We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Independent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunny Suites Apartments
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Maleme
Reviewed 9 October 2004

I can't remember how many times we have now stayed at Sunny Suites but we were there again in September 2004 and everything is much the same as it always is. Manos is undoubtedly an institution and it is a great shame that British tour operators have decided to pull out the Chania area in 2005. Nevertheless, I'm sure Manos's decision to go independent will reap its rewards and be a great success. OK, so now its going to be a bit more tricky making the travel arrangements but at least it should work out a bit cheaper. Sunny Suites is an exceptional place at which to spend a holiday. Its not the only place that we go to each year but it is definitely the best. I strongly recommend you contact Manos at ----------- to find out about the 2005 arrangements. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank APR31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2004

I'd been looking foward to this holiday cause i'd been reading reviews on the hotel and Manos and it sounded really fun little did I know I was gonna pee myself with laughter because Manos kept chucking all the woman in the pool and having fights with the men in the pool on lilos and rubber rings! Come night time he had calmed down but got everyone drunk nearly everynight! He also handed out his logic puzzles (which if your drunk you don't really want to do one cause there really hard!)Come the next day you go downstairs with a hangover and lay on the sunbeds as far away as possible from Manos(whos normaly reading the newspaper at the bar or watching T.V)and thinking your safe, alonging comes Manos with a big grin on his face and next thing you know your in the pool!!! The only time your safe is when his having an afternoon nap or is round his Mums having dinner!! The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the beach and theres a shop about 5 minutes away that has food(not like our shops). There is also two restaurants down the beach that serve good food, and there is also Manos's little brothers hotel down there to (Maleme Imperial) who(if he knows you) if he sees you will wave and shout hello! I'm going back next year for 2 weeks again, I can't wait, I'm really looking forward to going back. This is the best holiday ever!

4  Thank samlizgiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Felixstowe, Suffolk
14
Reviewed 23 June 2004

I loved it! Manos was excellent, infact hes wot made the holiday! If he wasnt behind the bar, reading newspapers or watching TV, he would either be having an afternoon nap, round hes mum and dads having tea or throwing people in the pool, in the pool himself or chucking the water from the ice cubes over the women! For us kids we were safe...unless everybody had gone to their rooms or they were in proper clothes and we were in are swim suites! But manos was great, I loved his lil bro Mikalos, he was just as outgoing and hyper as me! I only met Manos's other bro Andres(i think thats how you spell it!) (who won Greece's Big Brother) twice, once when he came round to give Manos some food for this family and the second time watching the Greece game at Mikalos's bar. I only got back yesturday and i've been looking at flights with Excell airlines because Thomas Cook and Jmc are pulling out of Chaina and no other tour operater with take Manos place, so you have to book a flight out to Chaina and then book the a room through Manos. We went for 2 weeks this year and are going again (hopefully) next year for 2 weeks!

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Liverpool, UK
12
Reviewed 15 May 2004

Well what can i say......i am very sad not to be returning to Sunny Suites this year as the JMC/Thomas Cook representative. I have now settled in the UK with a start of my career choice.I would like to wish all the 'regulars' a great holiday and for those of you who have never been but who are going this year you are heading to the amazing Sunny suites where a smile creates friendships and a cheeky grin will mean your about to be thrown into the pool....Manos. I cannot sing Sunny Suites praises enough and i am proud to say that Manos is an amazing person who is a pool of information and will do what he can to meet and exceed you holiday expectations. Thank you Manos and i look forward to hearing from you in soon. To all going back or for the first time. ENJOYBEX XX

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2004

Have returned to this piece of heaven approx 12 times, quite often twice a year, sometimes three. Accomadation brill,cleanliness brill, (many thanks to Catalina). Maleme taverna on the beach brill, good food and great atmosphere with fantastic waiters. The best i have saved to the last, MANOS, THE HOST WITH THE MOST, nothing is too much trouble, he makes you so welcome, we now consider him a friend, and someone once said, when you make a friend of a Cretian, you have a friend for life, how true that is. The day Manos was made, was a blessing for many, many people. His family are also wonderful people, but ladies be careful, he likes to give you a soaking, and can also have the devil in him. Happy Holidays,

2  Thank shirlebutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
26
Reviewed 8 January 2004

this holiday was the best one ever, not only was Manos a GREAT host and barman. He was like one of us kids! He came in the pool, bombed us. i just wish we went for two weeks not just one. I am trying to beg my mum to take us again! anyway Manos is a great bloke and going there is well worth it. Leanne Scholes x

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Leyland,England
15
Reviewed 30 September 2003

Manos is the greatest host you could ever dream of, making every moment of your holiday at Sunny Suites funnier,whilst being helpful,caring,obliging and a mine of information.Katerina and her team take real care of the appartments - everything 'just so' and spotless.We have just come back from our 4th stay at Sunny Suites,nothing else matches the hospitality of Manos and his family,Mum & Dads hire cars are great,too!Best in Crete!

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleme
0.2 mi away
Ledra Maleme
Ledra Maleme
#3 of 15 in Maleme
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Katrin Beach Apartments
Katrin Beach Apartments
#9 of 15 in Maleme
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mythos Beach
Hotel Mythos Beach
#5 of 15 in Maleme
86 reviews
5.9 mi away
Pegasus Hotel
Pegasus Hotel
#5 of 22 in Stalos
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maleme Mare Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunny Suites Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunny Suites Apartments

Address: Manos Paraskakis, Maleme, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Maleme
Price Range: £30 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunny Suites Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunny Suites’ apartments are located in the historic village of Maleme, Chania, Crete.Perfect choice for families and couples that want to relax, have fun and explore the beautiful island of Crete. The long shingle beach is 200m away and is accessed via the main road which runs by the apartments. The village center just 200m away, where shops, bars and some of the best restaurants of the Chania prefecture. Ideal location for those wishing to discover Western Crete. To enjoy the beautiful nature, the long sandy beaches, the wild White Mountains with their spectacular gorges. 17 apartments on 3 floors, furnished in traditional style and suitable up to four guests. All of them have their own balcony or terrace. Hotel Facilities * Reception (18 hours) owner lives on site * Library for our guests * Pool bar * Pool * Jacuzzi * Children’s pool (Section of main pool) * Taxi service * Doctor (on call) * Dry Cleaning (on call) * Baby sitting (on call) * Car Rental ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunny Suites Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunny Hotel máleme
Sunny Hotel Apartments
Sunny Suites Apartments Maleme, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing