We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique - Highly recommended”
other travellers have booked this property
Arete
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arete
The view from the front balcony.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Arete
The view from the front balcony.
Courtyard
Arete
The view from the front balcony.
Arete
Bedroom
kitchen
dining area
Showerroom
shower room
Front balcony
Courtyard BBQ
Courtyard
Around Arete
Courtyard
Arete Organic freshly pressed extra virgin olive oil
Around Arete
bbq
rear balcony overlooking the garden and patio
Balcony at Rear
Courtyard
Around Arete
Arete
Courtyard
The view from the top of  the track to Arete
Around Arete
Sean and Helen
Arete's Extra Virgin Olive Oil
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Maleme, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Greek first
Hebrew first
Italian first
Any
English first
wayne711
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique - Highly recommended”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is our 3rd visit to Arete where we stayed for a 2 week holiday.
Helen and Sean are genuine great hosts who will go out of there way to help and advise with local knowledge to make your holiday memorable.
The apartments have large balconies to relax, wine and dine on with wonderful views over the countryside.
The Battle of Crete tour with Sean is very interesting and informative.
We recommend Arete for those who want a unique experience of Western Crete away from the crowds.
We will be returning

Jean, Wayne , Jo Sutton

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Genuine warmth of the hosts and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drouot23
Bremen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Second stay within three month - Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This was our second stay within three months - (after a far too short vacation during the summer). We had again a wonderful stay at Arete thanks to the hosts Helen & Sean: they do everything to make you feel at home, to fully enjoy your vacation, they provide you with everything from the best tips and advices for 'secret' beaches, authentic tavernas to fresh eggs and their own olive oil. They make you feel like staying with good old friends and we can just highly recommend this place!

ps.: On a general note: this time we rented a 4-wheel drive instead of a regular small car and it is definetely worth it! You will be able to discover more and very interesting places that you can not visit with a regular car, recommended and well described by Sean and Helen!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The service, advices and recommendations of the host couple!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pbolam
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great location, lovely hosts, exceeded all expectations”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Arete is well placed not a million miles from the main national road running along the north coast, making it ideal point from which to access the west of the island. The hosts were very welcoming, offering us food and wine on arrival. The property is set in its own orange and olive groves, on the edge of a quiet rural village. The hosts gave really good tips as to where to go and are full of advice, but have a great knack of not making you feel awkward. The flat (we had the double bed room) was spotless, comfortable, fresh bedding and towels, generally well equipped and opened out onto a balcony with great views. Nice things like free home-made olive oil and fresh free-range eggs from their hens were lovely touches. We stayed in September, and would like to go back maybe in spring time when everything sounds lush and green before the summer heat. All in all a great place to stay and we'll certainly be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnCardy
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A totally relaxing holiday...”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed 2 whole weeks at Arete: it was totally relaxing... waking up to the sound of baby chickens and ducks... eating a leisurely breakfast on the balcony... watching the moon rise over the olive groves. Helen and Sean did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable without being intrusive. They gave us lots of good advice on food shopping, restaurants, beaches and other local things to see. Sean gave us a fascinating tour of the Battle of Crete sites, and came with me on a great hike up Mt Gingolos. The apartment is spacious and very well-equipped. The balconies have great views but do get all the sun (and wind) which is going. However there's also a nice shady courtyard with comfy chairs that you can use. For the person who wants a quiet holiday close enough to the amenities yet not in the beach hotel sprawl, Arete is ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quietness of the area and and hospitality of the hosts
Liked least: Very little
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jakkisr
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Living the dream and sharing it with you :)”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

we can only reiterate exactly what everyone else says! We stayed for 6 nights and were very comfortable ... probably the most relaxing time we've had in years! Helen and Sean are perfect hosts, chatty when you want to chat, happy to disappear when you're not.

The property is beautiful. Helen and Sean live on the ground floor and the 2 apartments are above. We stayed in Pine (same as Jali but with twin beds pushed together). The studio/apartment was spacious with a good sized bedroom with air con and a fan, plenty of storage, a private balcony through french doors off the bedroom. Bathroom was very large and worked properly (rare in Crete!) and provided a nice divider to the kitchen/dining area which had a good table, cupboard with enough plates etc for 2, shelves, sink/drainer, 2 electric hobs and small oven and doors to the large rear terrace (shared with the room next door but screened with a permanent solid wood screen for privacy. 2 sunbeds, wooden table and chairs) overlooking the most magnificent view of citrus groves, olive groves and the kitchen garden! (which you are invited to help yourself to whatever is ready ... peppers, tomatoes, herbs ... lovely! not to mention the complimentary olive oil which is divine! Buy some to bring home!). Maleme, Gerani and Platanias are about 10 minutes by car if you want to lie on the beach or eat out in the evenings. there's a Lidl for supplies and local shops including one selling gorgeous local produce of all kinds. Plenty of parking, close to the west coast and many beautiful places to visit, a car is necessary to explore the beautiful lush area (though you can walk for miles right from the apartments!). There are buses to Chania if you park up at Maleme.

My husband went on the walking tour of the Battlefield of Crete and had a fab and interesting 3 hours (while I chilled and caught some rays on the terrace!).

Helen cooked us a really lovely Cretan meal (available at just 30 euros for 2 people for '3' courses (there was a lot more than 3 dishes that arrived! including her home preserves!) which was served in the beautiful sheltered courtyard - we VERY highly recommend you book this if it is offered!

I don't know what more to say - Helen and Sean are living the dream - they don't just have a house on Crete, they LIVE on Crete and share their home and hospitality with you (as the Cretans do). Relax. And enjoy :)

Oh, and we LOVED the chickens and ducks in the garden!
AND ... during turtle season, Helen and Sean are official volunteers that help the endangered loggerhead sea turtles that nest on nearby beaches and you can go along if they're on duty (at sunrise!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sannika
Bremen, Germany
2 reviews
“What a perfect stay at Arete!”
Reviewed 10 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We spent (unfortunately!) only four days at Arete during our first visit to Crete. The accomodation was fantastic, very clean and well-equipped, tastefully decorated and with a large balcony overlooking the wonderful landscape and olive groves.

Sean & Helen are the most warm-hearted, generous and helpful host couple! After traveling half the world, we have never come accross such a fantastic host – they absolutely love what they are doing and they make you feel like staying with good friends. They were always there for us, providing us not only with perfect insight recommendations for beautiful beaches and authentic tavernes, but also with fresh tomatoes, olive oil and eggs from their own garden.

We can only highly recommend this place and we are already planning our next trip to Arete – thank you again – vielen Dank an Helen & Sean!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host couple and landscape
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teamrocka...
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Home from home, a truly fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

My husband and I stayed at Arete during our first visit to Crete and we were looked after as if we were family. Helen and Shaun were fantastic hosts and made us so welcome, with a wonderful Greek meal cooked by Helen and Shaun was very happy to share his local knowledge of the area with accompanied tours if requested. We are definately planning to come back here and I would urge anyone thinking of visiting this area to try this fantastic accommodation, the rooms are immaculate with everything you need, all the facilities to cook if you want, private bathroom, and the best bit for me was the view from the balcony, perfect for sunbathing during the day and stargazing during the evening, can't wait to come back, thanks Helen and Shaun

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendliness of the hosts
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing