We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Arete
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arete
The view from the front balcony.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
Arete
The view from the front balcony.
Courtyard
Arete
The view from the front balcony.
Arete
Bedroom
kitchen
dining area
Showerroom
shower room
Front balcony
Courtyard BBQ
Courtyard
Around Arete
Courtyard
Arete Organic freshly pressed extra virgin olive oil
Around Arete
bbq
rear balcony overlooking the garden and patio
Balcony at Rear
Courtyard
Around Arete
Arete
Courtyard
The view from the top of  the track to Arete
Around Arete
Sean and Helen
Arete's Extra Virgin Olive Oil
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Maleme, Chania Prefecture, Crete

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Greek first
Hebrew first
Italian first
Any
English first
Christine...
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 7 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have stayed here a few years ago and liked it so much we had to go back. The owners are kind, helpful and fun to be around. The room is clean and has everything you may need. If you like to walk Sean & Helen can advise you on the best walks and the out of the way places. We were given fresh eggs and a taste of Helen superb cooking. They can recommend the best local tavernas. Nothing is too much trouble for these guys. We are happy to recommend this as a holiday rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of these people
Liked least: Nothing it was all good
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clemens B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely apartment and great hosts”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We have just stayed 7 nights at Arete with Sean & Helen and we really enjoyed the experience!

Helen and Sean were very friendly and helpful hosts. Always available if you were in need of anything or wanted to have some travel advice. If you have an interest in the Second World War, they offer an excellent battle tour taking you around the area near Arete where the Battle of Crete was won and lost.

The apartment was very clean, spacious, well furnished with two balconies and a great view. You get eggs from Helen and Sean's chickens and olive oil made from the olives on their land. Excellent value for money!

We would recommend Arete to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: lovely hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tdechill
Kingston, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The best rental in all of Crete”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We just got back from a week in Arete Crete Apartments. The other reviewers don't lie. This is a fantastic apartment. Spacious, clean, great location and the best hosts you could ask for. Sean & Helen are wonderful. They give you eggs from their chickens, veggies from their garden and the best advice on where to hike or eat. If you're lucky enough to get a reservation here, then you're quite lucky!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: That i had to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drouot23
Bremen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Unique place and genuine hospitality!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is a dream location with the warmest welcome from the wonderful hosts Helen & Sean. The setting is picture perfect overlooking the olive groves, calm and relaxing. If you read all reviews until here and if you are still not convinced: book it, you will not regret it! This was our third stay at Arete within a year which says it all (for a review on the accomodation itself please look at my previous feedback).

The location, away from the typical tourist tracks (and traps!) is ideal for discovering the West of Crete with plenty of wonderful beaches and hiking trails. Thanks to the recommendations of the hosts you will enjoy authentic slow food cuisine in little tavernas in the area, find the right snorkeling spot or have a little hiking adventure. At the little Kafenion in the village, you will surely be the only tourist, if you are lucky one of the farmers will invite you in the fall to show you the destililling of the famous Raki or if you are interested Sean & Helen will take you on a walk through the local area or to a Sea Turtle protection activity at the beach. If you are looking for this kind of holiday in a rural context – this is the perfect place for you.

Our stay has been again really enjoyable thanks to the hosts which are always very generous with details and tips that will help you to spend an unforgettable vacation and that you will not find in a guidebook. They are never intrusive but are always available - they just love, what they are doing! We'll certainly find our way back to Arete when we visit Crete again.


ps.: on a general note: rent a 4x4 instead of a regular small car - it is definetely worth it! You will be able to discover more and very interesting places that you can absolutely not visit with a regular car.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil S
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Best”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

After10 years of travelling to Crete we have finally found the best apartments to stay in, Helen and Sean are excellent hosts who make you feel welcome from the minute you arrive. The apartments are comfortable, clean, warm with everthing you need for your stay. The views from the apartment are beautiful, you can sit out in the evening star gaze. Sean will take you on a Battlefield walk if you are interested in the Battle for Crete. All being well we shall be returning in 2015.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for a wonderful review, it was lovely to meet you both and your lovely family and we do hope to see you all again soon. Helen & Sean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayne711
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique - Highly recommended”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 for a stay in August 2013

This is our 3rd visit to Arete where we stayed for a 2 week holiday.
Helen and Sean are genuine great hosts who will go out of there way to help and advise with local knowledge to make your holiday memorable.
The apartments have large balconies to relax, wine and dine on with wonderful views over the countryside.
The Battle of Crete tour with Sean is very interesting and informative.
We recommend Arete for those who want a unique experience of Western Crete away from the crowds.
We will be returning

Jean, Wayne , Jo Sutton

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Genuine warmth of the hosts and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drouot23
Bremen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Second stay within three month - Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This was our second stay within three months - (after a far too short vacation during the summer). We had again a wonderful stay at Arete thanks to the hosts Helen & Sean: they do everything to make you feel at home, to fully enjoy your vacation, they provide you with everything from the best tips and advices for 'secret' beaches, authentic tavernas to fresh eggs and their own olive oil. They make you feel like staying with good old friends and we can just highly recommend this place!

ps.: On a general note: this time we rented a 4-wheel drive instead of a regular small car and it is definetely worth it! You will be able to discover more and very interesting places that you can not visit with a regular car, recommended and well described by Sean and Helen!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The service, advices and recommendations of the host couple!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing