We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Ledra!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ledra Maleme

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ledra Maleme
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Maleme
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing Ledra!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2009

I've just returned from my first trip in Crete and thought I would share my experience of this beautiful island with you, we stayed at the Ledra,Maleme which was recommended by Laura at Future Travel and what a hidden gem this is!!!

The rooms are basic, but comfortable and immaculatlly cleaned daily, they have a small kitchenette which would benefit from having a grill, but with a little imagination you can make something basic from the fresh, delightful local food. The bathrooms are clean and there is always plenty of hot water 24/7. We had a lovely balcony and would spend many lazy evenings playing cards and sipping down the local raki before going to the restuarant atached to the apartments.

The restuarant is absolutetly superb, the food made of fresh local ingredients is simple, but of a very high standard. We did try a few restuarants on the sea front, but to be honest the food at the Ledra is of a much higher standard cooked by Anastassia.
Nico runs the complex in a very relaxed manner, always smiling, always ready to chat and will keep the bar open until the last guest departs for a long lazy sleep...

We would highly recommend hiring a car from the local rep and the prices are a lot cheaper than the local rental firms. We spent 3 days exploring this delightful island discovering the most amazing secluded beaches I've ever seen. I would highly recommend visiting elafinisi beach which is a lovely 2 hour drive away, also recommended is prevalli beach and Kournas lake which is the only fresh water lake on Crete.

As you always leave the best for last, I have to mention and recommend highly a delightful place caled Paleochora (or Paleohora) on the south west side of the island, This has the most sandy beaches, hidden bars, rocky coves...and some delightful restuarants on the harbour front, In the evening we dined at the calypso and were treated to a delicious meal of prawns, indian dal, lamb kleftiko all washed down with delicious local wine and raki.

All in all if you want a relaxing, romantic holiday, this place is definately for you, It has all the ingredients you need to chill out and is not as expensive as you would imagine, I would recommend booking through either Future Travel or Libra Travel as I have found them to be highly professional.

Hope this helps and please feel free to contact me if you want to ask any questions.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeithLindaBowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    65
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
50
100
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2009

The Ledra Maleme in Crete is a well managed establishment with friendly staff and a great restaurant provideing a good choice of dishes at good prices. The cost of a meal for two including 1/2 Lt wine would be in the region of 25 euros. They provide ice cream and Raki free of charge at the end of the meal.

The rooms are clean and are serviced most days.

There is a pool but in high season this may prove to be too small for the numbers staying at the hotel. Some brochures state two pools but the second is no more than a paddling pool for toddlers.

A number of travel companies state that the nearby beach is sandy, This is NOT the case. The beach is made up of large stones and shingle but when you are in the sea the sea bed is sandy. Water Shoes are strongly reccomended.

The town of Maleme is not in Chania as described on Teletext Holidays but is some 30 to 45 minutes away by bus. The way the hotel is described it would seem that you are in Chania and all the facilities are close by, not the case.

There are a number of hotels on the sea front that allow non guests to use their pools. Mikes is a good example and provides a better pool facility with a large number of sun beds and pleanty of shade. The pool bar prices are also reasonable and the staff are freindly.

Getting out and about there is a good bus service to other resorts along the coast that do have sandy beaches and there is a fun train that takes you in to the heart of the area visiting the near by gorge and local villages and at 15 euros per adult and 7 for children it it a good way of seeing the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigTee_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorleston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2009

These apartments are worth a visit. They are clean and even have an electric kettle,toaster and lots of hot water at the end of the day.The owners are so friendly and helpful.Food is excellent and a wonderful atmosphere in the taverna. As a vegetarian I had so many different dishes!!! The pool area is very well kept and plenty of sun beds.
A really superb place to chill out!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SueGorleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

I noticed nobody has reviewed these apartments for sometime so here goes.
Rooms - plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. TV, don't need a remote control - most programmes mostly in Greek but there were a couple of English speaking films with Greek subtitles.
Toaster,Kettle & phone in room. Decor - white - very clean. piping hot water all the time.
Room cleaned often and bins emptied every day.
Pool was clean
Restaurant - Food good and quite a lot to choose from.
Staff - very helpful
Apartments 300 metres from main road - no traffic noise
Beach - large stones not pebbles sandy beach only 5 minute bus ride away
Chania 30 minutes on bus
Buses every half hour until 11pm from top of lane
Supermarkets nearby

If visiting this area would definitely stay at this place again

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PipMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2007

Had a wonderfull time, the apartments are basic, but kept very clean by the hard working Poppy, our room was cleaned 3 times during a 7 day stay. The bar staff a very friendly and helpfull and bend over backwards to correct any problems you may have.

The only issue was the steps especialy if you are placed in the top rooms, so if you have walking or breathing difficulties then this is not the place for you. The local municipal beach is a short walk (10" approx) from the apartments with 2 reasonable tavernas nearby along with a small supermarket. The town of Agios Nikolaos is a 30" walk along a busy road or the bar staff will order you a taxi. The cost of a taxi into town is 6 Euros

  • Liked — Friendly atmospher
  • Disliked — The steps
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sapper4265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2006

The weather apart..our family had in the main a good holiday, 2 dayds sunshine and 5 days torrential rain (which i must say is not the norm)sti ll didnt dampen what is a beautiful part of the world.
the appartments are everything that has been written about them, clean, spacious,and adequate for what we wanted, although we were taken by surprise that on a self catering holiday you had to hire kettle, tv controls and the aircon which is advertised but not the fact that you have to hire it!!
the place is out of the way but not so much that you are stranded, and the staff and locals are very friendly.
my complaints would be around the fact that the pool was closed for 4 out of the 7 days we were there as it was not clean there is not a lot to entertain children and the fact that the one source that did entertain was closed for 4 days was not good.
there should be more notice given about the fact that the resort is not very good if you have trouble with stairs, i consider myself fairly fit and i had trouble with them especially getting the luggage up to the rooms.
i dont know about the mozzie's but i came bacdk bitten to death by something, and this is the first time ever in 25 years of travelling abroad that that has happened!!!!
all in all though the appartments are ideal as a base to explore what is a beautiful place and for the price we paid i would recommend a visit..............but in a better time of the year when there is defo no chance of RAIN!!!!

  • Liked — Location to some amazing places
  • Disliked — what ever it was that was biting me (i dont think they were mozzies!)
  • Tips/Secrets — dont expect the ritz, but do expect comfortable and ideal base for exploring
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larsson402003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2006

I could not recommend more strongly a stay at the Ledra Maleme appartments. This was our third visit there, and it just gets better and better. They are a small, family run establishment, Nikos and his wife Anastasia, her parents Maria and George, and Pavlos. The staff are friendly, welcoming and good fun. The rooms are basic, but kept clean and in excellent condition. There is a pool, bar, and restaurant, something for everyone. Definately not for party-goers and revellers, this is a quiet place, but is lots to do, be it chilling by the pool or sight-seeing in the beautiful surrounding areas. Maleme is smallish, but has everything you need, plentiful tavernas and 2 large supermarkets. Once you've been I can guarantee you will want to go back!!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sherleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleme
0.0 mi away
Futura Hotel
Futura Hotel
#7 of 15 in Maleme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mythos Beach
Hotel Mythos Beach
#6 of 15 in Maleme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maleme Mare Beachside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sunny Suites Apartments
Sunny Suites Apartments
#8 of 15 in Maleme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
7.3 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ledra Maleme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ledra Maleme

Property: Ledra Maleme
Address: Maleme, Crete 73014, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Maleme
#4 Romantic Hotel in Maleme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ledra Maleme 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LEDRA MALEME HOTEL is located 15km outside the town center of Hania, 30km from the airport, 20km from Souda port and only 150 meters away from the beach. Not too far from the hotel you can fish, water ski, scuba dive, wind-surf, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ledra Maleme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ledra Maleme Hotel Maleme
Ledra Maleme Chania
Ledra Maleme Hotel Chania
Ledra Maleme Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing