We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Rethymnon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in some of the nicest hotels in the world. Never have I stayed anywhere with better people or nicer service. Spotless room and just wonderful hosts. The breakfast is also just outstanding. This hotel alone makes a trip to Rethymnon worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kinneyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa Moazzo in late June 2013. We caught the ferry to Heraklion from Paros Island. Apparently, few or no ferries travel to Rethymno now. We hired a car from Autoway (recommended by hotel), and a representative met us at the ferry, which was helpful. The drive took about 1.5 hours at night between Heraklion and Rethymno. We parked at a local car park recommended by Anna, who owns the hotel. It was a short 5 min walk from there to the hotel, which is walking only, no cars. Anna greeted us on arrival with a warm smile, a glass of water and pastries. Anna is a wonderful host, who is passionate about Crete and their history. She explained about breakfast and suggested some ideas for our next day. We booked the Pegasus Suite as it was our honeymoon, it was sensational. So spacious and well thought out. It is an open plan bedroom and living, with separate small 'kitchenette' with coffee machine, separate large bathroom with spa, and large rooftop terrace with view of the local church bell tower. We stayed in several 5 star boutique hotels in Greece this trip but this was our favourite. The bed and pillows are so comfortable. Anna kindly left us some local wine for our arrival with fruit. Breakfast is in the small courtyard and is an array of local items, with option for specific hot orders (eggs etc). Delicious. Anna came and sat with us after breakfast and recommended some places for a day of travel, which we enjoyed (Lake Kourna was stunning). We found a cool vintage/antique store in the lane way right of the hotel (facing out of entry doors). Casa Moazzo is a project of love by Anna and her husband, restored and created over several years, you can feel the warmth as soon as you arrive. This is the ideal location, in the Old Venetian town of Crete. I recommend at the least a week for Crete, unfortunately we only had three nights. Don't be shocked if you arrive in Heraklion, it's a dense bustling city, but the people, produce and countryside are wonderful. Anna, thanks for making our honeymoon so special, we will always remember your kind service.

Room Tip: Pegasus Suite, top floor, extremely spacious and large rooftop terrace. Amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YandJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

What a wonderful experience and a fabulous place. Wonderful staff who have a passion for what they do and really want you to enjoy your stay, which we certainly did. The room was fantastic and the building has been beautifully restored. Location was great, 5 minutes walk from the beach and shops on the next street. You can walk everywhere in town from here and it's lovely to get back to the room and to be able to relax in style. It really was a fabulous place to stay and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tom and Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

There's good reason why Casa Moazza is rated #1 in Rethymno and Crete: it's an amazing hotel, with the warmest hosts (Anna and Alexander) we've met anywhere in our wide-ranging travels.

Our family traveled to Greece for 2+ weeks in June 2013, and we stayed 4 days on Crete, including one night in Rethymno. It's a pity we didn't spend all 4 nights at Casa Moazza because it was by far the best hotel experience we had on our trip to Greece. Though we arrived after 10 p.m., Anna waited up for us, met us at the car-park (no cars are permitted in the old town, so you park just outside the ancient gate, about 5 minutes walk from the hotel), and helped us with our bags. Anna and her husband, Alexander, warmly received us (my wife, me and our two young daughters) in the beautiful hotel lobby, and took the luggage to our room. The suite we stayed in, located on the top floor, is amazing: very large, beautifully appointed, with high ceilings, great views and a private outdoor terrace. Anna provided an excellent restaurant recommendation for dinner, and lots of helpful information and suggestions for sightseeing in and around Rethymno.

Outstanding and memorable in all respects. Bravo!

Room Tip: Pegasus Suite on the top floor is beautiful and good value. Very large, with great views and outdoo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trojan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We both loved our stay at this wonderful hotel. Anna & her husband could not be more helpful in welcoming us to their lovely hotel. nothing was too much trouble for them, advising us on the best of restaurants, trips, shopping & best of all managed to find a sports bar for a husband who was desperate to watch the British Lions play Australia! Everybody should stay at Casa Moazzo.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladybank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

From the minute we arrived Anna and her husband went out of their way to make us feel at home, from helping us with our luggage from the nearby carpark (you cannot enter the old city in a car, you must park outside and walk in, about a 5 minute walk), to sitting down with us and discussing where we could go and what we could do during our 2 day stay, to giving us the best recommendation for a restaurant... A topic for another trip advisor post. She is passionate about her heritage and Gives a beautiful commentary about Rethymnon and Crete and it's history. The room is magnificent, the breakfast delicious, complete with home made pastries. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nick X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

I stumbled upon this hotel after a traumatic night at another residence. Anna took me in and my stresses began to dissolve. My room was large and spotless, with an amazing bed, sitting area with tea making facility, and a large bathroom with jacuzzi tub. It seems they thought of everything that would make a hotel stay special. The courtyard was a wonderful place to relax, and the lady who works during the day was always attentive and gracious. Hotels don't get much better than this!

Room Tip: note that some suites have stairs to the bedroom, so if you have knee issues, you might want to ment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rethymnon
0.2 mi away
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
Rimondi Boutique Hotel
#1 of 175 in Rethymnon
644 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avli Lounge Apartments
Avli Lounge Apartments
#2 of 175 in Rethymnon
566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pepi Studios
Pepi Studios
#6 of 175 in Rethymnon
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Casa Vitae Hotel
Casa Vitae Hotel
#4 of 175 in Rethymnon
611 reviews
4.2 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
51.7 mi away
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
Pilot's Villas Luxury Suites
#1 of 13 in Koutouloufari
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments

Address: 57 Tobazi St, Metropolitan Church Square, Rethymnon, Crete 74100, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Rethymnon Prefecture > Rethymnon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rethymnon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rethymnon
Price Range: £70 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A renovated Venetian manor house in the heart of the old town. Six luxurious suites that include all modern facilities i.e. hydromassage, plasma TV, choice of pillows, etc., and, above all, our personal attention to our guests, will make your stay an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Moazzo Suites & Apartments Crete/Rethymnon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing