We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected more out of a professional establishment .”
Review of Ledra Maleme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ledra Maleme
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Maleme
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I expected more out of a professional establishment .”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at Ledra Maleme ,Chania, for slightly over a week , apart from the quiet area, the helpful receptionist and the partially accommodating manager/owner, the overall experience in the establishment was poor and unprofessional , not to mention a staff member that was rude , unwelcoming and forcefully doing his job.
Out of the 8 days, towels and bed linen were changed only once as well as the cleaning of the room, there was also a leak in the room, which we pointed out and was completely disregarded.
The rooms didn't lock from the outside, exposing our valuables to whomever pleased to intrude and hot water became a rare luxury only accessible in the day time.
The basic and essential services that should've been already provided became a thing of constant bother and I felt bad asking for, because of the attitude I kept receiving.
In a nutshell, I think this establishment is addressed to people with low expectations in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Emancipator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    68
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
56
106
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Got dropped of at side of the road and had to go down a dirt track and thinking what the hell have we let are selfs in for only to see a little oasis lovely gardens pool poolside bar restaurant and apartments.

The room was very clean and comfortable and spacious, small kitchenette not very well equipped but we were not there to cook.

Supermarkets are close, maybe a 5 minute walk, and the beach was very easy to get to.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere is relaxing and laid back, the complex is well maintained and the food from the restaurant was great, we really enjoyed the Tuesday night BBQ with local live music.

A trip to Chania harbour (is only 17 km away) is well worth doing with some very nice places to eat and relax.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kingko1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

If you want somewhere fashionable with lots of facilities, and an impressive façade; Ledra is not for you. The track to reception is dusty and passes the odd rubbish bin and a few tatty cars. The sea can just be seen a few hundred yards away, and there is the occasional whiff of sulphur from somewhere unseen, but before you turn round and demand to be moved somewhere else it is worth lingering a while.

The rooms are spotless but basic with air conditioning (extra 40 euros per week), safe 2 euros per day and a flat screen tv mounted on the wall. I have no idea however what channels can be viewed. The staff are welcoming and very laid back, however we were of the opinion that our genial host was a retired mass murderer but he was very charming and our grandchildren were not at all put off.

The food is cooked by "Mama" who serves up proper Cretan food which is always excellent and sometimes considerably less expensive than other plusher establishments. The salads in particular are superb.

The pool is big enough but is a bit wedged in between the bar/restaurant area, reception and some of the apartments.

Unfortunately our apartment was located very close to the next door neighbours Hen House, and as Mr Chicken woke very early every morning so did I.

Would we go back? Probably not. Would I recommend it? Yes, it is a 2 star apartment complex that more than makes up for its deficiencies through good service and charm...And besides that I think our host knows where we live.

Room Tip: Keep away from Mr Chicken
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend (age 24 and 27) have just returned from a weeks holiday at ledra maleme and had a great time.
Nice basic but clean rooms. In a nice quiet location so if you want nightlife near by perhaps opt for platanias although you can get there in ten mins on a bus which costs €1.80 per person as a single ticket. (Can't get a return.) Buses come every 20 mins or so. Taxi from hotel to platanias costs €10 as we found out when coming home as last bus is around 23.30. Maleme beach is right next to the hotel and there are a few tavernas and bars along here. Also a new big supermarket 5 mins down the road! Food at the hotel was lovely! The night we got there Andonis asked mama (the cook) to cook us up something and even though it was late this wasn't a bother and it was delicious. We ate in the hotel another night also - had octopus and it was lovely! Staff at the hotel just let you get on with your holiday and don't bother you. Music is played quietly by the pool -thought I would mention that as this is something I wondered about before going. Mixture of English and Greek songs, not too loud to be heard over headphones! There is no entertainment in the hotel or pool games, karaoke etc so perhaps if this is something you look for then opt for a different hotel. Pool is lovely and clean and open 8am til 7p.m.

We thought there could have been more utensils in the kitchen such as wine glasses and dish cloths and washing up liquid but that's being picky. Our shower leaked every time we used it but again, nothing that couldn't be solved with a few towels. If this was a massive deal to us we would have informed staff and I'm sure they would have moved us or fixed the problem. Our towels were changed three times in the week and room cleaned and beds made most days.

Air con costs €40 and safe key costs €14.
Definitely visit chania it's beautiful!! A proper hidden gem!!
We ate in the black lantern in maleme right next to ledra one night after reading good reviews- we wouldn't really rate the place tbh. Nothing special. Much better restaurants if you venture out to platanias. Didn't go to chania at night but there are lovely restaurants in the Venetian village.
We would definitely return to the hotel in the future if holidaying in maleme.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ashleigh s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

It's pronounced Mal-le-may
Firstly, if you have hired a car at the airport, this is not the easiest place to find. If you have a transfer just enjoy the scenery on route. Realistically it's 40-45 mins from Chania Airport depending upon traffic.
The best way is via the National Road, rather than the coast road through Galatas and Plantanias.
Anyway look out for the hotel signs on the main road through Maleme. There are 2. Both road entrances to the hotel are small and easily missed, so drive slowly and keep your eyes open. The hotel is on the beach side of the main road.
The hotel itself seems to be run by either 2 families or relatives. I didn't ask. One side takes care of the accommodation and the other side the restaurant and bar. They are all very nice people, jovial, polite and very helpful.
Food is cooked in an open kitchen and served outside or by the small, but more than adequate pool. Food is fresh, the fish is superb and more than enough for any appetite.
To be honest, the accommodation is a little basic and could do with some updating, but it does add a certain charm. Remember, this is not 5 Star all inclusive.
The layout of the hotel is simple and all the staff will help in whatever way is possible, even to letting you print your Ryanair boarding passes, which now cannot be printed more than 7 days in advance. There are 2 internet terminals, free of charge for all to use.
There isn't any 'nightlife' to speak of, so if you want some excitement in the evening, you will need to take a bus or taxi to Plantanias, 10 mins away.
So it's a quiet, clean and tidy, little gem 10 mins walk from the beach, (which is stoney)
There are no frills, home cooked food, polite, friendly and helpful owners/staff, very good value for what you will pay and you would probably, as I am, happy to recommend it to others.
There are no real negatives.
Ok I have read other reviews that speak of cats, yes there are cats around, but if you don't like them, don't feed them or encourage them, you probably wouldn't even notice them.
The towels are fresh, the bed linen is changed and everyone has a smile on their faces.
A lovely place to relax, read your book and drink a nice gin and tonic.

Room Tip: You will need to ask for and pay for air conditioning, otherwise leave your window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LifestyleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop Derbyshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Just returned from a very relaxing week at the Ledra Maleme. Flew with Small Planet which was a bit of an experience! Flight out was delayed for 1 hour, the plane was very small with hardly any legroom. Transfer from Chania Airport was very efficient and the scenery was stunning. The Ledra is a small family-run group of apartments situated in the village of Maleme. The main road through Maleme reflects the financial problems Greece has been going through with lots of closed down businesses and derelict buildings. It is better down on the beach road with several decent-looking hotels, tavernas and supermarkets. The Ledra is situated between the main road and the beach road and it is a little way from the cluster of tavernas and hotels further along the beach. The apartments all appear to be different shapes and sizes, some had big balconies, and others, like ours, were quite small. Our studio (room 21) was quite roomy and had a decent size bathroom. There was a proper shower cubicle with sliding doors and the shower itself was the most powerful I had ever used! The room was cleaned daily with a towel change every 3 days. We paid for the air-conditioning but at 40 euros for the week it was a bit steep to say the least. Others did without it and slept with the balcony door open. There are a large number of wild cats living in the grounds and a black dog has also taken up residence. This dog, who we named Tilly, has a lovely nature and is very friendly and playful. We wanted to bring her home with us! Please look after her if you come to stay! The rooms are basic and the kitchen equipment was virtually non-existent. The pool is small but was kept clean except at the weekend when the pool cleaner was off. The biggest draw of this place is the peace and quiet and we loved it. Platanias is a short bus ride away and this has a very busy strip if are craving some retail or clubbing therapy. Maleme beach is not very nice- all pebbles and stones, but the views and the sunsets are amazing. The Olympic rep was very knowledgable and arranged car hire for us through Sixt. These were by no means the cheapest but we were assured they were the best. However, the car we got was a complete shed! Any drive across Crete involves mountains and hairpin bends and the shed just couldn't cope. There was always a long queue of cars behind us driven by frustrated and angry locals and tourists. We managed to crawl across to Elafonisi Beach which was just as stunning as we remembered it. We complained to the rep about the car and she assured us she would get back to us but never did.
We would happily recommend the Ledra and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 21 faces west with some amazing sunsets. Room 24 is a large 1 bedroom apartment with a big balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tommy the Turtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gtr Manchester
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed her 3 yrs ago & returned for a week's peace & quiet. We flew on Small Planet with no delays but chaotic check in at Chania on return.Lots of building work at the airport but it's outside the terminals so only means a little bit further to the coach park. Wasn't impressed with Olympic transfer rep but resort rep, Sharon, was very knowledgeable & friendly.

Tula & Andonis at Ledra will remember me as 'half a kilo of aspro' which amused them every time I asked for it. Room spacious & equipment was fine for me as my idea of cooking is making tea or coffee! I don't go on holiday to cook. Room kept clean by Stella who brought me some flowers from the garden as she said I was so tidy! Beds very comfortable - best I've slept on for a long time. Bathroom has an enclosed shower cubicle, a treat for Crete/Greece. Food cooked by Mama was delicious with large portions - so much for the diet! The Cretan evening was very enjoyable with guests from many nations all enjoying themselves together & again huge portions of food. Music & dancers were very good & everyone got up & danced too.

The resort is very quiet as so many places have gone all inclusive to suit requirements of guests from Eastern Europe but this has a dramatic impact on local small businesses, many of which have closed. To those guests I would say please have a least one meal out. Local tavernas have good food & good prices & you're helping to keep the local economy afloat.

Had good meals at the Black Lantern & Malame Taverna - see separate reviews.

Room Tip: Room 45 is on the 1st floor behind reception. Good balcony got the sun in the morning& was plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oldieathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleme
0.6 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Futura Hotel
Futura Hotel
#5 of 15 in Maleme
188 reviews
7.2 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
#19 of 109 in Chania Town
369 reviews
4.6 mi away
Folia Apartments
Folia Apartments
#1 of 31 in Agia Marina
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maleme Mare Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledra Maleme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledra Maleme

Property: Ledra Maleme
Address: Maleme, Crete 73014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Maleme
#4 Romantic Hotel in Maleme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ledra Maleme 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LEDRA MALEME HOTEL is located 15km outside the town center of Hania, 30km from the airport, 20km from Souda port and only 150 meters away from the beach. Not too far from the hotel you can fish, water ski, scuba dive, wind-surf, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ledra Maleme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledra Maleme Hotel Maleme
Ledra Maleme Chania
Ledra Maleme Hotel Chania
Ledra Maleme Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing