We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great break for a family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunny Suites Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sunny Suites Apartments
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Maleme
Paphos
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great break for a family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

My family and I have not long returned from Sunny suites and had a wonderful time!. Manos the owner is very hospitable entertaining and generaly a nice guy!, Antonis behind the bar, makes great toasties and pulls a mean Alpha beer into frozen glasses!!
The accommodation was very basic and compact as you expect to find in Greece but exceptionally clean with a towel and linen change practically every other day. Kitchenette area very small and not ideal if you are plannng on cooking most of your meals in, but with a small selection of local restaurants within a 5 minute walking distance this isnt a negative. The restaurants however all seemed to offer exactly the same thing and there was no variation to the menus so after about 4-5 days we were quite bored with the food... That said there were regular, cheap, spotless buses running daily into the night to take you to local villages or into Chania itself. Any one travelling with Children will be exceptionally pleased to hear that although the childrens menus were limited too, there wasnt a restaurant that didnt have a kids play area, to keep them entertained, whilst you waited for your food.

The pool was large and spotless, however the edges in places were sharp. The close beach is all pebbles and sunbeds and umbrellas were available.
There is a very close supermarket which isnt too overpriced and you can find many international brands there.

There area is exceptionally quiet which is what we were looking for, but if you require a little more nightlife, then its better to look closer to Chania.

Overall a great holiday.

Emma Stelios Davina and Nikoletta

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EJJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    11
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wigan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Most people I spoke to during my week break at sunny suites were returners, having stayed multiple times previous. Laid back and unassuming these self catering apartments are exceptionally clean, beds are comfortable and facilities everything that you would need for a break in the sun. The pool is large and clean with plenty of sunbeds provided. Bar is well stocked, snacks are delicious and drinks and food reasonably priced. There is a supermarket 2 minutes away and regular bus services can take you into other resorts for a small fare. The beach is 5 minutes walk away and offers a selection of bars and restaurants. The apartments owner is welcomming and friendly and will even ring for a takeaway to be delivered if sitting at the pool bar in the evenings is your preference. All together a great experience. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Me and my boyfriend have spent a week here and are sadly set to leave tomorrow.

We've had a great, relaxing and peaceful week and couldn't have asked for a better hotel. The rooms are spotlessly clean and cleaned everyday, bed sheets an towel changed about every 2nd day. The pool is lovely and there's also a jacuzzi although it's far too hot to stay in it for more than a few minutes.

Manos the owner of the hotel is a great guy, really talkative and funny and always there to help if you need any information. He is also very generous and gave us a few complimentary drinks! Top guy.

The hotel is situated in a quiet location, not somewhere to come if your wanting a busy busy holiday crammed full of Brits full of booze. Saying that the hotel bar is open until 2 and there are some nice bars along the front, so having a few holiday drinks is definitely something to do.

There isn't much if a beach but there is a really reliable and cheap bus service running every half hour from right outside the hotel which will take u to near by beaches and more lively places ifyou want.

Overall great time and I hope we will be returning :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amielunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnborough
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

I have been using sunny suites for years as always the service ,cleanliness and helpfulness is impecable
over the years we have met and made many friends ad see them regulary on our return trips
Fantastic place to stay and is a great base for seeing the rest of the island
Manos will willingly help you to find the best places to visit
top place to stay Top bloke running it
Cheers Andy

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andyFarnborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2010

Sunny Suites was just what we needed. It is self-catering, has lovely staff, and a nice/clean pool. It is close to the beach (by crossing the street), has easy access to the bus (which runs on the top and bottom of every hour), and close to great eateries. The only downside I would say was the beach that is close it very rocky. Manos, the manager, is VERY nice and it attentive to anyones needs. His brothers work down at the other hotel and are such a laugh! I highly recommend staying here for a relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikkizenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

Read a lot of the reviews on here, and they seem to be more about the manager (Manos) rather than the place itself.

I'm off work today, and lordy me am I bored, so I'll do a three part review of the location, the hotel and the man himself.

Maleme is a quiet spot, so it is perfect f you want somewhere away from nightlife, etc. A few years ago it was supposed to be the next place along the coast to be developed, but it never quite happened. There are 2 or 3 larger package hotels and quite a few smaller guest houses. The actual village is pretty small and neither here nor there, really. What is strange is that there are a couple of very developed hotels there and even some beach front homes and apartments, which remain unsold 3 years after completion, and then between this are famers fields and vacant lots, some pretty cottages with people growing their own veg, etc. So it's a funny mix. My personal belief is that the beach is the main problem, it is stony and difficult to walk along, and at that particular bit of the coast, when the wind is up, the waves POUND the shore, really not kid friendly. A few stops up the road, (I forget the name of the resort, about 10/15 mins on the bus) the beach is a long sandy shallow shelf: Here it drops 4 ft in a couple of steps.

This may sound a bit negative, but it's not, it's just to give you an idea of what to expect. I found it a good location to take day trips out, close enough to the nearby resorts if you wanted to spend the day on a nice beach, and with some really nice and reasonably priced restaurants. There's a place called the Seahorse down on the waterfront that is really nice, and Mike's hotel (which is related to Sunny Suites) which has a great balcony and free watermelon and grapes from their field just behind the hotel. However, if it is a great beach you want, you'll have to look elsewhere.

The local supermarket i found incredibly expensive, over £1 for a packet of spaghetti, and my Mrs managed to spend 9 euros on a tub of ice cream. It was nice though, but, i mean, NINE euros. I know it's not Asda, and is servinga local population in the thousands, rather than tens of thousands, but it is something to consider.

The next town along had a bigger chain supermarket, and this was tons cheaper. I belive there is an Aldi in Hania, if you have a car. The positive side is that the local supermarket had very reasonably priced fruit and veg, including god's own tomatoes. I could have lived on these alone (and sometimes we did) with some local bread and olive oil

The hotel is very reasonably priced, and the rooms are well equipped, with air con and safety box included (I've heard of these charged extra in other hotels) and a nice small kitchen. There are three apartments on each side of the floor (so 6 per floor in all) and we had one of the centre ones . I think the centre ones have a slightly bigger kitchen, and the one son the edge have a sightly bigger balcony, so it's swings and roundabouts.
The 3rd floor sea view is the one I'd pick if you are booking in advance and get a choice...2nd floor sea view is mostly of trees and the pool (still a nice enough view) and 1st floor is straight on to the pool. We had a rear view of the mountains/hills and this was quite nice also. The first floor rear rooms have no view at all, so I wouldn't recommend them.

Nice kitchen, pots, pans, everything you need to cook brekky and lunch, bit more of stress to cook a full evening meal, although I managed things like spag bol and pan fried chicken with chips and salad.

The beds are twins, and I found them really pretty hard. So I wouldn't recommend this for a romantic break.....not very condusive to snuggling.

Bathroom was good with tons of hot water (solar heated, I think) although the bath was a bit small.

EVERYTHING was spotlessly clean and your room was done every day by a really nice maid, she was really friendly with our son, and left his scruffy toy dog in a different location each day (e.g. tucked up in bed or reading a book). This was one of the biggest plus points of the hotel, and we left her a good tip.

the best thing for me was the pool, which is really deep, warm, clean, and has a shallow area for the kids. My son learned to swim here and the next week was snorkelling off a boat moored 30 feet from the shore. If there are a couple of other kids stayi ng at the hotel, your babysitting is done, as they will play all day in the pool, while you read, relax and rack up the cocktail bill.

The nearby Imperial hotel is owned by the same family, so you are welcome there to use the pool right next to the beach and they have a gym and kids room too, which is a real bonus.

Manos the manager has been running the place for years, and from talking to guests (lots of people come back year after year) I think he used to be a lot more of an outgoing party animal than he is now.....they used to get big groups of tourists all from the same company, so he was more like a club rep than he is now (read early reviews of him bombing the pool and suchlike). He runs everything in the hotel, usually 12-15 hours per day, so we found he wasn't always in the best of moods....you get the feeling that by the end of a long season, he would really not rather have to run through the list of Maleme's things to do again, which is only natural.

That said, the day we arrived he greeted us with a big smile and welcomed me by name (he remembered all the bookings for that day) which was really nice, and he was great with the kids that were staying there, often dishing out a free ice lolly or coke. He makes absolutely fantastic cocktails too, although at 5 euros each, they played havoc with my budget, as we often needed two or three. The draft beer was very reasonably priced, and we developed a taste for this, served in frosty, frosty glasses.

and there you have it. We had a great holiday there, and the staff and the hotel were great, particularly the pool and the cocktails. The weather at the end of august/beginning of september was flawless, except for the last day, and we really enjoyed ourselves. Giving the pound a year or two to pick itself up, we'd definitely go again and stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bigstig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

We stumbled across the Sunny Suites as we had booked a last minute package & we were booked to stay at the Ledra Maleme (which is down the road). We swiftly checked out of the Ledra as it was FILTHY & we were happy to find a room free here .... We checked all the local hotels and this place was by far the nicest.
The place is run by Manos who has run the places for years & years. He is a real character & has a very dry sense of humour - he kept us amused anyway!!
The room has a large kitchen, dining area & the bedroom had two single beds pushed together (would have preferred a double though!). The room was cleaned daily by a lovely smiling greek lady. The beds & linen were made daily and changed every 2 days.
The bar is open till v late & over looks the pool which is mega clean. Incidentally the toilets downstairs by the bar are very clean!!!

Would highly recommend ... Maleme is a lovely area - try the local bakery for morning coffee!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTCReb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleme
0.0 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Futura Hotel
Futura Hotel
#7 of 15 in Maleme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ledra Maleme
Ledra Maleme
#4 of 15 in Maleme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mythos Beach
Hotel Mythos Beach
#6 of 15 in Maleme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maleme Mare Beachside Hotel
0.0 mi away
Koukouras Hotel & Lia Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Suites Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Suites Apartments

Property: Sunny Suites Apartments
Address: Manos Paraskakis, Maleme, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Maleme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny Suites Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Suites’ apartments are located in the historic village of Maleme, Chania, Crete.Perfect choice for families and couples that want to relax, have fun and explore the beautiful island of Crete. The long shingle beach is 200m away and is accessed via the main road which runs by the apartments. The village center just 200m away, where shops, bars and some of the best restaurants of the Chania prefecture. Ideal location for those wishing to discover Western Crete. To enjoy the beautiful nature, the long sandy beaches, the wild White Mountains with their spectacular gorges. 17 apartments on 3 floors, furnished in traditional style and suitable up to four guests. All of them have their own balcony or terrace. Hotel Facilities * Reception (18 hours) owner lives on site * Library for our guests * Pool bar * Pool * Jacuzzi * Children’s pool (Section of main pool) * Taxi service * Doctor (on call) * Dry Cleaning (on call) * Baby sitting (on call) * Car Rental ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Sunny Suites Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Hotel máleme
Sunny Hotel Apartments
Sunny Suites Apartments Maleme, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing