme
Price Range: £17 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ledra Maleme 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LEDRA MALEME HOTEL is located 15km outside the town center of Hania, 30km from the airport, 20km from Souda port and only 150 meters away from the beach. Not too far from the hotel you can fish, water ski, scuba dive, wind-surf, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ledra Maleme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledra Maleme Hotel Maleme
Ledra Maleme Chania
Ledra Maleme Hotel Chania
Ledra Maleme Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing