We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in spili”
Review of Heracles Pension

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Heracles Pension
Ranked #34 of 46 Rethymnon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Just what we needed for relaxation, Cretan hospitality and privacy. There are no words to describe the uniqueness of this hotel compared to the rest in the area. Just to name a few: Heracles and Christina, the owner and his assistant. Warm, caring and leaving u to enjoy your stay in peace without being strictly professional. To my eyes this is an advantage when you choose to personalize your holidays, to get a grip of what the authentic Cretan hospitality is. The hotel is pet friendly, we stayed for 10 days with our two Yorkies. Based here you can visit the best area of south Crete: best beaches: triopetra, Souda, ligres, plakias, schinaria, preveli, just to mention a few. Excellent for short or long stay.

Room Tip: For wifi access, ground rooms-when available are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JazzyBworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2013

We started our GreekIsland holiday here, owing to the excellent reviews.
Spilli is a small town of friendly people. We stayed 3 days. The restaurant choice is poor, Yanni's being the best, which we visited on night 2 and returned on night 3. The house wine really is the house wine.
Heracles is a welcoming host and makes you feel at home. He is generous with his time and his walking maps are excellent. Breakfast is unusual in that apart from the local excellent honey, 4 good organic jams/ marmalade are served.
Location was good and you feel the White Mountains around you.
Room descriptions by other reviewers are, we believe, a little overstated. Our room was adequate with the necessary basics. It was more spartan than luxurious. The place was kept spotless. At an effective €60 a night for bed and breakfast for 2, it is not cheap, considering it's location in a rural mountain village. Service, breakfast and welcome cannot be faulted.
Overall a good place to start a holiday.

Room Tip: We expect they are all the same. We were not asked to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciarrai_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Clean, quiet, and friendly stay in Spili. Our room was immaculate, secure, airy with balcony, well maintained, and with screens.

We were welcomed by Heracles and his kind assistant (she gave us tour of the garden). Both conveyed hospitality. Heracles provided a map that he put together himself for a several mile hike in the hills up from town. It was pleasant on the trails... walking on the roads somewhat less so.

Spili town was nice. We walked up to and into the church on the west end of town, then to the lion fountain at center of town, and later had a good dinner and wine at Yianni's.

Tempted to stay longer, we departed after one night to move on to the beaches south and west ... as we were driving westward (having started from Heraklion) across Crete.

If there had been detailed some more challenging/longer hikes on trails to peaks, I would have been likely to stay longer.

We had a good stay. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rob e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We arrived on Easter Sunday afternoon without having booked. The door was open and on the table was a note from Heracles saying which rooms were free and asking any prospective visitors to help themselves as he was out and would be back later. What a wonderful show of trust and friendliness, it was just the start of a really happy six days with our kind and helpful host and his assistant Christina. Nothing was too much trouble, and the maps marked out with the best orchid areas invaluable. Breakfasts were a delight with honey, four different sorts of home made preserves, the best eggs I've had for ages from Heracles' own hens and lots of chatter with our fellow guests about the previous day's flower finds. (Heracles has excellent English language books on the flowers and birds of Crete in his shop next door) Our room was spotless and very comfortable with a pleasant balcony. All in all we couldn't have wished for anything better and it was with great reluctance we forced ourselves to move on.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We visited Spili for 3 days in February, and found it just wonderful. It was in the very beginning of the flowering season. Heracles can give you advice on where to find the different flowers. And he gives you great advice on several hikes. For us staying in winther-time, the heating in the rooms was essential. As a matter of fact, the one day we woke up with 20 cm of new snow. It was beautiful with the sun against snow covered palms ald flowering lemon trees. The room were very clean. Beakfast was excellent with local youghurt and honey. The wi-fi is free. In the room you find a cable to connect directly if the wireless is out of range. For dinner we visited the lovely taverna of Maria Costas on the other side of the main road. When entering her premises you do absolutely not feel like a tourist, but more like a member of the family. Our entire trip in Crete lasted 4 weeks, and Spili was one few places we want to return to.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Periscope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

I think my tastes run more rustic than the other reviewers, in that I did not at all like Spilli as a town. The first thing is saw as i got out of my car was a cat whose tail looked like it had been freshly cut off. Then after checking in with the LOVELY Heracles, I went for a walk and for the only time in two weeks in Crete felt vibed out by some locals. I then saw a group of teenage boys bundling into a car who looked like they were up to no good. All highly subjective , i realize.

The other thing is i found it too touristy for my taste, even after the tour buses leave there are still all the shops selling meaningless trinkets and stuff. For the hiking, i preferred to get further up in to the mountains, but i imagine had i stayed longer, and were it spring time, Mr. H. could be a good resource.

Finally, the rooms are close to the main road, so you hear the vehicles. If you are looking for total mountain quiet, this is not the place.

Having said all that, the rooms were lovely spic and span and Mr. H was very nice, though he twice accidently forget to give me the Rough Guide discount, so if you want it remind him when you are paying. As i said in a prev post, the first CAFE on the right, entering town, that also sells baklava and biscuits, makes the most bang up Cappucino and Espresso and Greek coffee in Crete. Guy has a fancy german machina he knows how to use. And the bank manager of the bank on the east side of the road grew up in the states so he speaks English if you need that.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kanadukathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2010

The rooms are clean and spacious, equipped with a fridge (and TV if you want one!)
Heracles is a lovely host. The village was lovely for an evening, with a few bars and tavernas, with a friendly laid back atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rln72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rethymnon hotels
10.3 mi away
Hotel Axos
Hotel Axos
#2 of 21 in Platanias
428 reviews
10.5 mi away
Cosmos Hotel
Cosmos Hotel
#83 of 175 in Rethymnon
56 reviews
10.3 mi away
Cretan Sun
Cretan Sun
#15 of 21 in Platanias
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Rethymno House
Rethymno House
#14 of 46 in Rethymnon
39 reviews
9.9 mi away
Venetian Guest's House
Venetian Guest's House
#31 of 46 in Rethymnon
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Amaril
Hotel Amaril
#120 of 175 in Rethymnon
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heracles Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heracles Pension

Address: Spili, Rethymnon, Crete 74053, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Rethymnon
Price Range: £34 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Heracles Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heracles Pension Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing