We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wedding to remember!”
Review of Avli

Avli
Ranked #33 of 371 Restaurants in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$42
Cuisines: Greek, Cafe, Fusion, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Following a most romantic Greek wedding ceremony within the Fortress, we decamped to this restaurant, where the food and attention to detail was excellent.

Thank sydneyparade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVLIRethymnon, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avli, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear sydneypar...
a wedding reception is a very unique and special time in our valuable guest's life. We feel very honnored they trust our venue and we always take care for such an event personally. Therefore we are extremely happy to read that we manage it so succesfuly. Please accept my heartful best thanks for your review.

Katerina Xekalou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,355)
There are newer reviews for Avli
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 414 of 1,355 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is a truly great restaurant. beautiful setting, good service, great menu and wine list.
The waitress listened to what type of food we wanted and then made perfect suggestion for all courses and wine. All staff took great pride in their work and were knowledgeable about what was being offered. Do not miss this place if you are in Rethymnon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina X, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avli, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Rod H,
thank you so much for your kind comments.
The truth is that we feel like a family and Avli is our home. All of us are very proud when we earn our guests' recognition and appreciation of our services. Therefore we pay our upmost, every single day, to have happy and satisfied visitors.
We wish to see you again sometime in the future

My best regards
Katerina Xekalou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

With a beautiful courtyard and eclectic touches, this is a feast for the eyes and your pallette. If you begin to tire of the plentiful yet monotonous greek cuisine in the touristic restaurants, try this take on local and national dishes that are more inspired. The salads were well balanced, and the fish were well prepared. The pork was overcooked, but otherwise well marinaded. The Greek wines are too pricey, but the staff know how to pair, so enjoy yourself.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Circumlocutious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina X, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avli, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear guest,
we are very pleased to read that you really enjoyed food, wine and the atmosphere of Avli.
We want you to know how much each one of your recognition comments means to us. Avli is totally oriented in offering top noch personal services in food and beverage business and it's our main goal to achieve it.

We look forward to visit us again in the future

Truly yours

Katerina Xekalou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Avli is discreetly tucked away in a narrow lane - so no passing traffic - indoor as well as pretty outdoor courtyard setting. Service is unobtrusive, the menu not vast, but authentic with generous meat portions. Desserts were absolutley delicious.

Didn't seem to be open for lunch on Tuesday, but we went again Thursday evening, and very glad we did!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina X, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avli, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Alison K.
we fully appreciate your nice comments about our establishment, food and service.

During summer season, we are open daily (including Thusdays) for lunch and dinner (12:00 noon till 12:00 midnight) and we would like to thank you for visiting us on Thursday evening.
Having so many smiling and satisfied guest every day, give us great pleasure and represents extraordinary effort by our entire personel.

We plan happily to continue to provide you the service and quality food you have come to expect. Thank you for your part in our successful "world of mouth".

Sincererely
Katerina Xekalou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

An absolutely beautiful courtyard attached to a restaurant and wine bar in the streets of the old town of Rethymnon. Totally different to what most would expect from a Greek restaurant - this is fine dining Cretan style.

An imaginative menu, beautifully prepared, and served in a relaxed and friendly manner by enthusiastic young staff. Excellent value for such fine food.

We will definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PaulausTirol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katerina X, Ιδιοκτήτης at Avli, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear guest

we are so happy to read your nice words.
We really appreciate the time spent for writting a review on Avli and we would like to thank you for doing so. We are really glad when among our satisfied guest we treat daily some take the time to express their experience in puplic.
Hope to see you again in our restaurant

Truly

Katerina Xekalou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avli also viewed

Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
Rethymnon, Rethymnon Prefecture
 

Been to Avli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing