We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation and service”
Review of Hotel Bella Pais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bella Pais
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Maleme
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of June and found no fault with our 3 person apartment (in the newer block). It was roomy, well equipped (despite no kettle) and was kept spotlessly clean by the daily maid service. Clean towels almost daily.When we were there we were the only Brits booked in, most others from Poland, Russia and Norway.
Reception and bar manned by friendly, efficient staff, Giorgios and Evi paricularly. We were self catering while most other customers were all-inclusive. We tried the restaurant 3 times and had a superb Italian meal once and had the buffet twice. The buffet was 9 euros each including as much wine as you wanted. We found the choices very limited but each time we found something to suit (good value with free wine). It's a case of look and see what's there before opting for the buffet. Service was good when Evi was on duty, not so good when she wasn't.
Maleme is a small resort with few shops, a large supermarket on the main road and a smaller, but well stocked one, down towards the beach. There are about 7/8 tavernas and restaurants, we tended to use Perasma Taverna about 50 m away towards the main road and Maleme Taverna about 100 m away at the beach. Both family run and provide traditional Greek food, main courses 8 - 10 Euros, starters 4 - 5 Euros and 1/2 litre of house wine 3.5 - 5 Euros. Both give the normal complimentary Raki and melon or ice cream to finish.
The beach is very pebbly but a few bars/tavernas have sun beds which are free if you buy something to drink or eat but nobody bothers if you don't buy anything. The water was rough when we were there and most days the red flag was flying so we didn't get in the sea much at all.
Platanias, 20 mins by bus (1.60 Euros), has a good sandy beach but is busy. Gerani 10 mins by bus also has a pebbly beach and little else. Chania the old capital is about 30 mins by bus (2.30 Euros) and is well worth a visit, the Venetian Harbour and indoor market are must sees.
Try a trip on the Little Fun Train, we did Southern Comfort, most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Block to north have balconies with sea views and more privacy, rest have pool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

Went to the "Italian restaurant" forming part of hotel with my wife.Buffet meal advertised and we thought place looked clean and tidy and worth a punt. How wrong we were.should have noticed place almost empty.Sat outside and view of a field and adjoining apartment blocks. When mentioned the buffet to the waitress any interest in us evaporated. The food was awful.my wife had the onion soup which was watery and almost tasteless. I ate nothing as no other starter . Main courses looked like worst school food.i tried a pasta dish which had been under warmer too long and therefore dry and rubbery in texture. My wife tried a file pastry dish only taking a minute portion as it did not look very good. It had nothing to do with Italian cooking believe me ! We ate a few mouthfuls and complained to the passing manager. His retort was it was ok for a buffet ! Weird or what. Oh and the best bit is we had to service our own table with knives,forks,napkins etc . Needless to say the waitress was rude and when I paid wished us "Bon appetit" with a sneer ! Never mind it was at the end of the meal and then she looked shocked when I took my change and left no tip. Really I should not have paid at all

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

This is a great hotel for those who not party too much, very nice and relaxing location and shops, a big supermarket with atm about 5 man walk away... the beach is another story with only big rocks and blurry water, not so nice. You need to get in to Platanias to find a nice beach only 10min with bus.
Can recomend Gee Pas (right by the hotel) for car rental, take a trip to Elafonisi for a GREAT day on the beach...Must be seen and very easy too find!
And for last, the Service on this hotel is great...

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank klompgomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2008

This is fantatstic hotel in a great location, only 30 seconds from the sea and very close to nearby Platanias, Agia Marine and only 25 minutes from Chania.

The hotel is located in a small village with nice tavernas and nice places to eat. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and will help you with anything.

The food is very nice and the breakfast is very good and filling with a good selection.

I would recomend the newly built rooms as they have a nice view of the sea. all rooms however are well equiped and very clean. I have stayed at this hotel 4 times and I will be booking again in 2010.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lou4406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Very good hotel. we had two apartments next to each other, one for us and one for us and one for two children.

cleaning every day except Sunday (fair enough). Pool fine, bar well priced. Generally a well laid back service, not fussy but there when needed. The Cretan night was good despite my fears.

Location is very close to beach about 50 meters and to local shop selling most things needed at reasonable prices, further away, not more than 300 meters up from beach is supermarket with ATM.

beach so so and can get rough but free sunshades and loungers if you buy drink/food from restaurants.Our favorite restaurant was down the hill and left for about 400 m, but there are others on the front and all cater for children, play areas etc as well. did not use hotel restaurant but looked good and there are others in Malemen.

Try the road train, cheaper than a car for some outings.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kellydes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: bra rum, städning bra rent och snyggt, men värdelös mat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Christer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: vælg på nord siden. der er meget larm fra biler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank studie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleme
0.2 mi away
Ledra Maleme
Ledra Maleme
#3 of 15 in Maleme
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Adelais
Hotel Adelais
#1 of 3 in Tavronitis
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Maleme Mare Beachside Hotel
0.2 mi away
Futura Hotel
Futura Hotel
#8 of 15 in Maleme
204 reviews
2.8 mi away
Selini Suites
Selini Suites
#1 of 1 in Rapaniana
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella Pais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Pais

Address: Maleme, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Maleme
Price Range: £43 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bella Pais 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bella Pais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bella Pais Maleme, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing