We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option if you want explore the beaches”
Review of Hotel Bella Pais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bella Pais
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Maleme
Trondheim, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good option if you want explore the beaches”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The staff was very polite and available, however they don´t have internet in the apartments, only on the lobby. The swimming pool is very nice, take one entire day to enjoy it.

Observation. Try don´t stay in the annex, I was, the apartment was big but the bed was very hard and the bathroom didn´t have shower, only tube bathtube.

Room Tip: Ask for bedrooms near the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diogodss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    30
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
27
32
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Read a comment in the visitors book on reception on arrival, signed Mr 'Grim'. Can only say he must have stayed at another place as we found the staff pleasant + helpful, especially maid service. Was expecting a studio appt, (pictures on trip-advisor sold us the holiday) bright, roomy and modern decor in typical blue + yellow Cretan style, arrived to get 1 bed appt.(a bonus)! We went B&B, breakfast usual fare, with some local specialities . Pool area open, plenty of sunbeds and sun on almost all areas most of the day. Only a few of us Brits, the rest mostly Russian/eastern European, few Greeks & some French. Lot of people on all inclusive,(whatever floats your boat). Again as with previous stay in Crete, safe+comfortable ambiance, suitable for lone travellers. Tried most of the recommended list of 5 tavernas/hotels + few others. Spent more time at the Maleme Beach Taverna than others, fabulous selection of shaded seating on sandy area +pebbly beach-just 2mins walk from appt's.- 'BBQ fresh shrimps' are a must try-huge! 2nd most visited place Perasma across the road from appt, friendly, family run-met all 3 generations. They were open for food still at 1am after our 6hr delay flying out- the Bella Pais was closed. 3rd most visited, couldnt work out the name from greek but situated opposite corner to Malame Taverna, also very good typical greek family run, bursting at the seams with locals sunday afternoon. Substantial shoes needed to get across the pebbly beach to the sea. Plus point-no noisy boats drowning you in their wake. Tried the'Wave', bit too formal, but nice food. Malame is a very quiet place and spread out-so ultimately not many tavernas/bars.Prices matching English. Only 2 supermarkets, both within 5 mins. Hired a car to go to Samira Gorge, dont think the tours stated it was a 13km walk after 2 hrs cross country on partially completed road, rock falls and all! Visit the German Cemetery, interesting perspective.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheshire23_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My wife and our son who is 15 stayed ther for one week at the end of june 2013. The hotel Bella Pais is bellow average. The pool was nice and the restaurant ok, but the 3 rooms apartments and its beds was terrible.
Maleme is a quiet nice place, but the beach has no sand, just rocks. Nice restaurants down at the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gizmo3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drammen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We was there September 2011. Bella pais was clean and they had good service. There was a small pool with a poolbar. But we didn't spend that much time at the hotel. Since there isn't much that is happenning in Maleme we rented a car and drove all around. The beach at Maleme was stony and alot of waves, so it wasn't as much as a place you could relax and swim at the beach. If we're going again, we're going to check out more about the beaches. If you're going to rent a car, hotel Bella Pais and Maleme is a nice place to stay at, because it's easy to drive to and the parking is no problem.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beritkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 weeks at the end of June and found no fault with our 3 person apartment (in the newer block). It was roomy, well equipped (despite no kettle) and was kept spotlessly clean by the daily maid service. Clean towels almost daily.When we were there we were the only Brits booked in, most others from Poland, Russia and Norway.
Reception and bar manned by friendly, efficient staff, Giorgios and Evi paricularly. We were self catering while most other customers were all-inclusive. We tried the restaurant 3 times and had a superb Italian meal once and had the buffet twice. The buffet was 9 euros each including as much wine as you wanted. We found the choices very limited but each time we found something to suit (good value with free wine). It's a case of look and see what's there before opting for the buffet. Service was good when Evi was on duty, not so good when she wasn't.
Maleme is a small resort with few shops, a large supermarket on the main road and a smaller, but well stocked one, down towards the beach. There are about 7/8 tavernas and restaurants, we tended to use Perasma Taverna about 50 m away towards the main road and Maleme Taverna about 100 m away at the beach. Both family run and provide traditional Greek food, main courses 8 - 10 Euros, starters 4 - 5 Euros and 1/2 litre of house wine 3.5 - 5 Euros. Both give the normal complimentary Raki and melon or ice cream to finish.
The beach is very pebbly but a few bars/tavernas have sun beds which are free if you buy something to drink or eat but nobody bothers if you don't buy anything. The water was rough when we were there and most days the red flag was flying so we didn't get in the sea much at all.
Platanias, 20 mins by bus (1.60 Euros), has a good sandy beach but is busy. Gerani 10 mins by bus also has a pebbly beach and little else. Chania the old capital is about 30 mins by bus (2.30 Euros) and is well worth a visit, the Venetian Harbour and indoor market are must sees.
Try a trip on the Little Fun Train, we did Southern Comfort, most enjoyable.

Room Tip: Block to north have balconies with sea views and more privacy, rest have pool views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Went to the "Italian restaurant" forming part of hotel with my wife.Buffet meal advertised and we thought place looked clean and tidy and worth a punt. How wrong we were.should have noticed place almost empty.Sat outside and view of a field and adjoining apartment blocks. When mentioned the buffet to the waitress any interest in us evaporated. The food was awful.my wife had the onion soup which was watery and almost tasteless. I ate nothing as no other starter . Main courses looked like worst school food.i tried a pasta dish which had been under warmer too long and therefore dry and rubbery in texture. My wife tried a file pastry dish only taking a minute portion as it did not look very good. It had nothing to do with Italian cooking believe me ! We ate a few mouthfuls and complained to the passing manager. His retort was it was ok for a buffet ! Weird or what. Oh and the best bit is we had to service our own table with knives,forks,napkins etc . Needless to say the waitress was rude and when I paid wished us "Bon appetit" with a sneer ! Never mind it was at the end of the meal and then she looked shocked when I took my change and left no tip. Really I should not have paid at all

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimtown
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

This is a great hotel for those who not party too much, very nice and relaxing location and shops, a big supermarket with atm about 5 man walk away... the beach is another story with only big rocks and blurry water, not so nice. You need to get in to Platanias to find a nice beach only 10min with bus.
Can recomend Gee Pas (right by the hotel) for car rental, take a trip to Elafonisi for a GREAT day on the beach...Must be seen and very easy too find!
And for last, the Service on this hotel is great...

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank klompgomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maleme
0.2 mi away
Ledra Maleme
Ledra Maleme
#3 of 15 in Maleme
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hotel Adelais
Hotel Adelais
#1 of 3 in Tavronitis
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Selini Suites
Selini Suites
#1 of 1 in Rapaniana
238 reviews
39.9 mi away
Creta Residence
Creta Residence
#18 of 21 in Platanias
109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maleme Mare Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella Pais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Pais

Property: Hotel Bella Pais
Address: Maleme, Crete 731 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Maleme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Maleme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bella Pais 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LoveHolidays, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bella Pais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bella Pais Maleme, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing