We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mike Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Maleme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I stayed in the hotel part for eleven nights in July. First things first. This is a family run complex, and you will feel like an old family friend almost straight away. All the people working there are the warmest, friendliest people you will ever meet. It was a privilege to make their acquaintance and I am a better person for having met them all.
Our room was if fact a family room. One room having two single beds, the other having a double bed. The bed was very firm but I think the most comfortable bed I have slept in. The bathroom was adequate. The room was cleaned every day bar Sunday. Everywhere is kept nice and clean. The evening meals in the hotel restaurant are excellent. The Granny does the cooking and you will not get better food anywhere in Crete. Very reasonably priced too! Some of the food is grown on their own plot. When you finish your meal you always get complimentary cake and shots. Then you go to pay you get more but different complimentary shots along with friendly chats. Always a lovely meal.
The Apartments, pool and pool bar are a very brief stroll from the hotel. You walk past their vegetable plot. The pool is very nice and the pool area good, with plenty of sun loungers and plenty of space. The pool bar staff members are so nice and so efficient. The pool bar food is good also. Every time you order anything you get more complementary shots as well. They jokingly say “time for your vitamins” when they bring them over. If you don’t like Ouzo when you arrive, you will be fond of it before you leave. Beer cost €2.80 a pint but a spirit and mixer is quite expensive at €4.50. There is no entertainment or shows provided but always a great atmosphere and fantastic interaction between staff and guests. It opens until 2.00am. We heard so many people say they had booked for next year already. The other guests were mostly British and all were friendly and polite without being intrusive.
The beach is across a quiet road. It is a very quiet pebble beach, never anyone sitting close to you. It is a good idea to bring or buy swimming shoes. Not good for small children as it shelves a bit.
Maleme (pronounced Mal-a-may) itself has very little in it, a few tavernas and only a few shops. There is not even a cash machine. The nearest ATM is in Platanias, a much larger resort with nightclubs etc just a short bus ride down the road. There is a bus stop outside the hotel and the bus service is very good with reasonable fares. Don’t be apprehensive about getting the local buses to explore. They are air conditioned coaches with very helpful and friendly mostly English speaking conductors. The younger people staying in the complex would often spend the early part of the night at the pool bar and then head into Plantanias but just as often stay around for the entire evening.
If you want all-inclusive board, a big sandy beach with shallow water, a busy resort and/or a hectic night life until 6.00am with hordes of lager louts stay away. If you want to veg-out around a lovely pool, had a few dips in the sea and meet lovely people then this complex is a good choice.
Karl Couse.

Room Tip: Use the local buses to explore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KarlCouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

169 - 175 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

I read a lot of reviews on this place prior to going there. It has a reputation being a good quiet family run business. All I can say is..... it totally deserves its good reputation.
It is on sold as a 2.5 star hotel in the brochures, but it really deserves a 3 star. We have stayed in many 2.5 star places in Greece and this is the best one.
We stayed in the apartments near the pool and the rooms were fine, basic but more than adequate. The beds were a bit hard, but that is par for the course in Greece. One outstanding feature is that you get unlimited use of the air conditioning for no extra cost. In most places you can end up spending another 100 euros for a fortnight. We also felt we didn't need to use the safety deposit box in the room, another saving, but that was our choice.

The pool was good and never got busy. We had no problems getting sun beds, even when we didn't get there till about mid day. No Germans to put down towels at the crack of dawn. The service at the beach bar was fantastic, as was the food there (mainly snack stuff).

Their main evening meals are served in the main hotel and once again, it was great quality. We however broke it up a bit buy using one of the few restaurants just along the beach for a beach side meal.

One downside though, and this could be important to families with young children and the reason we give it only 4 stars instead of the full 5. The beach itself outside mikes apartments is very stony and the depth of water increases fairly quickly, so it is not a very family friendly beach.

All in all a great place to stay if you, like us, prefer a quiet relaxing holiday, this is as good as any.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 206 which was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pricelessbunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This is our second stay at this hotel and if you want to experience Cretan hospitality at its finest this is the place to come.The whole family and staff were most welcoming and attentive to our needs.Our room, which was very traditional was kept spotlessly clean as were all the other areas of the hotel. The restaurant which had an outside balcony area, as well as inside, had wonderful views of the surrounding area, the sea and the sunsets.The food we had there was superb, the specials which were served each evening were cooked to perfection.
Maleme where the hotel is situated is a very quiet resort. There is a promenade by the sea which is used by walkers and joggers during the day. There are plenty of seats on which you can sit and watch the world go by.There are a few other restaurants in this area too. Maleme is just a short bus ride from Chania, the old capital of Crete and a beautiful town to visit.Mike's Hotel is in a prime position for visiting lots of places in this area.
We found our stay at Mike's Hotel a most enjoyable and relaxing experience and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are at the back of the hotel. The rooms at the front look towards the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

As soon as I arrived at this wonderful little hotel I chilled out and relaxed. Sophia, manos and mum and dad ensured that we had a fab time. We did go out a few times for dinner but I have to say mums cooking and the service beat all the restaurants hands down. Every night there was a different special which encouraged us to try the full range of Greek dishes. What made it special was knowing most of the veg in the food is grown by dad. On average We ate with a bottle of wine for around 35 euros and after your meal Sophia will bring honeyed raki omg it's amazing. I had to bring some home. Maleme is very quiet but there is good access to buses which go to balos and elefinisi beach as well as chania. We hired a car and really got around the island . Our rep was a sweetheart too and very helpful. There are a number of returning visitors year on year which just shows how lovely this place is....

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We have just returned from 2 weeks, staying in a studio apartment. We were in 207 and our best friends in 202. It looks like ours may have had a refurb but they were both superb. Both on the first floor, with a balcony overlooking g the sea. Really spacious and well appointed. Ours had a short bath with a shower, the other just a shower. We didn't use the bath, you don't, do you! But it was really handy as there was no danger of the shower overflowing and, as I ran, it made washing my running kit really easy! We had a wall mounted hair dryer in the bathroom. The kitchen had everything we needed and everything looked to be brand new, cable ties still on the leads, etc. the room was cleaned every day except Sunday to a really high standard and towels and sheets changed regularly.

We ate in the hotels restaurant twice and had some of the best food of the holiday. Sofia, the owners daughter, is delightful and looked after us really well. She even tried to give me a lesson in making Dolmades but I don't think we were very successful! Her view was, leave it to her mother! They were the best in the area!
Manos, Sofia's brother, runs the apartments and the bar area. I don't think I saw him stop working, the entire time we were there! He is delightful, friendly, hard working and welcoming. Nothing is too much trouble for him or the girls in the bar, Maria and Katerina were wonderful. Sadly, I didn't get the name of the little one, who worked in the evenings? Just fantastic, all of them.
When they offer you vitamins, just go with it and enjoy. They are medical staff, after all and you always do what the doctor tells you!
This is a gentle, family run, fun, establishment, with quality rooms, quality staff and a real feeling that they want your holiday to be special. It was and we will return. We met people who go back year on year and I can see why. We met some lovely people and hope to see them there again.

Now, one little thing and this is in no way aimed at Manos and his staff!
To the family who arrived, 2 days before we left! They will know who they are and if hey don't, everyone else who was there, will!
Up to your arrival, not one single person felt it necessary to dive off the bridge, shout at the top of their lungs or take bottles of Mythos into the pool! Please, do not get me wrong, I love children, I was one once and children having fun is what holidays should be made of. What you were though, was loud, rude and totally thoughtless to anyone else's views. I say this, in the slim hope you will read it, reflect and maybe change how you behave in future, or, go to Magaluf!

Manos, thank you and to all your staff. Hope to see you next year!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view. Ground floor balconies quite low down but still lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CornwallBeechwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just recently come back from Crete and Mikes hotel ,
Where I was made to feel like one of the family, Sophia could not be more welcoming and helpful and so so friendly !
The cooking was done to perfection .
The resort is one of the smaller and quieter ones but this added to relaxing and enjoyable holiday, with such a lot of history that was unknown to myself it opened my eyes .
The Cretan people are one of the friendliest people i have ever meant always a smile.
All in all I highly recommend mikes hotel and Crete.
Also yes chelsey I did beat my wife to the first review,
Thank you for all you did too ( Thompson rep )

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We cannot really add anymore than all the previous reviews, can only agree with all of the positive comments! This is a truly worthy hotel to visit and we will definitely be back. We stayed in the hotel which may be a little dated but cannot fault the cleanliness and friendliness, it was only a very short stroll to the pool, apartments and beach. We looked in an apartment which was very nice and a higher standard, more modern than the hotel and we would prefer to be located there, closer to the pool and beach but the hotel was absolutely fine. We often ate at the hotel, "Mamas" cooking was superb as was the very friendly and helpful Sophia. Manos and Maria also gave superb, friendly service in the bar (how they remembered what everyone had ordered is still a mystery to me!) . Great air con in the rooms and apartments. If you want lively, all singing, all dancing holiday then this is not the place for you but if you want a relaxing, friendly, chillout holiday with a few tavernas and great pool bar then you cannot go wrong with Mikes hotel and apartments! We look forward to our return visit, thank you Manos, Sophia and staff for your wonderful Greek hospitality!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurie43_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleme
0.2 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ledra Maleme
Ledra Maleme
#2 of 15 in Maleme
253 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mythos Beach
Hotel Mythos Beach
#6 of 15 in Maleme
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Futura Hotel
Futura Hotel
#7 of 15 in Maleme
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunny Suites Apartments
Sunny Suites Apartments
#8 of 15 in Maleme
71 reviews
11.3 mi away
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
Aphrodite Beach Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kissamos
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike Hotel & Apartments

Address: Maleme, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Maleme
#1 Romantic Hotel in Maleme
Price Range: £35 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mike Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mike’s Studios & Apartments are situated on the beach in the village of Maleme, 17 kilometres west of Chania. The self-catering apartments are modern and spacious and are all surrounded by a beautiful tropical gardens. 100 metres away from the apartments is Mike's Hotel and Restaurant. Based on more traditional design, the hotel includes sea view or mountain view rooms. Enjoy Mediterranean specialties on the restaurant terrace gazing at the blue horizon of the Aegean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited so you can book your Mike Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mike Hotel And Apartments
Mike Hotel & Apartments Maleme, Crete
Mike Hotel máleme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing